We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed.”
Review of The Ratty Arms

The Ratty Arms
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Ravenglass
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Not the best meal we have had. Very average quality and service. Looks like the turnover is more important than the quality of food and service. Would not recommend when other options very nearby are available. Sorry but not the best.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank BigJohn247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Fantastic food and very reasonable prices. Perfect place to pop in after a train journey. Try the tiki masala

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Gvain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

First visit to the Lakes since my childhood and what a find, excellent ales, food and welcoming staff.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank gchughes406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We booked a table for Sunday lunchtime & when we arrived the car park and pub were very busy.
The pub itself sits alongside the main railway line & is decorated in traditional "pub" style - bench seats & lots of dark wood.
Staff were busy but competent - we didn't feel a friendly welcome though.
Our reserved table had been taken by other customers but staff didn't move them. Luckily, there was one other empty table we could use.
No Sunday lunch menu - only the usual bar menu.
Never mind, this is quite extensive & we chose from that.
Despite having booked, we were then told that there'd be a 40 minute wait for food!
The food, once it came, was tasty & decent sized portions.
Overall, an average experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nibblerrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We came here May bank holiday weekend and due to the lovely weather it was very busy. We sat outside and were informed in advance that the food would take a while so we didn't mind. The food itself was good pub style food and filling. Enjoyed it and would go back.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank tez56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ratty Arms also viewed

Ravenglass, Lake District
Ravenglass, Lake District
 
Holmrook, Seascale
Ravenglass, Lake District
 

Been to The Ratty Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing