We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Roan Wood Cottage

Roan Wood Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Roan Wood Cottage
Living room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Roan Wood Cottage
Living room
Kitchen
Dining area
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Roan Wood Cottage
View of the Scafells from the front gate
The lake and screes in autumn
'The Nation's Favourite View', a short walk from the cottage
Yewbarrow, Great Gable and Lingmell
Wastwater from Yewbarrow
The Wasdale Screes with Greendale in the foreground
Greendale with Buckbarrow behind
Greendale from Whin Rigg
Middle Fell, up the path behind the cottage, with views of the lake and Scafells
Greendale residents
The beach at nearby Seascale
Wasdale rainbow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wasdale Head, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
philbert6...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Location,amenities,cleanliness,ease of booking perfect, stayed for 50th birthday celebration , blessed with perfect weather ,surrounded by fantastic hikes ,dogs loved it as did we, we will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from lounge
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nesto69
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in a fantastic location.”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Roan Wood Cottage is very well equipped (however a washing machine would have been a bonus - especially as we were moving on elsewhere after our stay). We did know there wasn't a machine in the cottage, but thought we could do washing locally but this did not work out as we expected. The property is exceptionally clean and has everything you could wish for to make your stay more enjoyable. Plenty of books, local information, maps, DVDs, games etc. Inside the property is spacious and has wonderful views across to the Screes and sheep!
However because one gate is shared with several other properties, this means there is passing traffic most of the time. We had to keep several curtains closed permanently to avoid neighbours looking in and being overlooked, so we felt we did not have quite the privacy we wanted. Even the kitchen blind was see through and several times people were looking through into the cottage as they walked around the back. Also the walls are quite thin and on the last night a very noisy family moved in next door (thank goodness they weren't there all week).
Would we stay again? Yes but would probably look for another property initially that had more privacy and a washing machine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - Wasdale is an amazing place.
Liked least: Overlooked from other people and no washing machine.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Hi, thanks for your feedback, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the washing machine, there is a finite amount of space in the kitchen and we had to decide between a dishwasher or a washing machine. On balance, we think our guests would prefer a dishwasher, and many people would not have the need to do washing during their stay. We have previously directed guests to the camp site at Gosforth to use the laundry facilities there, but apparently the new owners have now restricted this to camp site guests only. Thanks for alerting us to this, we will now identify an alternative launderette. Regarding the comments about privacy, the cottage was part of a farm which was converted to holiday accommodation in the 1970s (the farmhouse and our attached cottage was completely rebuilt about 15 years ago, to the same design as previously). Consequently, some of the buildings are close together and there is a path alongside our cottage, which is used by our neighbours (who are permanent residents). Privacy is obviously a matter of personal taste, and in 6 years we have only had one other mention of this as a concern. We would be happy to speak to any guests who might be concerned about this, so that they can decide whether this would be an issue for them. But we are always pleased to receive feedback of any kind, so that we can make changes where possible to ensure our guests have a great stay. Many thanks, Hugh and Wendy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyd75
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Lakes Week”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely property in a great location. The cottage is actually much bigger than it looks in the images and the facilities are excellent, with a really well stocked kitchen with all the appliances we needed to make the evenings we stayed in perfect. The local pubs are excellent, and the access to some of the best of the Lake District scenery makes this a very special place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russjones...
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage with stunning views.”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed in Roan Wood cottage during October, the cottage is very well equipped and situated in a lovely location close to many easily accessible walks around the Wasdale mountains such as Scafell Pike and Yewbarrow, we would certainly return again, the neighbours were very friendly too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peetyweet...
York UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable house in an unspoilt beautiful area away from it all”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Roan Cottage is situated opposite The Screes of Wastwater. The house is very comfortable and clean with ample car parking just opposite. There are lots of books and maps of the area, and one does not need to drive for a very long way to be able walk up some of the highest mountains in the country. In fact there are several high walks from the front door. The scenery in the area is simply stunning. There are 3 pubs/hotels serving food within a 15 minute drive.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing