We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$118
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Engine Inn(Cartmel)
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
42
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace coursebreakfast was deliciousfew minutes walkmanicured gardenscan't recommend this place enoughan absolute delightfantastic hotelexcellent hostsstayed herelonger staycomfortable bedbiscuitsa wonderful stayone night staynothing is too much troublehigh standardshelley
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful one night stay here in August 2017. The guest house and gardens have been beautifully designed returning the building to it's Georgian glory with a modern touch. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by the family who work extremely effectively together. The terrace is a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of wine in the sunshine, with the racecourse visible across the road. The comfort of the bedroom and tasty breakfast made this an overall outstanding stay. Cartmell is a 3 minute walk which is a beautiful village with the famous sticky toffee pudding shop, numerous pubs (we particularly liked the Cavendish Arms) and fine dining, namely Rogan and Co and L'Enclume.

Room Tip: Racecourse view or fells view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CJB138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and everything about it was just perfect. The location was brilliant, right by the race course and only a stroll from the amenities in the heart of Cartmel. The room we stayed in was gorgeous and so comfortable. The staff were amazing. Shelley looked after us from the second we arrived, could not do more for us and is just the loveliest and best host we think we've ever had. We can't recommend this place enough and will definitely come back. Laura and Paul.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday 22nd July as we were attending the races. We travelled with my dad who had booked the hotel and we were slightly worried about what he had booked as there were no images anywhere online when he booked it. However, we had absolutely nothing to be worried about. Location, rooms, facilities, décor and grounds were all spot on, but what really makes this hotel stand out is the service and attention to detail. Shelley provided us with breakfast and drinks when we arrived early and our rooms weren’t ready and let us take over the reception area. We were also surprised with two complimentary bottles of Prosecco as it was a race day. We were offered to exchange these as I am pregnant and nothing was too much effort. When we came back from the races Shelley laid out some nibbles to accompany our Prosecco (and soft drink!) on the beautiful terrace overlooking the immaculate gardens and race course. We planned to walk into town but didn’t feel the need to as the location and set up we had at the hotel was so perfect! Breakfast the next morning rounded up the stay nicely as we were able to help ourselves to the continental selection and order from the hot menu with everything cooked to our liking.

We are already planning our return trip to Cartmel to visit L’Enclume and would never consider staying anywhere else. The place itself is amazing but Shelley and her family really do make the experience and couldn’t have been more hospitable, accommodating or welcoming. Have already recommended to friends and family and will definitely be returning as this is the best place we have ever stayed in the UK.

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooks the race course perfectly
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Prince_Albus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This hotel is lovely as are the family who own it. We booked for 1 night only and our second night was in a different hotel in Bowness, we wished we had booked the 2 nights at "The Old Grammar" and simply travelled for a day out to Bowness. We had a wonderful stay here. Shelley was amazing, always attentive making helpful suggestions of where to eat locally and where to visit in the surrounding area. The whole hotel is decorated beautifully, the rooms are comfortable, and our breakfast was lovely. The night we stayed was very warm and Shelley suggested my husband and I sit on the terrace with a cold bottle of wine, some nibbles and "Smooth" on the radio. Bliss! Thank you Shelley, and look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliesullivan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We stayed for a night to go to l'Enclume, having been a few times before and our usual hotel booked up we discovered this newly opened gem. Everything was perfect from the beautiful décor to the gorgeous breakfast. Having been lucky enough to stay in some high end hotels before, it was the thought out touches and details which impressed us - there is an overwhelming sense of quality and thought gone into the renovation of this beautiful house which overlooks the racecourse. Shelley & family went out their way to make us feel welcome and we wish them every success in their new venture. We will certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank roisinf12925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews