We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house with some niggles”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Birdsgrove House

Birdsgrove House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birdsgrove House
Front drive and view from reception Side of Birdsgrove House, viewed from the paddock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Birdsgrove House
Front drive and view from reception
Side of Birdsgrove House, viewed from the paddock
Koi pond and view from Kingfisher
Wier and river view from our woods
Play area, climbing frame, slide and trampoline
Misty morning view from front door
Cosy snug with open fire and flat screen television
Elegant dining room to seat house capacity
Luxury Clive Christian kitchen with flatscree n tv and dining for 12
Corporate bookings very well accommodated
Well stocked play room
First floor landing
Kingfisher double bedroom with en-suite
Family bedroom - kingsize bed, bunks, daybed and still plenty of room to play !
Communal shower room
Communal bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
19 Bedrooms, 18 Bathrooms, Sleeps 43
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sarah J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house with some niggles”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

24 of us spent a week here over Christmas. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate and the house is huge - we had plenty of space downstairs for socialising without getting in each other's way. We felt safe letting 6 years olds explore the grounds by themselves and they had a brilliant time. There is a river at the very bottom of the garden and a trampoline with no net so smaller kids have to be watched all the time they're outside. The kitchen is huge with a nice big table to eat at but is not perfect if you're doing a lot of the cooking yourselves - some parts of the oven didn't work and there wasn't enough fridge space for a week's food and drink for all of us.

The ensuite bathrooms are all in need of refurbishment - we all ended up showering in the shared shower room as the water pressure and temperature in the ensuites was too temperamental, and there was nowhere to put anything in our bathroom - no flat surfaces apart from the floor and just tiny hooks for towels that left them dragging on the floor.

The social areas are comfortable rather than luxurious, which suited us as we had small kids in the group and weren't worried about kids trashing things. The carpets are all a bit worn but again that didn't bother us. The lights in the dining room are far too bright for a relaxed evening meal and gave the room a bit of an institutional feel. The chest of drawers in our room was quite battered and chipped and the drawers were so stiff and awkward we didn't bother to unpack into it. It would have been nice to have a table football table in the play room and a pool table in the reading room and it would have been nice if towels were included in the hire price. Having to bring our own towels because we hadn't ordered theirs in time made the stay feel more youth hostel than fancy hotel. Various signs about things you mustn't do added to the youth hostel feel.

I'm being picky but we paid a lot of money to stay there and the details make a difference. Overall, while the house is a great size, the owners are friendly and helpful and the grounds and location are lovely, I think that for the money we payed for a week the standard of everything inside the house wan't quite what we were expecting. If the whole place was refurbished it would be an amazing place to stay and I would recommend it without reservation but at the current price/quality ratio I wouldn't recommend it. Having said that, lots of members of our group were perfectly happy there, it was just the fussy ones who felt a bit let down by it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Hi Sarah
Thank you for your review. Feedback is so helpful and very welcome.
I am really sorry that you didn't have the best of times with us. I understand if you have expectations that aren’t met, it can be very disappointing.

We are a holiday let, rather than a luxury hotel and we have consciously furnished the house in a way suitable for its’ use by large groups, where there can be a tendency towards ‘trashing’ things, as you say. We think it is well presented, very comfortable and fit for purpose.

As you know, we make ourselves available for any issues that arise during a stay and if you had liaised with us, we would have been happy to help resolve many of the items you have mentioned.

We generally receive excellent feedback and work hard to provide a product we can be proud of and maintain a high standard of cleanliness and client care. We strongly feel we represent very good value for money and we felt very comfortable charging you £44 per head per night, over the peak Christmas period.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisebra...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birdsgrove House is a wonderful place for family and friends to get together for a special occasion”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Birdsgrove House is a beautiful property with stunning surroundings where we were lucky to have our wedding in December. Kerry was fantastic - helped with every detail and she and her husband made sure that our family and friends were well looked after throughout the stay. They were flexible and friendly - we couldnt have asked for more! Our stay at Birdsgrove was everything we hoped for and we cant recommend it highly enough. We will be back to stay at Hope Cottage which was also a wonderful place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for your very kind words Louise.

It was wonderful being able to help you celebrate your very special day.

We wish you many years of happiness and hope to see you again soon at the cottage where you will always be very welcome !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahTon...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Weekend Celebrating my husbands 40th!!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

24 friends stayed at Birdsgrove House for a weekend of celebrations for my husbands 40th birthday. I cannot recommend the place enough and was an absolutely perfect venue for such a large group of friends (who have not stopped raving from the moment we arrived to the moment we left!). My husband didn't want a party so instead we thought a weekend with all our closest friends (children left at home!!) where we could eat, drink, chat and relax was a better alternative. I'm so glad that I discovered Birdsgrove and that I organised this weekend as it lived up to everything we hoped it would be. The house itself looks really grand from the outside, the gardens are stunning and so well maintained, we had walks around the gardens and even got to sit outside in the sun on a gorgeous sunny October afternoon! On the Friday night we all walked down to the local pub where I had arranged a meal, this was perfect as it meant we didnt need to cater or clean up for ourselves! and Saturday we all got dressed up in the house and had a lovely dinner. Inside was gorgeous, the kitchen seemed to be everyone's favorite room as even though there was so much other space we all seemed to convene in there! Bedrooms and bathroom were nice too and we didnt get any complaints. Ian the owner gave us a really good tour when we arrived and explained everything too us, he was great and said he was pretty much on call 24/7 should we need anything. As it turned out we didnt need a thing all weekend and everything went so smoothly. A great place for friends or family get together, I really hope we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your very lovely review of Birdsgrove House, your time taken to do this is so appreciated. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your celebrations with us and we really hope to see you again in the future. Our very best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicLondon...
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dream Wedding”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spend a long weekend at the Birdsgrove House with friends and family to celebrate our wedding. The venue is stunning - all decoration and furnishing is beautiful and kept in the manor style of the house. This is a very old house and as a result comes with some quirks but its well maintained and very clean. The grounds are far reaching and absolutely wonderful for walks and for the kids to play, all the flowers were in bloom. The house was well equipped and we didn't miss anything. Fireplace, piano, music surround system in all communal rooms, and the giant media screen were a real bonus too.
The location is quiet but close to the beautiful town of Ashbourne, but you will need a car to get around the area.
Kerry was fantastic in helping us get every question answered and every detail planned out that we needed for this special weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoriad...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great House in a Great Place”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Birdsgrove House is an exceptional property in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. My wife and I used it as a venue for our wedding reception and without fail all our guests commented on what a perfect setting it was for such an event, it lent a sense of grandeur to the event without being ostentatious.

For such a big house Birdsgrove is incredibly cosy and comfortable, the house has great facilities for cooking, sleeping and entertaining, it really is a wonderful place. We rented both the main house and Hope Cottage, which gave us a great amount of flexibility with our stay. Hope Cottage is well appointed and beautifully decorated and just as comfortable as the main house. The grounds are spectacular, with beautiful scenery that is great for ambling around. There is also a trampoline that was used more by the adults than the children during our stay.

The owners' Ian and Kerry were brilliant l and just as accommodating as their wonderful property. They went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed and we could not thank them enough. All in all this is a superlative accommodation and well worth exploring, highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thanks so much Jon, we really loved being able to help Victoria and yourself celebrate your wonderful day. You were both a joy to work with !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 638
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing