We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place with brilliant food”

The Boot Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Boot
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Boot Inn nestles in the tiny hamlet of Boot, deep in the heart of the Eskdale Valley. Within easy walking distance of The English Lake Districts largest and most majestic fells, yet only 7 miles from the sea. We provide first class food, drink and accommodation with nine letting bedrooms, bar, conservatory and snug areas, we also have ample car parking and a large beer garden. The inn itself has been catering for the hungry and thirsty travellers since the 17th century, offering a selection of traditionally kept cask ales, fine wines, sprits, continental beers, soft drinks and excellent food. At the Boot Inn we endeavour to source as many of our ingredients and most of our produce locally including the almost legendary cumberland sausages. Everybody is welcome including our four legged friends. With real log fires for those chilly autumn, winter or even summer days, a warm welcome is always guaranteed. The valley provides a wealth of opportunity for outdoor activity with Scafell, Great Gable, Harter Fell, Bowfell, Crinkle Crags and many others all within walking distance without having to cross a single road! Cyclists can pitt themselves against the Hardknott and Wrynose passes, the steepest section of road in England leading to the Duddon Valley and Langdale.Plus we are directly on the coast to coast mountain bike route and have secure bike storage available. For those of a more spiritual and historical interest there is to be found the remains of a Roman Fort in the upper reaches of the valley and the beautiful 14th century church of St Catherines only a short stroll away. Slightly further afield attractions such as Muncaster Castle and Eskdale Golf Course are close by.
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

What a hidden gem! Loved it here, great ambience and delicious food. Really lovely atmosphere and the specials menu was fantastic. Can highly recommend stopping by!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Bexandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2021

I've had 2 evening meals here: there's an interesting menu with a few unusual dishes and good options for gluten-free diets. The food has been excellent and the staff are very hospitable and friendly. Definitely recommended!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank miguelhugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

We have just returned from a week in Boot with the in laws and the food at The Boot Inn was incredible!! We have been visiting Boot for over 10 years (2/3 times a year) and think of ourselves as locals so have some knowledge of the place.
The owners Stuart and Anita are passionate about the food they cook and it shows. Best beef cheek and home made curries not to mention the cheesecake. The service from the bar staff is second to none. Deano and the team are simply excellent.
You also feel very Covid safe here which was important for the in laws as they are vulnerable. So all in all a huge well done to everyone at this pub we can't wait to return.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KiranR105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

Fantastic inn with a great drinks selection and classic tasty food. They were really accommodating for a big group and catered a veggie meal for me. The staff are soo lovely it made the trip even better! We’ll definitely be coming back. Thanks to all the staff for a great experience!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

Popped in for a post walk pint and took a chance on a booking! A popular spot that gets booked up, but they found room for us in the 5-7 slot. Great range of food and drinks, extensive specials board (just don't try to sneak a peak before its ready at 5!) and excellent service - Well worth a visit (book ahead!)

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank BenAndDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Boot Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Boot Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.