We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
55
17
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
17
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoilet blockpost officetent pitcheswell stocked shopco opcamp shopshort walksmall hillfamily shower roomwooded arearoman bath housemuncaster castleratty armsplay area for childrenhard standing pitchesinformation roomclean facilities
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

This is a must if you want peace and quiet!! Lovely location by the coast. Fantastic walks from the site. The site staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly. Lovely clean facilities. Wish we could have stayed longer (darn Work)! We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KClowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely site - clean, well maintained and friendly staff.

Whilst there isn't a play area or anything for children on site there's a lovely little play area for children 2 minutes from the entrance and a field for ball games. The Roman bath house, Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway, main train line, coast and fells are all within in walking distance making it a great base for a holiday.

There were only two downsides for us - the little on site shop isn't brilliantly stocked given the distance to the nearest shop (Seascale Co-Op is ca. 5 miles away). The bacon, eggs and sausages are all lovely quality and seemed to be replenished but there was no bread available at any point during our stay and very limited option when it comes to dried/tinned goods. It isn't essential to have these items available but it would have been a bonus had they been. The other drawback is that there are only 2 showers in each of the men's/ladies blocks so queues were quick to form. There aren't any washbasins in cubicles either. As with the shop, this isn't a dealbreaker and is beyond the control of the site staff unless the site has an upgrade of its facilities. All facilities were clean and well maintained which for us is the most important thing.

The site is predominantly caravans/motorhomes with a small wooded area for tents/three camping pods. The shade from the trees was very welcome during our stay and because the site is small it feels more secluded and relaxing.

We would definately recommend a stay here - just make sure you bring food stuff with you and are ok with waiting for a shower!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank CJIOHJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Great site - nice and quiet with nice pitches. Good clean facilities and very friendly staff. Our first visit but won’t be the last! Nicely located for walking, and the waterfront is only 5 mins walk away, with a nice pub in the village.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Spent 5 nights here. Very nice, friendly staff. Pitches are well-spaced in woodland. The showers are the best I've had on any Caravan and Camping Club site. It's a short stroll to three pubs in the village, all doing good food. There are good walks from the site along the coast or inland to Muncaster Castle. Ten minute drive north to a quiet beach. And of course all the mountains and lakes a few miles inland.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 661graham52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We booked this as our homebound leg of our first Motorhome holiday. Coming across from the NE Scotland (Aberdeenshire) it took us a little under 6 hours travelling. The site location is well signed and apart from what seemed like the commuter traffic the journey was fine. I would advise a little higher level of concentration in the final 15 miles as there is (depending on when you arrive) business traffic with the usual risk taker jumping lights, overtaking inappropriately and speeders, whin in the Motorhome we are target for this!!

Anyhow, we arrive at site to a lovely welcome. The gent who met me then took me through the site on his map and then walked me to my pitch. Its a lovely compact hard standing with hook up in the tree line. The facilities on site are good, as a disabled traveller I’m always wary of what facilities are available and just how accessible they actually are. There is a family/disabled (I think there are two) bathrooms. These are great, plenty room, and a huge double shower. One set-up as a normal shower and the other clearly set up with consideration to mobility issues. This allowed my wife to assist me while also being able to get on and have her own shower. These rooms were easily to access.

There is a little shop on site that sells the usual camper fare as well as a central point for information. I would advise ensuring you have at least the basics with you when arriving in Ravenglass as there is a very limited amount of shops, in fact we only found a little post office but this was like going back in time!!

All in all, this is a nice quiet location on the coast, a little limited in regards to provisions but lots of nice options on your doorstep for eating.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Messtin112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews