We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cottage, very well equipped in an...”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax and enjoy a glass of wine on the comfy funiture - in the South facing garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax and enjoy a glass of wine on the comfy funiture - in the South facing garden.
Large sunny Front Garden and drive with off Road Parking for one large car Sunny pation area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Relax and enjoy a glass of wine on the comfy funiture - in the South facing garden.
Large sunny Front Garden and drive with off Road Parking for one large car
Sunny pation area
Large Private front terrace - is a great sun trap - plus ample parking for one car
49' Curvend SMART TV and Cinima sound DVD great for catching up with telly on WiFi
Ingelnook fireplace with stylish wood burner - great for those wintery nights
Kitchen with all Mod Cons
Cosy Dining Area for up to 6 Guests
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Beautiful spacious master bedroom and ensuite
Antique pine 4 poster double bed with cotton drapes and matching furnishings
New ensuite with large powerful shower and lots of chrome
Luxury ensuite
Sunny and cosy antique pine double bedroom with oak beams
Great view of the village and front garden
Sunny double bedroom on the 1st floor
New luxury stylish spacious bathroom with curved shower cubicle and powerful shower.
Have a hot soak to ease the aches from a day fell walking.
Plenty of space to dine in the back garden using the Gas BBQ
Eat ElFresco in the Back Garden Terrace BBQ patio area
Cosy Christmas in the Lakes
Festive fun by the fire
Rear Terrace Garden - parking for one medium sized car.
Hillside walks near the village.
The start of a great walk just of the village road
Loverly views from the centre of our village.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Samantha...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little cottage, very well equipped in an ideal location”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We travelled from Western Australia to the cottage to spend Christmas in the Lake District with the kids and had a great stay!! We landed in Manchester on Christmas morning and the property owner had very kindly agreed in advance to come out and meet us with the keys etc which we are massively grateful for!! They were ever so kind enough to give us a Christmas card and a bottle of wine which was a lovely gesture. One which was very much welcome after stepping off a 24 hour flight on the other side of the world. (Can't guarantee this for everybody though ;)

We arrived at the cottage which is nestled away off the A590 in a terraced row to find it absolutely immaculate and welcoming. Storage heaters were in full swing so the place was lovely and warm for us on arrival bearing in mind it was winter and there was a good frost on the ground. The owners had put up a Christmas tree and decorations for us too so along with the open log fire it made for a real nice wintry Christmas feeling. They even supplied the logs for the fire knowing we wouldn't be able to purchase any on our arrival day as the shops were closed!!!

The place has all the necessary appliances to be self sufficient and there was a multitude of information on local amenities and places to go/eat/walk etc.

The cottage comes with free access the leisure facilities at the Swan Hotel which is a mile up the road. The facilities there are great which you wouldn't normally get with any other such type of booking so they were there to make the most of and that we did. We enjoyed the fact we could take the kids swimming every morning and make use of the gym/pool/sauna/steam room and spa. They also have a decent restaurant and bar area that does OK food. The actual bar area and restaurant is a lovely place to sit and hang out and we enjoyed the wines on the list.

If there were any criticisms they are very, very minor but I'll be honest in the hope that it's useful information for all concerned

*The electric shower in the bathroom could do with improving as the flow rate isn't very good.

* no wifi/internet which made it quite difficult to plan days out/check opening times of places to go etc. However, you can use the wifi down at the swan hotel which is good but would be much better if it was accessible in the cottage itself. Mobile data/3G isn't available at the cottage as the mobile phone signal is very sporadic depending on which room you are in.

* people tend to park directly across from the front driveway to the house which can make it really difficult to swing a car out of the driveway. We had to go looking for the car owners on a few occasions to get them to move their cars so we could get ours out of the driveway. We only had a people carrier. There are lines on the road but people still do it. This obviously can't be controlled by the owner but just something to bear in mind.


Overall, it was a lovely real winter wonderland and we will be sure to book again when we next visit the UK. Really really nice couple that own the cottage who will do anything (within reason of course) for you and we can't thank them enough for all the help, support and communication leading up to the trip and of course for allowing us to have the keys on Christmas morning. They were an absolute pleasure to deal with and we would recommend this place to anyone!!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely and very positive review on our cottage.
We are delighted that you and your family had a wonderful Christmas and New Year staying at the cottage.
We do make every effort to make guests stays as easy and comfortable as possible and try to meet all guests’ needs and requirements. We are sorry that you found the shower not powerful enough and we plan to upgrade the bathrooms in the near future. We recognise that internet Wifi is important to guests and we are installing this in May, along with changes to the TV provision at the cottage. Thank you for bringing the parking issue to our attention as this is the first time it has been raised, unfortunately we are unable to control parking on a public road or people parking illegally on double yellow lines across from the cottage. Thanks again for your great review and we hope to welcome you back to the cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell T
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, roomy cottage with all modern facilities”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We vacated this cottage yesterday (August 23 2014) after a 2 week stay and found both the cottage and the area its located in both charming.
On arrival we found the cottage immaculate and clean as it is well tended by a housekeeper who lives nearby. There is space for one car round the rear but it can be tricky reversing so its best to use the space at the front through the double gates.
The kitchen comes complete with everything you will need so there is no requirement to pack bulky accessories. it has a washing machine and an iron and ironing board as well as a clothes airer for those longer stays.
The lounge has comfortable reclining leather sofas as well as SKY TV (although not SKY SPORTS) and a DVD player. The cottage provides a selection of about 10 movies to watch and a selection of books too.
For sports fans I suggest you watch your match at the nearby Swan Hotel, for which you have a pass. The bar area has the only TV and you may have to ask for the sound to be put on but i found them most accomodating. Nearby Ulveston (8miles) also has a town centre pub which shows SKY matches as does the Stag Hotel in Bowness which also has BT Sports, both better venues if you want a livelier atmosphere.
We planned our 2 week excursions well in advance but the cottage has a huge selection of rather helpful leaflets detailing all manner of day trips.
We took along 3 cycles and after they all got drenched outside one night the cottage owner was very obliging when we asked if we could store them in her shed. This was a big help, thanks!
There are no real negatives about the cottage itself although we left a polite note saying that the entrance could benefit from a shoe rack as we were very concious of not dragging mud through the property, and perhaps coats hooks where the "Whitestone Cottage" sign is currently hanging.
I researched hundreds of Lake District properties before booking this a year in advance so i can say with authority that is the best value cottage i found if you consider it has 3 bedrooms.
ADVICE:
FOOD SHOPPING - I suggest the nearest supermarket is left out on the main road and drive towards Ulveston. Its called "Booths" (satnav LA12 7LY). For just a pint of milk or bread use Leven Valley sub Post Office (satnav LA12 8RB) which is on the other side of the main road. The first week we drove miles looking for provisions so trust me these are the nearest!
CASHPOINTS - the nearest we found was inside the entrance at Booths mentioned above, otherwise the nice town of Ulveston has several in its centre.
EATING OUT - We ate at the cottage 12 out of 14 days as all the hotels nearby are pricey, especially if you are feeding 4. Meals at the nearby Whitewater Hotel begin at £32 per head! The Swan Hotel is more reasonable and benefits from a kids play area out the back. Fish and chip lovers i recommend "Chippy Bank" in nearby Ulveston (satnav LA12 7DZ), a 15 minute drive.
WI-FI & INTERNET - Unfortuantely the cottage does not have Wi-FI so its best to use your Swan Hotel pass and use theirs although it does dip in and out. Ask for the password at reception.
I hope our wasted journeys save future cottage occupants precious time!
We loved our stay and i have no hesitation recommending this cottage. All my questions in advance were answered by the owner who was most accommodating.
Great value (the same price as a week in a caravan at Haven). Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: SKY tv and dvd player, ipod docking station, use of shed
Liked least: limited space for shoes and coats
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely, very positive and informing review of our cottage and the Newby Bridge Area.
We are delighted that you and your family had a fabulous summer holiday in the Lakes. We are pleased that you found the cottage immaculate and comfortable.
We recognise that internet Wifi is important to guests and this is being provided in May, along with changes to the TV provision at the cottage that will now have BT sports.
Some local Hotels are expensive for a family to eat out and we recommend trying local pubs who provide great food at more reasonable prices, like the Anglers Arms at Haverthwaite.
Thank you for recommending the Cottage as being of good value. We always aim to provide a high standard of accommodation at an affordable price. Thanks again for your great review and we hope to welcome you back to the cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busybee13...
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely little place to stay”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My partner & I spent three nights at the cottage last weekend & had a lovely time. The cottage itself is beautiful & the log fire really makes the place - just remember to take logs with you, although you can buy these locally too.

The location was really good, but I do think that you need to have a car to stay here as you need to drive to the nearest pub, shop etc. There is a fairly busy single carriageway road not far from the cottage, but you really couldn't hear it inside the house.

There are heaps of things to do nearby - so much so that we didn't get to use the spa passes in the end! These were great to have though & judging by the lovely meal we had at the Swan I'm going to say that they would be well worth using if you have time (the meal was amazing & the hotel & pool looked really lovely from what we saw).

On top of all this, Christine (the owner) was a pleasure to deal with from start to finish & was very prompt & helpful with all of her responses.

My only tip for the stay would be to take hand towels with you, as there aren't any in the house. Christine did tell us we would need to provide our own towels, but I stupidly thought she only meant bath towels so do take hand towels with you too!

The only thing I would like to see put into the house that wasn't there is a hairdryer (and an extra tea towel in the kitchen would be handy too). But as these were literally the only things missing from this otherwise really beautiful & well-equipped cottage, I don't think that's a deal breaker!

Oh and some directions to the most local shops might be good, as we had a satnav & that seemed confused about where we could get food from! But all of the tour leaflets/maps provided in the kitchen were great.

Please note that there is also no wifi or internet in the cottage - this wasn't a problem for us, as it was nice to have a break from busy modern life, but just something to note. The tv in the living room did have sky tv & a DVD player though, which was great for relaxing!

Overall, I would definitely go back to this lovely place & if I could move my job I'd definitely be trying to purchase the cottage from Christine too! Highly recommended, loveky place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on the cottage. I am delighted you and your partner had a lovely stay at the cottage. I am glad you liked the location of the cottage, which is very popular with many guests, I do always recommend that a car is necessary due to its rural location. I am really pleased that you found the booking of the cottage from start to finish very easy and customer friendly. It is a shame that you didn’t get to use the leisure facilities at the Swan Hotel as they are great. It’s great to know that you had a lovely meal at the Swan, which is a favourite eating place of ours. All feedback from guests is considered carefully and I will definitely look into leaving more towels and directions to the local shops. We are considering providing Wi-Fi at the cottage (BT hotspots are available so BT customers can use these for free). Thanks again for your very positive review and hope to welcome you back to our cottage again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Only 1 bath/shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on the cottage. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and found the cottage to be in the ideal location for your nephews wedding at the Swan. I am glad you had fantastic weather during your stay. I hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jacquie B
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in peaceful surroundings, perfect location to explore the Lake District.”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Comfortable and characterful! We had a wonderful week at Whitestone Cottage in May. Loved the location, away from some of the busy resort centres but close to the main attractions. The addition of the Leisure passes at the Swan hotel was a real bonus, especially after a day of walking. Would highly recommend this lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Leisure passes
Liked least: No dishwasher
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on the cottage. I am delighted you had a wonderful week at the cottage and it’s great to know that you loved the location as well. I am pleased that you really enjoyed the use of leisure passes at the Swan Hotel. Thank you so much for highly recommending Whitestone Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing