We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 5 The Banks

The main entrance round the back
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The main entrance round the back
5 The Banks Easy to start gas fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The main entrance round the back
5 The Banks
Easy to start gas fire
Welcoming
Modern bright kitchen
Microwave/oven.....new hob and cooker
Kitchen leading to porch/utility room
Breakfast .... John Lewis crockery
Breakfast for 2 or 4...
Chill time...
Bathroom
Newly refurbished bathroom with overhead shower and shaving point
Large bedroom…plenty of hanging space and drawers
Kingsize bed...John Lewis mattress
Morning coffee on the patio......or evening wine :)
Bedroom with small double…cosy
Complimentary bathroom luxuries
Porch/utility room with washer/dryer
Main bedroom
Fresh linen and fluffy towels
Main bedroom…lots of bedtime reading for you
Kingsize bed….so comfortable
Books to read….games to play
Lovely homely touches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Staveley, Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
James R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What a wonderful and lovely place to stay! Perfectly clean and very well decorated! Staveley is a very nice and quiet place to stay! Perfect get away from the hustle and bustle of city life! Weather wasn't great all the time but the warmth and homely feel of the cottage was perfect with roaring fire on! Bed was very comfy and shower was great! Everything you need to feel comfortable! Will definitely want to stay again! 100%

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahilan S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We four guys had great holidays there..
Nice rooms and very clean and tidy.
There were all the equipments which we need to use.
Nice environment and peaceful place to live
We had great holiday

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzieCM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely trip”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We are two couples who stayed at Eileens cottage for New Year.
The cottage was tastefully decorated and was exceptionally clean with everything you require for a short or long stay. The two beds are very comfortable with lovely crisp, fresh linen. The location was much better than expected as there three pubs in the village and all serve nice food. We didn't need use our car while we where here as the train station is a stone throw away and we we're able to visit Kendal and Windermere. Eileen was very responsive to our emails and l would definately recommend this cottage. Many thanks Eileen, Suzanne x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole201...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

5 The Banks was absolutely perfect. It is so beautifully furnished, with everything you need for a short or long stay. The kitchen is spacious, the main bedroom is very large and spacious with plenty of storage space. It's location to Windermere is ideal, without being right on the doorstep. Staveley was such a quiet village. During our stay we walked the short distance to the local pub 'The Eagle and Child' which also did fantastic meals and had a great atmosphere.
We loved 5 The Banks and would definitely stay again if we are lucky enough to visit the beautiful Lakes District again.
Perfection!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything this place had to offer was amazing.
Liked least: Couldn't fault the accommodation.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NessPeter...
Peterborough,UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a special place to stay for Christmas!”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This year me & my husband decided to go away for Christmas & we couldnt have asked for a better place to stay. We arrived Christmas eve & stayed for three nights, after a long journey from Peterborough we arrived to a nice warm cottage. After settling in & a much needed cup of tea we went off to The Eagle & Child pub (a 5-10min stroll) for a lovely meal & a few drinks.Very friendly local, absolutely pack with people & festive cheer!
The cottage has been beautifully renovated to a very high standard with all mod cons for all your needs. There is two bedrooms one with a double bed & the other with a kingsize plus plenty of draw space & a wardrobe. We slept in the kingsize bed & it was so comfy! The bathroom had a shower over the bath & there was fluffy towels provided, also very nicely decorated. The lounge had two settee's & there was a real flame gas fire if you wanted a bit more heat. The lounge was decorated for Christmas, very minimal but was very tastefully done. There was Sky TV with Sky movies which was a nice touch, also Wi-Fi was available!
The kitchen diner had everything you needed, even down to a dishwasher which we didn't use as my husband is my dishwasher!! There was a washer/dryer & microwave in the little room on back of the kitchen, this was the prefered entrance to the property so you could leave your shoes as the front door opened straight into the lounge.
We went out to eat Christmas lunch in Bowness on Windermere & walked by the lake, we also went into Kendal & Ambleside on Boxing day. All these towns are a short drive from Staveley, but if you prefer you can hop on a train to these places as the station is only a stones throw from the cottage!
All in all we had a wonderful time for our first Christmas away! Thank you to the owner for creating such a lovely place to stay, we would definitely recommend staying here & we even might go back next Christmas with our friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property couldn't be faulted
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing