We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by chance as visiting area.”
Review of The Ratty Arms

The Ratty Arms
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Ravenglass
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Wow. What an amazing lunch we had here. Meals were lovely, we enjoyed a local ale and loved the Halloween decorations. Lovely real fire to warm the place up.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sarahwR5594YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevM371, Owner at The Ratty Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you so much Sarah for your sweet review of our little pub. Delighted that you enjoyed the food, the beer, the ghostly decorations and the log fire. We do appreciate it when people turn up at this time of year when it's not so nice and the days are short and then take the time to post a positive review. Kind regards - Bev (proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Super seats looking into the train tracks. Really big portions at a reasonable price. Good stop off for the Eskdale Ravenglass railway. Very friendly staff too.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lindseyh162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevM371, Owner at The Ratty Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Well thank you Lindsey! A review such as yours is a really good advert for our little pub. You describe us to a 'T'. Kind regards - Bev (proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

We ate here a couple of times whilst staying at the caravan site on the other side of the railway. Love the concept of eating in the station waiting room. Friendly service and good value food followed by some nice local,real ales made things very enjoyable. Nice outdoor seating area to watch the trains go by although there weren't that many.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevM371, General Manager at The Ratty Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Thank you Brian and glad that you enjoyed your visit. The trains are not that frequent during the day, maybe one per hour but if you were here on a Saturday you mightn't have seen any owing to the strikes.

Kind regards - Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We loved chatting with one of the owners on the patio. It's a great place to have a drink and some snacks before wandering on the beach!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skeptic13us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevM371, Owner at The Ratty Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you Skeptic - it was nice talking to you also. We are very fortunate to be where we are, 12 miles from England's highest point and where, literally, the sea is on our doorstep. Kind regards - pp Bev (proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

very good for having your tea and nice customer service and every one was very nice and they even let you take your dog in there if you have one

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janetfielding607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevM371, Owner at The Ratty Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Well thank you Janet. We are delighted that you had a good time and more importantly for us, took the trouble to post a review. Any complimentary comments about the service and the dog-friendliness are very important to us. Kind regards - Bev (landlady)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ratty Arms also viewed

Ravenglass, Lake District
Ravenglass, Lake District
 
Gosforth, Lake District
Holmrook, Seascale
 

Been to The Ratty Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing