We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Village Pub”
Review of The Black Cock Inn

The Black Cock Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Cock Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Black Cock Inn Broughton In Furness Is A Lovely Low Beamed Country Pub In The Historical Town Of Broughton In Furness, Serving Locally Sourced Fresh Food, real ales wines beers alcoholic beverages & minerals. Consisting of 5 en-suite rooms, Sports Bar ,Pool Table ,Juke Box, Fruit Machine ,T.V, Beer Garden, real log fire, We Are A Family Friendly pub and give a warm welcome to all.
Reviewed 3 November 2018

Food OK, but not exceptional - traditional Gammon Steak missing from the menu! Waitress very helpful and friendly. Barman tended to favour locals when trying to order drinks - he took another order before ours when he knew we had been waiting to order longer twice. Have known thepub since 1950s, it has improved a little in the last year or so, but has not yet reached the standard it set in the early 2000s.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrRoger56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

My husband treated me to a weekend away and booked us a room here.

I have to say what a lovely amazing place. After a walk up Stridings Edge and Helvelyn we checked into a lovely little room. Clean, tidy, cosy and peacful. Just what was needed.

We resevered a table for food. A must. I didnt know what to expect as im a veggie and usually the same things on menus however ihave to say the food was fantastic. It has to be one of the best veggie burgers ive had since becoming a veggie. The sticky toffee was to die for.

The staff where so friendly encaging and coukdnt help enough.

Thank you for such a lovely location.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank G4128VOclaireb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Took our two Labradors in very dog friendly and welcoming. Had Thai mussels a massive plate full, hubby had curry he is a coeliac and was reassured that his choice was gluten free. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 387janen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Our party of 4 visited twice the first time food was excellent however on our second visit two of us ordered sirloin steak <medium rare> i steak was perfect the other steak was overcooked to medium .To round off the dinner i ordered whitr chocolatr/raspberry ice cream only to be told they had run out all in all a truly wonderful place to eat

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Footprints612996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Dinner was acceptable: bland ribs and fish and chips, where both the fish and chips could have been crisper. Service willing and friendly if without finesse. A sticky table top was irredeemably sticky, even after a wipe. But where was the management? My bill omitted the bottle of wine we had. When I told the graceless youth behind the bar, there was no gratitude for saving the house £15, just a complaint that my debit card was invalid. It was not. He had failed to put it in the machine. This was the Lake District at its most presumptious, that the restaurant will be full no matter what. But casual cooking, casual staff and casual attitudes can only result in a casually dreary experience. Does anyone at the Black Cock care? I doubt it.

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Cock Inn also viewed

Broughton Mills, Duddon Valley
Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley
 
Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley
Millom, Lake District
 
Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley
 

Been to The Black Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing