We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Venue!”
Two Spacious Lounges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two Spacious Lounges
Situated in the heart of a Peak District Village Main Bar Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Two Spacious Lounges
Situated in the heart of a Peak District Village
Main Bar Area
Main Bar Area
Main Bar Area
Dining Room with dining space for 41 Guests
Two Spacious Lounges
Fabulous Games Room
Fabulous Games Room
Brand New Fully Equipped Kitchen
Brand New Fully Equipped Kitchen with Service Area
Dining Room
Entrance Hall
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bedrooms
Bathrooms
Bathrooms
Situated in the heart of a Peak District Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
16 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Bamford, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vicky m
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Venue!”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I booked this amazing venue for my husbands 40th birthday with all our friends and family. We had a very memorable weekend and everything from the location to the quality of the property was just amazing. We couldn't fault the venue, it has been finished to a very high standard. We were a large group consisting of 9 children and 21 adults, the flexible bedroom configuration was just perfect, this meant that each family were able to stay together in the same room. There were loads of bathrooms and en-suites which meant no fighting or arguements in the mornings.

The bar area was a great focal point, we even had some cask ale delivered from a local brewery this was a big hit with the party. The pool and football tables were a also big hit with both the adults and the kids.

The kitchen was increadibly well equiped there was no shortage of anything even lots of plastic plates and cups for the kids. The two dishwashers served our large group well over the weekend. The very large dining table meant that all meal times were a big social event.

The location of the Derwent was perfect for days out, we went to Chatsworth House on the Saturday the kids loved the adventure playground and the farm. On Sunday we explored one of the local caves in Castleton again a big hit with the kids.

The owner Chris was also extremely helpful and welcoming. Would definitely recommend this venue to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bar area and pool table
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourer27
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for all”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We came as a group of more than 40, extended family of 4 generations. Had a brilliant time, definitely recommend booking three nights for a long and relaxing weekend, no rushing off at 10am on the Sunday morning.

House was clean, brilliantly decked out with everything one needs for a great get together. Yes even wifi if you must. Can go to the local pub, lots of walks and mini trips to do. Most importantly the bar and communal areas are well appointed, spotlessly clean and big! Bedrooms great, lots of hot water. Parking good.

Don't hesitate, a really good place which is brilliantly managed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balance of the space
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dingle198...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Venue”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I start!??????

From start to finish my weekend at the Derwent was exceptional.

Arriving on the Friday to be met by the owner who showed me around and explained all the 'technical' things like the alarm... He then left us to it and explained that he was only at the other end of phone and to ring or text him with any issues big or small. This was so reassuring.

When my friends and family started to arrive and saw the venue for the first time they were all taken back by how nicely finished the venue was. All of the bedrooms were to such a high standard and perfect for accommodating my guests comfortably.

The location was spot on and we spent Saturday exploring the surrounding countryside and had the pleasure of seeing some amazing views over the lady bower reservoir. After a day of walking coming back the Derwent was just ideal as The heating system was so good and kept such a big building nice and cosy.

I had a professional chef in to cook on the Saturday night who found the kitchen more than adequate for him and the mammoth task of cooking a 3 course menu for 30 people. My mum on the other hand trying to cook breakfast for everyone was a little stretch (bless her) everyone did chip in and eventually it worked perfectly, we all had such a laugh from coordinating breakfast to working the bar. I would definitely suggest a 'staff rota' it's so much fun and everyone gets to have a go behind the bar.

I can't put down in words how fantastic this venue is and how much fun was had over the weekend.

Would recommend every time and will definitely be back.

Thanks you to everyone and Peak Venues and Chris

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo w
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked this amazing venue for my 60th birthday celebrations with all my family and I have to say the place was absolutely fantastic. No one in the group could fault it in any area. We had a memorable weekend and everything, from the location to the quality of the property was superb. Many family members went for walks and visited the surrounding villages. Many others relaxed in the comfortable lounge areas and the pool table and table football is a great touch, with family competitions making the weekend even more fun. The bar area also lent itself to group gatherings and family catch ups. There was no shortage of crockery or cutlery and the kitchen served the large group well. The bedrooms exceeded our expectations and were clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated, with enough en suites and bathrooms for all. The owner Chris was also extremely helpful and welcoming. Would definitely recommend this venue to others. From our moment of arrival we felt relaxed and at home. Didn't want the weekend to be over. What a gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the complete package
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxyWM
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing place in an amazing location”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I booked The Derwent for a company weekend away. I chose it because of the flexibility of the bed configurations as it has proven difficult to find somewhere which will allow everyone their own bed.

The booking process was great and straight forward. The website is extremely informative and everything was exactly how it looked on the pictures.

The building was perfect for us. There was plenty of secure parking. It had been refurbished to a noticeably high quality but fortunately most of it was extremely solid so the slightly tipsy mishaps of my work colleagues failed to make a single mark. The layout meant that lazy afternoons were spent in the comfort of the lounges but then when it got serious we were all in the bar area which could easily take any spilled drinks or knocked chairs. Everyone loved the table football and the pool table. They were in constant use. The extra touches such as the bluetooth stereos dotted about, the wifi and the two televisions were a real bonus

The beds and bedding were incredibly comfortable and the showers were actually a little overwhelming. I felt like I'd been beaten up after my first. I was a bit less hungover the second morning.

The kitchen had everything we could need, including tons of fridge space and dishwashers everywhere you turned. We cooked in the kitchen one night and had a BBQ the next and it was all great.

The area is stunning and everyone dragged themselves out at least once to either cycle or walk. There is a pub a couple of doors up the hill and a convenience shop a very short drive down it.

If we didn't all look forward to going somewhere different each year then I know all 25 of us would be back in a shot. Really great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The finish - everyone treated it with the respect it deserved.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing. It was perfect.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing