We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Wedding and visit the next day

A stunning place. We were lucky enough to sit in the choir for a wonderful wedding. We went back... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Tom S
,
New York
Worth a visit

Interesting place, lovely volunteers, some fascinating displays. Go along, have a look & a chat... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ShrewsburyMeg
,
Shrewsbury
Read all 652 reviews
  
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
442
190
19
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
190
19
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well worth a visit the stained glass windows steeped in history beautiful church old church gift shop magna carta pretty village choir stalls impressive building guided tour small village peaceful place interesting features lots of history south lakes race course
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Even if you’ve visited 100’s of religious buildings, like us, this one is still worth a look. We weren’t offered a tour despite there being 3 friendly people manning the entrance area. However we were happy to follow the self guided leaflet we were handed.

We weren’t offended by the £5 suggested donation sign and did so as the building must cost a fortune to maintain.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank By_She_Travel_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

This is quite possibly the nicest church I’ve ever visited.
Even though it was a Sunday, a very kind gentleman gave us a guided tour before the church service, and very informative it was.
Definitely worth a visit

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank PeterTCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful Priory with long and interesting history. Free to enter but suggested donation of £5 per family (you can even donate by credit card). Well worth a walk round outside and inside, the stained glass windows are beautiful.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Visited cartmel on New year's eve and called into the priory to take a look. Wow very impresive and was greeted by a gentleman who was very friendly and informative. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank suebyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

The Priory’s History goes back to the year 1189, but there is a lot of interesting history as to how it was damaged and additional parts built. We visited on the day they were starting to put Up Christmas decorations, unfortunately we did not see the final outcome, but I’m sure it would have made the Priory look very ‘Christmasy’.
The architecture and stained glass windows of this medieval building is amazing and well worth the visit.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank OldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews