We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent well equipped house with fantastic...”

Review of Hollybank House

Hollybank House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace The Barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Hollybank House
The log chalet & terrace
The Barbecue
The Main Lounge
The Dining Room
The Blue Lounge
The Blue Lounge - another view
The Kitchen
The Hall and Main Stairs
Super Kingsize Bedroom - twin or double on request
En-suite Shower Room
The Main Family Bathroom
Twin Bedroom - one of three
The Family Bedroom
The Second Family Bathroom
New Parking Bays
The Garden
The Garden
The Garden
A View from the House
The terrace by night
Hollybank House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ashbourne, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emily M
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent well equipped house with fantastic owners!”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Hollybank over new year, our large party consisting of 5 couples in their thirties plus 3 babies and a dog can be hard to please but we certainly weren't disappointed with Hollybank!

We stayed the week of new year and enjoyed utilising the very well equipped kitchen to host our Come Dine With Me style evenings. It was obvious that the house had been lived in as there was no shortage of extras such as hair dryers, games and hundreds of books. the festive hamper was a lovely touch and we were really touched with the pet cupboard and dog treats for Bailey too!

To top it all off the owner Ron very kindly hand delivered a shirt to my house that of our party had left at the property, a very kind gesture indeed.

The only minor suggests would be to renovate the cellar into a games room as the boys in the group could have done with a dart board or pool table which other properties sometimes feature.

Overall we had a great stay and would certainly recommend this property to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped the property was
Liked least: Lack of games room, only a very picky minor suggestion! :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2013
Thanks for the kind remarks. The Games Room suggestion neatly fits into our development plans, but not relegated to the cellar! The long planned outdoor leisure area is now well under way, with completion scheduled in time for the Summer season. There will be a large imported continental Log Chalet,which will also act as a games room. Yes, this will contain the dart board! There will also be a superb stainless steel gas barbecue. The well lit stone flagged terrace will have ample high quality cast aluminum furniture for all to dine in comfort. At Hollybank House we pride ourselves on never standing still, always seeking to provide more and better wherever we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and comfort.
Liked least: Everything was good
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday rental”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed in Hollybank House with two other families for a week in October. There were 11 of us in the group but there was plenty space for everyone. A fabulous house with all you could hope for and more, from the generous welcome hamper to all the small details that had not been overlooked.
We would have no hesitation in booking again and look forward to coming back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Hollybank House is a wonderful base for a stay in the Peak District. Comfortable and spacious, the owners clearly look after it very well and have put an enormous amount of time into making sure you have a pleasant stay. The accommodation was clean, comfortable, extremely well equipped and just a short walk away from the centre of Ashbourne. We can't wait to stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and comfort of property
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing