We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The stone Bothy (for separate hire when taking the main house)
Welcome Hamper
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I got married at st catherines church in october and me and my family rented church house for the week. It was amazing, they had thought of everything. What a lovely location can't think of anywhere better. The house itself is stunning, very sympathetically restored with modern touches where appropriate. A comfortable and cosy place to enjoy this beautiful part of the lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and solid fuel range for cooking.
Liked least: Became a bit smoky when open fire lit in living room - I think chimney may need a clean...I'm a smoker so didn't really notice that much but other members of the family found it a bit much...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
From 17th -21st November Church house is having a routine maintenance check. New 300 thread count linen and towels will be provided. Both chimney flues in the house were relined using 'lime-crete'; a very messy but necessary process as part of the complete renovation. One of the engineer from the company who did the work is paying us a visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OMG. What a lovely place. In more ways than one!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have stayed in quite a few cottages etc throughout the UK over the years. They have generally ranged from good to very good. In our view Church House is by far the best and deserves an excellent rating.
There was clearly no expense spared during the renovation and equipping of the house. This theme continues with the little touches like all washing materials, welcome pack with a bottle of bubbly and as many logs you would need for the fire and oven as you would ever need.
I suppose anybody can add the little touches above but what really makes Church House stand out is its charm, quirkiness and location. As soon as I walked into the place I felt an odd mixture of excitement and relaxation at the same time. What's that about?? I was still exploring the odd nooks and crannies several hours after arrival. I even found an old battered 'Mrs Beetons Cookbook' with hand written recipes in it for christ's sake!!
The location is also ideal, you can go on walks from the front door for 10 minutes or 10 hours, from easy river walks to strenuous mountain walks. The easiest walk is 5 minutes to the nearest pub which offers above than average pub food and very friendly staff. Plus 150 whisky's! That is of course if you can drag yourself away from Church House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarmerGeo...
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning house in a superb location, idyllic break”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The website does not do this property justice!! What a beautiful house in such a wonderfully peaceful location. I can't recommend this property highly enough in order to get away from the day to day hustle and bustle of life. There are several great places to walk to as well as local eateries where everyone is friendly and accommodating. Thanks to everyone involved for making the stay so easy and enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fires and stunning views
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestburyT...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing retreat”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Wonderful cottage in great location, amazing decor, a beautiful escape! What a relaxing break in lovely surroundings. Every thing you could need and more. Open fire and stunning kitchen range, rib of beef never tasted so good.
Local pub has good food and a lovely welcome from all the staff. Easy walk to the pub and fantastic longer walks from the cottage door. Would love to return in summer to take advantage of the lovely garden.
The owners have thought of everything, no one could be disappointed with this cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hezzz
1 review
“Outstanding cottage in a great location for the non "touristy" area of the Lakes”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Well what can I say, what an absolute fantastic property!! From the moment we arrived to the morning we left our stay was nothing short of amazing. You have done a great job of restoring the cottage and we wanted for absolutely nothing. The kitchen had everything we needed, all cleaning products on hand, as much fuel as we could burn in the bunker (and we did burn a fair share!) The views, the pubs, the atmosphere and basically everything about it oozed class. The cottage was booked for my 40th birthday and both family and friends who stayed all left impressed and saying they'd like to return individually!

So yes it's fair to say I\we enjoyed our stay in the cottage and already looking for a return visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing