We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely views”

Swinside Stone Circle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 12 April 2018

what a fantastic relic in beautiful surroundings; much prettier than similar offerings down south that now has a major A road rumbling right passed it!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private farm"
in 2 reviews
"great view"
in 2 reviews
"half hour walk"
in 2 reviews
"sheep"
in 4 reviews
"track"
in 3 reviews
"camera"
in 2 reviews
"stonehenge"
in 2 reviews
"directions"
in 2 reviews
"lane"
in 2 reviews
"reference"
in 2 reviews
"field"
in 2 reviews
"miles"
in 2 reviews
"sense"
in 2 reviews
"hike"
in 2 reviews
"views"
in 4 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2018

A very wet trek, but worth seeing the stone circle. Amazing scenery very peaceful. Despite the rain we enjoyed the experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We walked to the stone circle from Baystone Bank Campsite. A great walk, which took a couple of hours. Although the ground was quite marshy underfoot. Lovely views and didn’t see another soul during the whole walk. There is permissive access, so we were able to sit inside the circle with the sheep, and stay for a brew! Some interesting derelict buildings nearer to the campsite. An enjoyable afternoon.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank HLShorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Yes, these are standing stones... nice stop on a walk up and around black beck and this lovely valley in the south lakes.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We were in the lake district and it was a bank holiday, packed with people.
So we came here It was a really neat and in the time we were there we only saw 2 other couples, a mail truck and a lot of sheep and sheep dropping. We drove almost there as we were unaware the road was a private farm road. The road does become a dirt road.

The circle itself is in perfect shape and you can walk among the stones at much as you care to. My Camera gave a geo reference of 54°16'57" N 3°16'27" W
using google you can plot your course.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank allgoodnamesgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swinside Stone Circle also viewed

Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley
Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley
 
Millom, Lake District
Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Swinside Stone Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing