We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Troutbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma U
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fab space! We descended with grandparents and 3 under 3 year olds and the space was just perfect! Great open plan living space for small people to run around in and cosy bedrooms. Thanks! Made our Easter :) x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Hi Emma,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm glad you had a great Easter! Hope to welcome you back in the near future! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice F
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful get away”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Old Corner Barn for the weekend and had a wonderful time. The cottage is lovely, well equipped and a great spot to explore from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The isolation of the property
Liked least: Nothing to do with the cottage but it did rain !!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Hi Janice- thank you so much for your positive review and I'm so glad you had a wonderful time. I hope to welcome you back in the near future! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Old Corner Barn in August with our 2 children (6yr & almost 2yrs), it was a lovely place and perfect for us! It is right out in the countryside with a lovely little crag behind it, which we walked over & met some friendly horses! The inside of the cottage is beautiful and very homely & we loved the way it was 'upside down' (bedrooms and bathrooms downstairs). The girls loved how open-plan it was upstairs ... they found playing up there very exciting! The owners have provided everything you need and are easy to contact if you have any problems - we had a smoke alarm, which kept beeping & they got hold of Roger from the B&B opposite who came over with some ladders to help us change the battery (lovely man!)
The cottage is ideally situated between Keswick & Penrith (we visited both) and all the mountains & lakes are close by. We climbed Cat bells (a huge achievement by our 6yr old!) and went to Aira Force, as well as enjoying a meal at the nearby Sportsman Inn - all of which was great.
We would definitely recommend the cottage to others & are looking forward to returning in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, size and cleanliness
Liked least: No wifi (although, maybe a good thing!!)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. I am thrilled you had a great stay, and most definitely looking forward to you coming again. Well done to your 6 year old for the climb at Cat Bells, Aira Force is also one of my favourites! Thanks again for your comments. Best Wishes Emily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin W
Ingolstadt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Pleasant, scenic, clean, good facilities, but a little out of town for us”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A very pleasant and clean place to stay for a family trip. The stairs will deter older guests and be very impractical for disabled guest. The living room / Kitchen / dining area was pleasant and clean, bur my kids missed their Wi-Fi connection!
The toilet in the en suite is somewhat wedged in and for larger guests as myself very impractical.
Towels were not provided, contrary to what was advertised, but we were informed by email just before departing from home and came prepared.
The long rough access road is not for the faint hearted or those with sports car suspension! It would also have been useful to know in advance when milking time was, in order to avoid the necessity to wait over 20 minutes for all the cows to pass before being able to depart or enter the property.
All in all a nice location, with outdoor parking and good facilities, with a little better information in advance and a Wi-Fi connection, all would be fine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: No WiFi and a little to far from Penrith for our needs
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for all your comments. We will take all these on board and include in description on the website. Best wishes, Emily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manny318
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The accommodation was amazing and the location was fantastic to get away from the busy life of London. Great size rooms with all the things required to enable you to have a great holiday.
kids did not want to leave as they enjoyed it so much and wanted to track back up Cat Bells

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review- it is very much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Old Corner Barn and we'd love to have welcome you back in the future. All the best, Emily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing