We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
YHA Wasdale Hall(Nether Wasdale)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Low Wood Hall Hotel(Nether Wasdale)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burnthwaite Farm(Wasdale Head)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
232
75
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
232
75
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmicro breweryscafell pikethe pubsteak and ale piereal alewasdale headexcellent beersuperb foodlake districtbeautiful villagefor sunday lunchbeer gardengreat weekendtwo nightsfriendly welcomeeaster weekendfabulous stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped for lunch today. We have been going for many year's and camp at the near by site. It's a good place for hand pulled beers and a warm meal after a day walking the screes. The food is ok but has changed over the years. The mains are quite good but your plate is over loaded with chips. Not a few lovely hand cut ones as described on the menu. More of a plate filler.
The beer garden is pleasant and some of the staff are fairly friendly.
Overall not to bad.
The food was far better on the last visits we had.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pamela28pjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a great find. We went for Sunday lunch and were very lucky to get one of the last tables. The roast beef was amazing and the rhubarb and ginger crumble was out of this world. Strongly recommended

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We visited the Strands Inn a couple of times whilst camping in Nether Wasdale. It's a great pub with very friendly staff, a lovely atmosphere and good food. They have a quiz on a Sunday evening which is good fun. Definitely worth a trip if you're visiting this area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usuallyacamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Excellent base for walking in this part of the Lake District. Comfortable and clean rooms, excellent pub food (don't forget to book- it gets busy). Lots of atmosphere with very friendly staff. And I haven't mentioned the range of beer brewed on site- also great!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gtennant51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

It has to be said that the Strands Inn and Brewery is in an amazing location, with friendly staff, a huge range of beers and plentiful helpings at every meal. We stayed for two nights and having read other reviews maybe we should have asked to move rooms after the first night. Room 11 has the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in (or not in this case) ever. On the second night I double folded the duvet and slept on top to prevent bruising my bones any further. The tv was the smallest I have come across ever (not that you come to the lakes to watch TV I guess!) their was no hair dryer although it stated every room had one and no WIFI at all. I think the point is that the limited competition in the area means the Strand doesn't have to keep on top of its game to do well. On a positive note the food was good and if you've climbed Scafell it hits the spot, the staff were helpful and friendly. Just maybe avoid room 11, take a hairdryer if you are bothered and enjoy the location as it is superb.

Room Tip: Avoid room 11 unless you like an incredibly hard bed.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews