We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic retreat in the Peak District”
other travellers have booked this property
In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Parking is available right outside your door. Situated in a quiet country lane, easily accessible whilst being quiet and peaceful.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
In a beautiful village location with parking at your door.
Parking is available right outside your door.
Situated in a quiet country lane, easily accessible whilst being quiet and peaceful.
Holly Cottage is waiting to welcome you, for a long holiday or short break.
Your lounge is cosy and comfortable, with leather sofa and gorgeous fire.
Relax on the snuggly leather sofa, in front of the fire
Our cosy lounge has underfloor heating, a fire and a TV and DVD player
That special occasion can be made even more special with a stay at Holly Cottage
Our cosy fire, for chilled out afternoons or a relaxing evenings after a busy day
Our kitchen, complete with dishwasher, full size cooker, washer/drier and fridge freezer
Our kitchen contains everything you may need, from snacks through to full blown gastronomic delights
Washer and tumble dryer are provided for your use - we've tried to think of everything
Underfloor heating makes all the difference on those chilly evenings!
The stylish first floor bedroom has an oak floor, exposed brickwork and original beams.
With captivating views from your bed, who could ask for anywhere better to wake up?
Superb countryside vista from the window in the pretty bedroom
Wake up refreshed and relaxed in our pretty bedroom.
Wake from a blissful sleep to magnificent views of the Derbyshire countryside
Fresh sheets mmmmmm!
Comfortable bed with egyptian cotton bedding
The light and airy bedroom has plenty of wardrobe and storage space.
Luxurious bathroom with high quality toiletry products and fluffy egyptian cotton towels
Light and airy bathroom
At the end of the day relax in our sumptuous double ended bath tub
Fancy a shower instead of a bath?
Top class fittings throughout
Your en-suite bathroom is a tranquil haven, with toiletries and all towels provided.
Surrounded by beautiful countryside.
Surrounded by stunning scenery and beautiful countryside
Our sentiments exactly!
We are pleased to welcome one small well behaved dog.
River Dove at Ellastone, great for paddling if you are brave enough!
River Dove at Ellastone Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nigel G
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic retreat in the Peak District”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I'm always a bit tentative when booking a rental property wondering if it will match the description and photos in the case of Holly Cottage my expectations were greatly exceeded. Michelle showed us around on arrival having obviously spent some time ensuring everything was in place including bread, milk etc. Everything we could have needed was provided and everything in the cottage was of the highest quality. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Holly Cottage, and very likely to return again ourselves. Well done Michelle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was as we wanted in a quiet location
Liked least: We only stayed for a long weekend
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
So glad that you loved Holly Cottage as much as we do. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable cottage located in a quiet position. Nicely fitted out inside and ideal for a short or longer break. Very relaixing and enjoyable. Excellent pub within walking distance, and plenty of areas to visit. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: No wi fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
So glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne342
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very relaxing break”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Holly Cottage was a lovely place for our much needed short break. It's spotlessly clean and the equipment very good. Michelle met us & was very welcoming

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainejp12...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cute & Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Me and my partner had a lovely, relaxing, romantic weekend in this cute and cosy cottage. The village is beautiful and we visited the surrounding areas by bus. The cottage is immaculate and has everything you need. The owner Michele, was very attentive and made us very welcome. I highly recommend you visit the local pub, which offers class food and service. I cannot wait to return to this beautiful cottage. Its a real gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that you love Holly Cottage as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you back. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dani B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, perfect, perfect!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most perfect weekend at Holly Cottage. The village of Ellastone is truly beautiful and it's residents are warm and welcoming!
The cottage was amazing, charasmatic and cosy and Michele was very accommodating. We didn't want to leave and felt well and truly relaxed and recharged after our break.
We will definitely be back and would highly recommend the cottage to anybody looking to getaway for a nice quiet weekend. :-) ideal couples retreat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come for longer next time and I can join you for Pimms at the Duncombe Arms.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$59
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing