We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit ”

Swinside Stone Circle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We walked to the stone circle from Baystone Bank Campsite. A great walk, which took a couple of hours. Although the ground was quite marshy underfoot. Lovely views and didn’t see another soul during the whole walk. There is permissive access, so we were able to sit inside the circle with the sheep, and stay for a brew! Some interesting derelict buildings nearer to the campsite. An enjoyable afternoon.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank HLShorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private farm"
in 2 reviews
"great view"
in 2 reviews
"half hour walk"
in 2 reviews
"sheep"
in 4 reviews
"track"
in 3 reviews
"camera"
in 2 reviews
"stonehenge"
in 2 reviews
"directions"
in 2 reviews
"lane"
in 2 reviews
"reference"
in 2 reviews
"field"
in 2 reviews
"miles"
in 2 reviews
"sense"
in 2 reviews
"hike"
in 2 reviews
"views"
in 4 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Yes, these are standing stones... nice stop on a walk up and around black beck and this lovely valley in the south lakes.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We were in the lake district and it was a bank holiday, packed with people.
So we came here It was a really neat and in the time we were there we only saw 2 other couples, a mail truck and a lot of sheep and sheep dropping. We drove almost there as we were unaware the road was a private farm road. The road does become a dirt road.

The circle itself is in perfect shape and you can walk among the stones at much as you care to. My Camera gave a geo reference of 54°16'57" N 3°16'27" W
using google you can plot your course.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank allgoodnamesgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

If you've only got a road map, the stone circle is there, but it's not clear where it is exactly. It's a sense of triumph when you work out where it's hidden away, and hike up the path to find it. I'd never heard of it before, but I'm a sucker for a stone circle; we arrived there early evening in the pouring rain, and had the place to ourselves. Utterly wonderful and magical.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank mindilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

The title comes from stone circle author, Aubrey Burl, and he is right. Swinside is remote, and requires an effort to get there, but it is beautiful, almost complete and totally atmospheric. I have been there many times, this time for astro-photography, and I have always been the only one there. Castlerigg and Keswick need their tourists, but what a delight it is to enjoy the beauty and peace of Swinside on your own. For budding astro-photographers, the sky gets pretty dark, but there are numerous glow-spots depending on which way you point the camera.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank 186565David_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swinside Stone Circle also viewed

Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley
Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley
 
Millom, Lake District
Broughton in Furness, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Swinside Stone Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing