We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, comfortable, spacious cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KatieKR56
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable, spacious cottage”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Racecourse cottage last weekend during the terrible rain and storms affecting Cumbria. Given the circumstances we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay.
The house is beautiful. Very tastefully and comfortably furnished. Lovely very well equipped kitchen and three excellent bath/shower rooms. Plenty if space for five adults.
The welcome pack was exceptionally generous. Good quality essentials and some lovely treats. Logs for the log burner were supplied for the whole weekend. We rent a lot of cottages and so many provide no extras at all these days.
Due to the weather we spent a lot more time in Cartmel itself than we would otherwise have done which was actually no hardship. It is such a beautiful village. Lots of interesting and unusual shops to browse and plenty of places to eat.
The cottage owner, Steven, could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We really look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful comfortable accommodation. great location. a genuine welcome from owner.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for your thoughtful appraisal of our holiday cottage. I am glad that it lived up to your expectations as we strive to please.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Best, Steven
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky with the cottage location, so close to everything and with fantastic views of the parkland/racecourse. I hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, high standard, location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, it is appreciated. I am delighted that you noticed the quality of the fixtures and fittings, we tried to make a holiday rental feel like a home. It is also pleasing to hear that our cottage has appeal across the generations, it is used a lot for family get togethers.
I hope we can welcome you again in the future. Best wishes, Steven
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
josephp76...
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Cottage in Cartmel”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, daughter, and I stayed in the cottage over the Easter Holiday 2015. We found the cottage to be very nicely appointed and maintained at the highest standard. The owner was excellent and very responsive to all of our questions regarding both the cottage and the local area. In taking with the quality of the cottage, the location within the village of Cartmel gave us short walking access to restaurants, pubs, shops, the Abby in Cartmel, and walking trails. We also found that the location of the cottage gives relatively easy access to other points of interest within the Lake District (walking trails, equestrian center, golf courses, and historical sites). We most certainly will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the cottage and the location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
As our first guests from overseas, I am extremely pleased that you liked our cottage, you had travelled a long way. Thank you for having chosen Racecourse cottage and for taking the time to leave a review, I am very grateful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole quality oozed luxury.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Racecourse cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing