We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous weekend away for 4 families”

Review of Hollybank House

Hollybank House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace The Barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace
The Barbecue
The Main Lounge
The Dining Room
The Blue Lounge
The Blue Lounge - another view
The Kitchen
The Hall and Main Stairs
Super Kingsize Bedroom - twin or double on request
En-suite Shower Room
The Main Family Bathroom
Twin Bedroom - one of three
The Family Bedroom
The Second Family Bathroom
New Parking Bays
The Garden
The Garden
The Garden
A View from the House
The terrace by night
Hollybank House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jschocola...
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend away for 4 families ”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Myself and 3 of my best friends booked to stay at Hollybank House for a weekend get together with our 4 young families over the last may bank holiday weekend. We liked the look of the house from the owners website and we were not disappointed when we arrived. We had a fabulous weekend and here's why:

The house & exterior:
There is parking for 3 small cars in front of the property. We had larger cars and needed to wrangle children in and out so we fitted 2 in these spaces, one blocking them in and another in front of the garage belonging to the house, so, ample parking.

The house itself is great, plenty of space even for 4 young families, with 2 downstairs sitting rooms plus the dining room. We managed to get 2 travel cots into the end twin on the 1st floor by moving a bedside table (with permission from owners and we replaced it before we left). The middle twin also had a travel cot in, no problem and we made use of the travel cot provided by the owners in the master bedroom on 1st floor and it was great - better than our own and our son who doesn't sleep well slept all through the night in there! (We wanted to smuggle it home for its sleep powers!) The top floor family room also had plenty of room for the other cot provided by the owners which was also used by our party. Bathrooms were all lovely and the owners had even spelled out some of the children's names in the foam letters on the bath which was really sweet.
The garden was fantastic, a little challenging for our toddlers as it is a big slope but it didn't phase any of them - our 18 month old spent the whole weekend outside in the garden, he loved it. The older kids had fun in the summerhouse and the dads also enjoyed a game of darts up there as there is a board and a few darts. There were lots of toys in the summerhouse and toys, books and games in the main house and the owners had left new things as well which were instantly opened and enjoyed.
The BBQ is a beast! We had s lovely barbecue from it one night, it's a serious piece of kit, and plenty of seating for outdoor eating too.

The location:
My friend and I ran a few miles down the tissington trail 2 mornings which was lovely - it's about a 10 minute walk from the house, if that. The market square is about a 3 minute walk as is the lovely park area with green space, bandstand abs lovely playground with water play area. Our visit coincided with the town's celebrations for the queen's 90th birthday and there were stalls and marquees set up here on the Sunday which was a lovely unexpected bonus. There are at least 3 supermarkets in walking distance in Ashbourne - Sainsburys, Waitrose and Co-op. We had a Tesco ship delivered and then used the local supermarkets to top up on anything else we needed.

The owners:
My correspondence with the owners leafing upto and following our stay has been do caring and thoughtful. We were left with a lovely hamper of food bits plus basics like milk, butter, tea, coffee, sugar, etc. We never ran out of loo rolls (and there were 10 people not including the toddlers, for 3 days!) or washing up liquid or dishwasher tabs. It was great not to worry about bringing those things.

Would we return:
DEFINITELY!! We had a wonderful time and would happily come back and highly recommend. Thank you for our wonderful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Hi Jess, thanks so much for your lovely review. We're so glad that you all had a fabulous time at Hollybank, and you got chance to relax as your toddler slept soundly in his comfy cot, though we suspect that all that fresh air in Ashbourne should take most of the credit. Great to hear how much you squeezed into one long weekend; with the water play, barbecue and morning runs on the Tissington Trail - amazing!
Best wishes, Jo and Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi H
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I only wish I lived closer so that I could visit again.”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

I am largely influenced by other travellers reviews when planning a holiday, as was the case when I chose Hollybank House. Past reviews were not wrong. Reviews that included comments like 'the owners have thought of everything' and 'very smooth booking process' are absolutely true.
When planning this trip to the UK, a country I had never been to before, the number of holiday rentals to choose from was overwhelming. I was not familiar with any of the towns and had to enter every address in to 'google maps'. There were many homes that 'presented' well on the internet; how could I choose? But as previously stated it was the raving reviews of Hollybank House that I could just not go past.
Not only was the house lovely, well kept and tidy, it had a homely feel and the finishing touches added by Diana and Jo made us feel even more at home.
As we were overseas visitors we had limited belongings so the addition of toys, books and DVD's were great. Ashbourne is also a lovely town and the proximity of the house was excellent. We enjoyed the easy walk into town each day.
My whole family is very grateful for such a wonderful holiday experience made all the better by Jo, Diana and their beautiful home. I have no hesitation in recommending to anyone whether it be a family, a group of friends; young or old. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My mother especially loved the provisions for tea in each bedroom.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your very informative response
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm, welcoming and well-equipped”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Hollybank House is a great location for a group stay, and our book group is about to book a third year on the run. Exceptionally well-equipped (all the bedrooms have TVs, bathrobes and tea and coffee making facilities, for example and there is not a single piece of kitchen equipment that hasn't been thought of), it's also in a great location within a short walk of Ashbourne's shops, cafes and restaurants. Nicely landscaped with outdoor seating and games room. Two sitting rooms and not a dud bedroom amongst them. The owners are very welcoming - a lovely hamper on arrival - and very friendly and easy to deal with. Difficult to fault.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We feel quite humble that you are revisiting Holly bank. It is lovely to know when people have had a great time.We enjoy the challenge of providing for all age groups and all the many interests that our guests have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith J
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great house in a great location!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful week at Hollybank House. The owners were very helpful when I was booking the stay and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped into the house. We were overwhelmed by the food hamper, wine and individually named colouring books and sweets for all 4 children.

The house was extremely well equipped and the bedding etc was beautifully clean. The extra touches such as the bathrobes in the bedrooms, the cupboards full of toys and games and the outdoor games all helped to make the stay a special one. The garden is beautiful and the upper terrace with the log chalet is superb. There was ample room for us (8 adults and 4 children) to have a BBQ and all the cutlery and crockery needed was stored in the cupboard in the chalet. Unfortunately the weather only allowed us to indulge in a BBQ on one evening.

The house is very well situated - less than 5 minutes walk into Ashbourne where there are numerous pubs and shops. I can recommend the George and Dragon for its excellent food and good atmosphere. Also less than 5 minutes walk from Hollybank House is the Memorial Park where our grandchildren enjoyed the water play area.

All in all a great house in a great location - an excellent choice especially if you have a large family/group to accommodate - I can certainly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We do feel that Hollybank being so near to lots of amenities and yet having a quiet and secluded garden is a real bonus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful house and incredible service”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife and I stayed at Hollybank house with our extended family in July 2015.

Firstly, our dealings with Ron and Jo were amazing from the start. Ron called us in Australia to provide further details and was always available by phone or email to answer any questions and help with our arrangements. We made our booking quite late and had the last minute addition of my sister's dog (when her house sitter fell through) but it was all made very easy and painless by Ron and Jo's amazingly helpful attitude.

On arrival, the welcome packs were a total surprise and very much appreciated by all. Hollybank house itself is beautiful and the presentation impeccable. The grounds as well were immaculate and we made good use of the barbeque and outdoor area between the showers!

With games to play on rainy days and grounds to enjoy on sunny ones, a two minute stroll to the centre of Ashbourne and short drive to the heart of the Peak District, Hollybank house was the perfect place for our family reunion.

The house was beautiful, dealing with Ron and Jo was a pleasure throughout and we cannot recommend Hollybank house enough - the whole experience was truly exceptional!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review.We are so pleased that having travelled so far you were not disappointed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing