We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Staveley, Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan B
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 7 nights from 27 December to 3 January 2016. Initially with family then friends later in the week, The cottage has everything with easy parking and within short stroll to the local pub Eagle and Child and the Hawkshead Brewery. Has everything you need in the village, butchers, newsagents, spa, choppy, bistro, coffee/cake shop come antique shop, playground for children, a pub which serves good food and the brewery which serves snacks. Adjoining the brewery is an artisan bakery and Wilfs Cafe which serves a good breakfast and occasionally has nights where it opens and you can bring your own drink.
The cottage itself is very clean and has all modern amenities. TV in lounge although has Netflix doesn't have a DVD, although there is one upstairs. Lounge is comfy for 4 people, sleeps 6 but downstairs has only 2, two seater settees so from a relaxing point of view only 4 can chill out. The sauna is great as are the 2 shower rooms and the drying room and storage space outside is great. Comfy beds. 2 of the bedrooms have wardrobes the other hasn't but has good cupboard/drawer space. TV with game console and DVD at top of stairs. Our only critisism was the openness of the front, needs some voiles over the window to stop people staring in the lounge area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chilling in the lakes
Liked least: Too open at front
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. We have taken on board your comments and have this evening ordered a voile blind! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Wheelhouse soon. Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ouzolover...
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a great location”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had a fabulous stay in this lovely house built to a very high specification with everything on hand for a great stay
We loved the sauna and the very useful outside space for boots bikes wet gear etc
We will certainly be back
Thank you Sara and Stephen for a lovely holiday home

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
We are simply thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at the Wheelhouse soon. Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just stayed at the Wheelhouse for 3days with my wife and small dog. The place was done to a very high standard, I mean to say that you wanted for nothing, it had everything from wifi to a sauna also a place to store and maintain your cycles. There is nothing bad i can say about the place. Will definitely be going back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Stephen & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanklyMe...
merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday last week at the Wheelhouse, the cottage is ultra modern with everything you could possibly need for a relaxing holiday! Staveley is a lovely village we ate at the pub, Wilfs cafe and enjoyed a beer at the brewery. We also hired mountain bikes in the village and went on an amazing ride straight from the village. Staveley is in a good location and we felt close to all the attractions we wanted to go to. Kids loved it so much they didn't want to come home! They loved the local play park and they are still telling everyone they climbed the mountain that you can see from the village! And my best bit was after a busy day having a sauna and watching a film on Netflix ! You will not be disappointed with the Wheelhouse we wouldn't hesitate to book again in fact it has set the bar to a very high standard and I reckon it will be hard to find somewhere else as good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Wheelhouse. Thank you so much for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards. Stephen and Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KStevens2...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week here and were very happy with the modern fixtures and fittings. Staveley is a brilliant base with nice places to eat and drink at (Hawkshead just up the road being my favourite). Parking was very easy, and we liked the bike storage.

Would have been a surefire 5-star review but we did get sporadic early morning noise from the light industrial units just behind the property (loading/unloading lorries) which helped us get out of the house on time for our hikes - most mornings it was light noise and not a problem but on Monday they were going for it from before 7am.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and comfortable facilities
Liked least: Lorries
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing