We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$157
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Engine Inn(Cartmel)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
12
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at Ellenboro House as I was at Cartmel races over the bank holiday and Wednesday, situated 3 miles from the course.
We were met with a warm welcome, nothing was to much trouble for the owners. Room very nice, choice of 4 breakfasts, we opted for full English. Which was superb. Pub near by was very nice, had an enjoyable stay, would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

A great stay. It was a great location close to Lake Windermere. Owners are very friendly and incredibly helpful. Room was delightful. They also catered for vegetarians without any fuss. Definitely intending to return at some point when I'm not in such a rush.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Wrexhamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Sam & Ian ensure you have a perfect stay, they are a lovely accommodating couple and go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. Complimentary cake and a glass of wine on arrival was most appreciated and the choice of home made bread and jams for breakfast; all home made by Samantha plus the locally sourced quality and tasty sausage, bacon and eggs provide a great start to the day. Spotlessly clean and comfortable with off road parking and only about 3 miles from Cartmel. Oh and your own private lounge to sit and relax in !Thanks for your superb hosting skills. Kind regards Vicky and David x

Room Tip: Only one letting room - ensures you enjoy the full attention of the hosts!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaldaveskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

A lovely little B&B in a quiet location with greats hosts Sam and Ian.

There is only 1 bedroom room for guests so it's very intimate, with lots of lovely little touches such as home made lemon drizzle cake on arrival which was just delicious. Good sized room with a decent shower, comfy bed, TV, free wifi, great breakfast with fresh home made bread and and added bonus of a glass of wine on arrival too :-)

Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

After reading the reviews I booked this b&b for my husbands birthday treat, and what a treat it was !! After the sat nav took us around the area a few times we found it ( near the yew tree cafe ). We were greeted by Jonah the dog who is gorgeous!
The hosts Sam & Ian are lovely, very homely and attentive. Sam's homemade bread and jams are to die for. Very yummy!! So was the cake she gave my husband for his birthday, which made his day. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choices.Everyone looking to go for a visit to Cartmel or Grange Over Sands (3miles) should experience a night at the Ellenboro house (b&b ) Jonah the dog would really love your visit too.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elie232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews