We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Birthday treat”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ Birthday treat”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had the most amazing time at Eller How House..the photos just don't do this beautiful house any justice...Helen and John are the most hospitable hosts with a delicious cake to welcome us. We will most definitely be booking again.....Thank you so much

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
Thank you Clare for submitting a review.We do hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Idyllic house and grounds”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have just returned from a family weekend break at Eller How. The house is beautiful - very well equipped with large kitchen/diner and wonderful comfortable lounge overlooking the lovely gardens. It is well situated for exploring the Lake District and for a peaceful relaxing Holiday. Helen and John, the owners, make you very welcome and are on hand if you need anything. I would highly recommend this lovely house and grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
We hope that you will be able to stay at Eller How in the future Margaret. Thank you for writing a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieBrew
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious and very unusual”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the moment we saw Eller How House on the internet, we were intrigued with the house and it did not disappoint. The delicious Victoria sponge cake and fresh flowers greeting us were a lovely surprise.

Directions to the property are excellent. The house is very spacious and just perfect for our family celebration, with all rooms en suite and space for a cot too. A highchair and stair gate are provided on request.

The house is in a very quiet location down a long drive, although do take care entering the courtyard parking if your vehicle is wider than normal. Views of the garden from the upstairs lounge are really lovely. The kitchen is very well equipped with plenty of crockery and cutlery. Each bedroom has plenty of room, particularly the huge master upstairs. Showers are excellent.

There was absolutely nothing we needed that was not provided. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay and that the birthday is one that will be remembered!
The courtyard entrance was made for older, narrower vehicles but do ask as we have alternative parking for anyone worried about driving through!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
docxerxes
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent civilised and comfortable accommodation in beautiful part of South Lake District”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Three of us stayed here in late April and we had a lovely time in this excellent accommodation superbly maintained and run by its thoughtful owners who live next door. The house is just as described on the website and it quite beautiful, oozing charm and history set in highly attractive informal gardens and woodland. The accommodation is very comfortable and civilised. Helen Churchill manages the letting and does so highly professionally. She provided some super homemade cake on our arrival and she offered to provide a home made meal for one of our evenings there: excellent meal and highly recommended. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: charm and character of house and grounds
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay. Eller How House provides a great base for friends or relatives to meet up for a get-together as we are not too far from the M6 and the West Coast mainline. There is plenty of room and you are free to enjoy our beautiful grounds and woods.
We hope you will be able to make it again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was a great place to stay. We went for our 20th wedding anniversary with 4 children and a dog. Loved the history of the house and the grounds. It was lovely and warm and comfortable, nice to come back to after exploring the Lake district. The children enjoyed the space there too and the woods to run in. The owners were very nice and helpful with places to go and local interest.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing