We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
King size room
Twin room
View from other side of the valley looking towards the Byre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Patterdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gill S
1 review
“Wonderful location!”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A lovely find!
The Byre was a clean,comfortable and cosy base for exploring the surrounding area or relaxing and enjoying the spectacular views.
We would readily recommend it and hope to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a beautiful little gem!? This barn conversion is well appointed and renovated to high standards. Everything you could need in a cosy farm property is there- wood for the fire, a well-appointed kitchen, heating throughout and sheep and chickens at the back door! The interior is decorated beautifully and the views are AMAZING! Great walking tracks from the property and far enough from town to be quiet but close enough to walk. Also suited us with our 19 month old son- there are stairs but we were able to block them off well enough with the high chair.

Chris and his family are lovely and very welcoming. I just wish it was closer to home (we're in Australia) so we could visit more often!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huwgh T
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great base to explore”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A little off the beaten track but well worth finding. A lovely converted building. Huge amounts of space. Really well situated to explore the lakes. A short hop to Windermere or Ambleside for those self catering needs. Greeted by a menagerie of animals but no owners at 3pm. I understand its a working farm though so just went and got lunch and came back later. small niggles like the shower upstairs didnt work properly and there was no tea and coffee as stated there would be and the wifi code provided only worked when standing in the b&b reception. There was a bottle of wine though and Chris was very helpful when we had questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
We now have dedicated WiFI in the Byre to save people having to come to the farmhouse.
We always leave the Byre open for guests just in case we get called away to an emergency on the farm. Its good to get feed back on problems so that they can be fixed immediately we are told about them.
.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing