We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, cosy and well equipped.”
The comfortable lounge has a riverside balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The comfortable lounge has a riverside balcony
The balcony is a great place to relax and unwind The kitchen is well equipped
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
The comfortable lounge has a riverside balcony
The balcony is a great place to relax and unwind
The kitchen is well equipped
The dining area leads off the kitchen
upstairs bathroom
master bedroom
master bedroom
Master bedroom
single bedroom
single bedroom
A River Runs By - overlooks the River Gowan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Staveley, Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carolyn H
Bradfield St. George, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, cosy and well equipped.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A River Ran By is a cosy and very well equipped little house. The balcony over the river is a lovely bonus on a pleasant evening. Staveley is a fabulous village to stay in, although not perhaps as picturesque as some, it is very well positioned and has fabulous facilities. A Spar that is open most of the time, a bakers for fresh bread every morning, even on Sunday, a butcher and for eating out the Eagle & Child is pleasant, the Starly Curry House was a delightful surprise and the Hawkshead Brewery also very nice with its own brewery tap. If you are into cycling then the bike shop is to drool over. All in all a fantastic base for the South Lakes. Helen has provided an amazing selection of books and guides in the cottage to enable you to pick out exactly what you want to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyT749
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage and location”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Three things matter:

1. This a brilliantly designed, presented and equipped cottage, bijou but more than adequate for 3.
2. Its in Staveley which is a robustly thriving village - pubs, cafes, supermarket, butchers, bakers and its own brewery with a jumping brewery tap for heaven's sake!
3. Its in the Lake District!

All else is detail. Parking on the road or in the Mill Yard 50 yds away may save your blood pressure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in Staveley and by the river.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thank for taking the time to post a review- and for your comments. I am so glad you liked the cottage, and the village - and hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H
1 review
“Ticks all the boxes for me”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I have just had a weekend here with two of my friends but I've also stayed here before with my fiancé. Everyone's expectations are different so I'll give my view on some of the concerns raised about this place and my experience first:

Parking - It's tight getting into the courtyard and there isn't bags of room to manoeuvre once you're in there but if you're confident in a multi-storey car park then you shouldn't have much trouble. We had two cars so I parked in The Mill Yard over the road from Friday afternoon to Monday morning without any trouble and at no cost. There were plenty of spaces.

Heating - Worked fine all weekend and the place was very warm. The floor of the downstairs bathroom was a bit chilly barefoot but easily fixed by putting a towel down.

Space: It's cosy but comfortably sleeps 3 upstairs. The living room is pretty spacious and although the table in the kitchen is small the 3 of us sat around it playing cards for a lot of the Friday night and ate breakfast there most mornings.

The kitchen is fully equipped so you don't have to eat out all the time, the place is clean and comfortable and it's nice to have the river running by. There's also a lot of information on hand to help you plan days out.

Staveley is the icing on the cake. Some good walks from the doorstep and it's a great base for visiting the rest of the lakes for more serious walks. For afterwards the Hawkshead brewery has a great range from the more traditional cask ales to some pretty hoppy keg beers and IPA's and it also does good food. The Indian restaurant was excellent and the Eagle and Child is a solid pub with a good selection of food and beers. The Duke William has sports on TV and friendly locals if there's a game on you don't want to miss. Plus there’s also a great bakers and butchers and it’s all within a very short walk from A River Runs By.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you had a good stay and found the cottage suitable for your needs. Staveley is, as you suggest, a great base ( for cyclists as well as walkers) and has everything (including - as well as the eateries etc you mentioned - a pharmacy, post office (with cash machine) and minimart) you need close at hand. I hope you enjoy wherever you venture next and to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not for 3 adults, not for Feb and not for family car”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I'll start by saying that for the right party at the right time of year this house would be fine, possibly even quite nice. The fixtures and fittings are clean, well maintained and of decent quality and the very limited space has been brilliantly exploited. Staveley is a nice little village with options for eating out and is good for exploring the south Lakes. However, before booking I'd bare the following in mind...

The parking is in a small courtyard down a very narrow lane involving turns around stone walls. If you either lack confidence in manoeuvring or have a medium size car or bigger, you will be left fighting for the limited on street parking in the village.

The house was quite cold in February. Whilst there is central heating, we struggled all week to get the place to a comfortable temperature, and the shower room (which is by the front door) was always cold. Probably not a problem later in the year, but be aware through the colder months.

The house is quite small. There were only two of us and it felt cosy. I certainly wouldn't fancy staying here with 3 adults, and even 2 adults and a child might struggle to fit around the dining table at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for seeking to make it balanced.

I am sorry you struggled to get the temperature right. I was at the cottage for the first two weeks of February (i.e immediately before you) and the cottage - and shower room - was toasty warm ) even with ice and snow on the hills and sleet some days... Indeed, I even slept with the bedroom window open! There is also supplementary heating (fan heater) available.

You are quite right to say, of course, that the initial access to the courtyard is quite tight - but my neighbours have four wheel drives/big cars and it is therefore perfectly manageable to gain access. Ample free parking is also available in the Mill Yard less than 2 minutes walk away for those guests who don't feel confident negotiating unfamiliar spaces and for guests who bring 2 cars.

I have had (and have very positive reviews from) groups of 3 (2 adults and one child/3 adults) and 4 (3 adults and 1 child) and am always happy to supply accurate room measurements and other details where this is requested.

I am glad you found the cottage well equipped and clean and hope you enjoy your next stay - wherever it is. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madonna73...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely hideaway in a great location”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely little cottage in the interesting village of Staveley. It rained for most of our stay, but the cottage was cosy, with plenty of dvds/books etc to keep us occupied when we weren't out walking in the rain! Lots of lovely walks straight from the door, meant that we didn't have to move the car for most of the stay. We walked to Bowness (part of the Dales Way and caught the bus back from Windemere, which was lovely. Had a good meal at the Eagle and Child and lovely bread from the bakers in the Staveley Mill yard. Despite the rain, enjoyed watching the "pet" heron outside the balcony window too. Sure it would be even more lovely in the sunshine! Took our little dog, who loved it. Great having a shower just inside the front door, to wash her down after walks. Would go back.
Only tip is to watch the tight access in to the yard for parking. We have an estate with parking sensors and just about made it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
Glad you had such a good stay despite the weather (which, sadly, is beyond my control !) and found plenty to do locally. The books and DVDs are refreshed (at least in part) at least once a year so regular guests have something new to look forward to. And great that you explored by bus - a number of guests have found the local rail and bus services convenient and relaxing to use, (and great if you are doing linear walks). It is, as you say, possible to get a large car in the parking space despite it beinf a single space in a shared courtyard; though it may take some patient manoeuvering! In my experience, the neighbours are very happy to move their vehicle if it helps guests get in/out of the cottage space more easily. Thank you for booking and for taking the time to post a review; hope to welcome you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing