We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place for family holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Staveley, Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue A
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for family holiday”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Spent a brilliant week at ghyll bank house with extended family easily accommodating 14 of us, bathrooms redone since we last visited in 2015 made it much more user friendly. You get a fantastic view of the house from Hughill fell, which is walkable straight from the doorstep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lovethesu...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dirty sheets”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The sheets on the bed were not changed, there was hairs and crusty deposits, it was awful. The rest of the house was fine, parts have been updated(the kitchen and a bathroom are nice) but many of the bedrooms need attention.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swpratt
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Ideal base in the eastern fells”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a great house for large parties. Lots of rooms and bathrooms and some with great views towards kentmere and morecombe bay.
Surrounded by farmland and sheep and a healthy walk into stavely this was a great option for us. We prefer a bit of peace and quiet and you may not find it nearer the centre of the Lake District.
Kitchen was large and well equipped though frying pans could be updated.
I would definitely return to this part of the lakes and this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and views
Liked least: Frying pans - small complaint I know
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
We are so pleased that you had a lovely time on your holiday at Ghyll Bank House, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us all. The location sounds lovely, with the surrounding countryside providing plenty of peace and quiet - bliss! We certainly hope that you return to enjoy the house and the area again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Hull
Reviewed 16 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing