We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect property to explore the Lakes from”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
King size room
Twin room
View from other side of the valley looking towards the Byre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Patterdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
1 review
“The perfect property to explore the Lakes from”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I chose The Byre because of the stunning photographs and the location and it certainly didn't disappoint. It was a beautiful place to spend my birthday, with fantastic views. Chris gave us a warm friendly welcome when we arrived and made it feel like home. We were sorry to leave and would love to stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The perfect bolthole for R&R, we enjoyed four nights in The Byre. Everything you need for home from home except a mobile signal, what a joy not to be disturbed!! If you literally want to get away from it all this is the place to be. Chris, the owner made us so welcome from the moment we knocked on the door. Thanks also to Jimmy, his son for the taxi into nearby Glenridding. We will definitely be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2017
Really enjoyed having Gail and Pete staying in the Byre I am so pleased that they had a relaxing time while they were here.
Thanks Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAPvi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sorry to leave”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Warmly welcomed by Chris we arrived on Boxing Day for a 3 night stay
The Byre was amazing lovely features from a barn conversion warm , comfortable and with a log burner
Excellent base to explore the local area and
lots of information provided by Chris and in The Byre re local walks and amenities
Can't wait to return in the Spring

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
So good to have people stay who appreciate the hard work that we have put into making the Byre a great place to be whether its a short break or longer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safari645...
1 review
“A real find — great location, great property and great owner”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Came up for the Helvellyn Triathlon with my wife and children. The Byre made the weekend. Perfect setting, close enough to Glenridding but also deep into the landscape. A working farm — the sheep, peacocks, hens and dogs kept my children enthralled. The property is really well appointed. Bottle of wine waiting on arrival. Chris the owner is very accommodating. Can't recommend this rental highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Fantastic to have people stay who really appreciate the fact that this is a working farm and how hard we work at keeping the Byre a special place to spend their holiday at.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S
1 review
“Wonderful location!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A lovely find!
The Byre was a clean,comfortable and cosy base for exploring the surrounding area or relaxing and enjoying the spectacular views.
We would readily recommend it and hope to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing