We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This cottage is very high spec”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Norman H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This cottage is very high spec”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a lovely few day here with my family . Loved the beautiful wooden doors and latches . The kitchen had all the best gadgets very high spec. We spent most of our time in the conservatory looking over the beautiful garden . The living room corner couch is VERY low to the floor , we didn't like it couldn't get comftable in there . The beds where very comftable .there is a lovely little pub about 2 mins away so is a local shop that sells all you need . About 5 mins away is the village square which has 5 pubs and a few little gift shops . Would love to go back again . Highly recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Thanks for review. I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I’m sorry to read that you found the sofa uncomfortable. The cottage is furnished in a contemporary style and the sofa is 4 inches lower than ‘normal’ sofas. Most people love the sofa but I’m sorry that you didn’t but as you’ve indicated, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
Quorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cracking Location for a Pre-Wedding Break”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fantastic family accommodation that was a perfect location for us on the run up to our wedding.

Providing a wealth of luxury and quality across the board this charming cottage was comfortable, cosy and contemporary all wrapped up into one.

The kitchen / dining & conservatory space was the key to its success, offering my fiancée and I a great place to undertake the various tasks we needed to in order to complete our final wedding preparations. Our little 3-year old daughter also loved the expanse of space as she was able to explore freely, whilst playing with her toys - all still whilst under our supervision!

The quality of the kitchen fittings and equipment were fantastic, as was the Bluetooth soundbar and the various TV's dotted around the house. The added bonus of discovering there was Sky Sports and Movies was just the icing on the cake!

Granted there was only the three of us staying in a 4-bedroom cottage but I'd imagine that even with a number of couples or a wider extended family staying Weavers Cottage would still feel spacious and luxurious!

Without a doubt we would be back to stay when next in the area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Hi Chris. Thank you for your lovely review. I’m so pleased the 3 of you enjoyed your stay so much and hope that your wedding day was wonderful too.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect short Break”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked a shortbreak at weavers cottage at very short notice the booking online was easy and quick and the next evening we arrived to find the cottage all ready the heating on and a nice welcome pack of essentials. although the weather was bad that weekend we still had a great but lazy time. The cottage was better than the exellent description and we will definitely be back with more of our family. we managed to have a nice walk past aynsome and over Greenbank and along by the racecourse to the sound of the priory bells, then a great lunch at Rogan & Co. I would recomend this cottage to all my friends as it is exellent and only a 5mins walk into the centre of Cartmel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you Mike. What a wonderful review.
Huge thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back with your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed here with a few friends for my birthday and it was such a beautiful cottage and an amazing stay! Everything was available to us and the area was fantastic, couldn't have asked for a better birthday weekend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerekandM...
Peterborough
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spent a weak here in August and I must say Weavers Cottage was everything we hoped it would be. All the facilities were 'top notch'. The stairs and downstairs bathroom door were very creaky but this was only a minor issue if you used either during the night.

We were a bit disappointed with Cartmel village, mainly because of all the parked cars. We had visited Cartmel about 20 years ago when there was hardly a car in site so we had a vision of sitting in an idyllic village square enjoying the food, drink and views - how times have changed!

As well as enjoying the splendid Lake District scenery we had to find things that would occupy our 7 year old grandson and discovered a brilliant Zoo, called Safari Zoo, which was on the road to Barrow-in-Furness. You can get very close to most animals of which there were many. Lemurs seemed to be everywhere and they even had Capybara roaming free in the zoo.

Whatever we did we always enjoyed getting back to Weavers Cottage, which was not far from quite a few places to eat, although some were quite expensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and top notch facilities
Liked least: Creaky doors and stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Hi Derek. Thank you for taking the time to write about Weavers Cottage.

I am delighted that Weavers Cottage was “everything you had hoped it would be” and was “top notch”.

Since your stay, I have lubricated all the hinges on the door so that they don’t creak.

Yes, Cartmel has certainly changed over the last 20 years and is fast becoming ‘THE’ place to be and 1 of the best villages in Cumbria to visit.

A village parking scheme is soon to come into effect to keep up with the popularity of the village. This will regulate where people can and cannot park but still provide free parking.

There is also ample parking at the racecourse in the centre of the village.

1 of the many plus points for Weavers Cottage is that the cottage is located on the edge of the village and therefore it’s only a couple of minutes to walk into the centre of the village.

Despite Cartmel being a small village we are very fortunate to have several restaurants, pubs and cafes to eat at with a variety of budgets.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Weavers Cottage and I hope to be able to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing