We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation for comfort; great location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Staveley, Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David C
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodation for comfort; great location for walking”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Booked The Wheelhouse for myself and 2 friends, all in our early 50s. All our individual and collective needs were ideally met with 3 separate bedrooms, 2 shower rooms and a kitchen with all mod cons in terms of appliances and utensils. Blessed with great weather we were able to make the most of the daytime with easily accessible walks either straight from the doorstep (a walk along the Dales Way to Bowness) or a few minutes in the car (the 22km Kentmere Horseshoe was a highlight). In the evening The Eagle and Child pub and Hawkshead Brewery (only a few minutes minutes walk from The Wheelhouse) provided good food and beer to help unwind and relax the mind and legs. We plan on coming back and trying out some cycling and will make use of the Wheelbase bike hire facilities in the Mill Yard. I'll also be back with my wife and 2 daughters as The Wheelhouse will also be a perfect base for a family-based activity weekend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are thrilled you enjoyed the Wheelhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouzolover...
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in wonderful location”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Lovely superbly equipped house in the village of Stavely with its excellent location for walking and cycling. Great pub and beer hall serving meals and snacks, and a shop and bakery within walking distance
We spent Christmas as an extended family at the wheelhouse and had a wonderful stay Everything is to a very high standard the bedrooms warm and cosy and the kitchen really well equipped The outside storage is a great addition
Recommended without reserve for a holiday in all seasons

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsetblu...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quirky and quality”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a great holiday base. Staveley is convenient for Kendal and Windermere, has a station for local (very local) trips, a great brewery, a brilliant coffee roastery, a bakers, a pub (only one now), cafes, chippy, pharmacy, post office and shop.
The cottage is original, innovative, ingenious and exceptionally well fitted out. Spotless, comfortable, wifi excellent, plenty of parking, loads of storage.
Everything seems to have been thought through to give you a great stay.
100% recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for the Wheelhouse at Staveley. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonnyG41
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding accommodation in a lovely rural village”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house surpassed my expectations!! This is the first time we have taken a house and unfortunately for any of our other family excursions, any other accommodation has a lot to live up to!!
A credit to Sarah and her family, the house is stocked with every item you could need. Extremely generous amount of towels, cooking utensils, kids dining cutlery and even a selection of herbs and tomato sauce! It the first place I have felt truly at home even walking around in my bare feet – the house was spotless. It really blew my mind how lovely it was and we couldn’t believe it when we pulled up as there was picnic bench outside to dine if the weather was good.
The location of the house is perfect – very quiet and within walking distance of the Pharmacy, chip shop and the pub at the end of the town (which also was excellent – food and staff wise).
We would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone to stay in. It’s located in a great little village and has the advantage of being a great base for the Lake District.
If you’re looking for a house to stay and enjoy the lake district then this is the one for you. You would be mad not to stay!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
We are simply thrilled you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Stephen & Dstsh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrence...
2 reviews
“Home comforts and superb location”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

All the comforts of home in the friendly village of Staveley. Lots of thought have gone into this property to make it really special for your vacation. The Wheelhouse is equidistant between Kendal and Windermere and is a great base for exploring the lake District.No where is to far away. We loved it so much we hope to return soon.If you get a chance visit the fledgling business call,'Cumbrian Cow Ice Cream at Ulverston for a superb range of ice cream.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing