We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food”

The Duncombe Arms Pub
Ranked #14 of 98 Restaurants in Ashbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Duncombe Arms Pub is a delightful setting in which to enjoy a drink, some lovely food and a chat. You’ll have the ambience of a roaring log fire and enjoy choosing from a great range of beers, a varied and interesting selection of wines and all your favourite soft drinks. Our great food is freshly prepared and we offer traditional favourites with a few exciting specialties of our own – all at affordable prices.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We went here for a birthday meal whilst we were holidaying in the area; a lovely pub on the outskirts of the Peak District & definitely worth visiting if you’re in the area.
It was very busy & there wasn’t many spaces to park - which is a sign of a successful pub but tricky when you’re trying to find a space.
The food was amazing, service was good & quite reasonably priced.

1  Thank TheMartins1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear TheMartins1997,
Thanks for visiting The Duncombe. We really appreciate the positive post on TripAdvisor with it's 5 stars and are delighted you enjoyed the visit. We are in the process of building rooms in the field next to the car park which will avail customers of more parking albeit in November/December. We hope you will come and see us again when your next in the area.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

Picked off Trip Advisor to meet friends.
Easy to find, great ambience, excellent menu and service. Plenty of choice on the menu and the cod was excellent. Service impeccable for a country pub and would recommend a visit if you live within an hour or passing close by. Worth a detour.

1  Thank Jpog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Jpog123,
Thanks for recommending The Duncombe Arms to TripAdvisor readers and for giving us a 5 star review. We really appreciate your kind comments about the pub, food and service. Thanks a million and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Very warm welcome, attentive staff who were extremely courteous and clearly explained what was gluten free on the menu. (Most things could be adapted as all homemade).We visited for a birthday and they made this an extremely special occasion. We all thoroughly enjoyed!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank racheltt2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Rachel
Thanks for the 5 star review. I am pleased that the team looked after your gluten free options and you enjoyed the food and the service. We hope you will come and see us again soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

For our recent family get together we decided to try the Duncombe arms after reading Tom Parker Bowles review .
It lived up to all expectations .
Wonderful atmosphere , friendly , more than helpful staff .
The food excellent .
My fish cake was perfect . The younger member of our group had a ‘beyond best’burger .
The sweets , amazing . The Green Apple Soufflé ‘ was wonderful .
The one down side was , one of our group had a chocolate bomb type of dessert . We were all excited as it was a Golden ball when it arrived . It just so happens that the person who’s dessert it was had popped out to check on the dog , the waitress instead of waiting for him to return , which was only a very short time , poured the hot chocolate over it and it made a dramatic melt . This I believe is part of the drama and excitement of this dessert .when you are 12yrs old , the fun of something like that is part of it , disappointed ? Yes he was , we were too , as we would have loved to see his face when it happened . Perhaps the waitress should have left the jug of sauce for him to do it if she was in a hurry .Desserts ar £7-50 a throw should be special .
However , the pub is great , also the food and more than worth a visit . We shall return we loved it . Please go and enjoy , a place not to be missed .
Make sure though that they do not melt your chocolate bomb !

Thank LindaC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear LindaC50,

Many apologies about the pudding! I quite understand the disappointment and I'm sorry for your twelve year old who was so looking forward to it. Hopefully we can make it up to him/her on another occasion and if you contact me or James before your next visit we will arrange something. Thank you for all your lovely comments and I am really pleased your going to visit again. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Pass here most days always looks busy so on passing on friday lunch time and was not dissapointed. Food was excellent , staff were fantastic. Would highly recommend dining here and try the fish.you will not be dissapointed

1  Thank ButcherMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenall, Owner at The Duncombe Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear ButcherMike,
Thanks for calling in and for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you liked your lunch with us and have given us 5 stars! I am biased but the fish is wonderfullllll ! We hope you will come and see us again soon.
Best wishes
Johnny Greenall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duncombe Arms Pub also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Denstone, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Duncombe Arms Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing