We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Enjoy relaxing in the lovely patio garden Lounge with slate flooring, wood-burner and french doors opening onto patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Enjoy relaxing in the lovely patio garden
Lounge with slate flooring, wood-burner and french doors opening onto patio
Woodburner makes it a very warm cosy cottage
Dining area in the comfortable lounge
Well equipped kitchen
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Low Mill Cottage
Spacious bedroom with King size bed
Lovely sunny double bedroom
Single bedroom
Luxury bathroom
Luxury Bathroom
Enjoy meals al-fresco
Delightful sunny patio garden
High Dam in Autumn
High Dam a delightful walk from the cottage door
View of Grasmere from Helm Crag
High Dam beautiful walk from the cottage door
View from Gummers Howe Lake Windermere towards Lakeside
Delightful double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare C
Abbotts Ann, Andover, Hants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a lovely mini break at Low Mill Cottage. The interior decoration was very lovely- I could have moved in!
The bedrooms were well designed and all the beds were very comfortable. The only downside was that the microwave did not work- apart from that though- a very lovely cottage. Would recommend this cottage to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked the whole package and the fact that the owners allowed dogs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Low Mill Cottage. Yes we agree that the beds are certainly very comfy!!
The microwave wasn't faulty it was the switch on the wall which has now been replaced. If guests have a problem when staying we do encourage them to ring and let us know so we can sort it whilst you are there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRatcliff...
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and cosy - Couldn't of asked for more!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I was very close to giving up my search to find the perfect cottage that met my self-confessed high standards and expectations after weeks of trawling through letting sites and having no luck... Until I came across this little beauty!
Finding it the day before we wanted to go away and for it to have everything I was looking for within a reasonable price range seemed to good to be true. It was not.

The cottage is immaculately clean and well kept. The decor is really nicely done, not too modern for a cottage however not dated either. Coming back from long walks and snuggling up in front of the authentic log fire with a glass of wine was nothing short of perfect.
We stayed for four nights, two of those we cooked in the charming kitchen which had everything we needed, and the other two we ate at The Swan Inn restaurant/pub which was a ten minute taxi ride away.

The starting point of the High Dam walk is just around the corner and something that I highly recommend doing. We did the walk on the first day we got there and managed to time it just as the sun was setting over the Dam - Stunning!!

Would stay here again in a heartbeat and have already recommended it to family & friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Log Fire
Liked least: The Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for all your positive feedback. The cottage is situated in a lovely quiet area, and High Dam and The Swan Hotel are two of our favorite places to visit also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaW52...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a wonderful few days in the lakes and this cottage is right at the bottom of lake Windermere in beautiful countryside. It has everything you need for a home from home and I would recommend it to everyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No Wifi - meant more family time
Liked least: cold floors in the morning
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We hope that you also enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable and cosy the cottage is.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage, and for all your lovely comments. We would love to welcome you back.
Kathryn Redford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely log fire
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Mar 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to review the cottage. We have many guests returning to Low Mill, and we hope that you will stay with us again. Kathryn Redford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing