We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wrynose Cottage

Boot village beneath Scafell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boot village beneath Scafell
Wrynose cosy living room Sleep well after a day out on the fells!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Boot village beneath Scafell
Wrynose cosy living room
Sleep well after a day out on the fells!
Newly fitted bathroom with slipper bath and separate shower
Wrynose living room
Wrynose romantic bedroom
Brand new slipper bath
Wrynose Cottage Bedroom
Afternoon tea in our gardens beside the river, looking out on the fells
Boot Village Signpost
Ride on the Ratty - Dalegarth Station is a mere 400m walk from the cottages
Devoke Water
St Catherine's church, Boot village
Wastwater, England's deepest lake
Eskdale Mill, England's oldest working mill, adjacent to our cottages
La'al Ratty! Eskdale and Ravenglass Narrow Gauge Steam Railway
Doctor Bridge over the River Esk
St Bee's beach
Exploring the Roman ruins of Hardknott Fort
Surreal Sunset at Whitehaven Port
Hardknott Roman Fort, situated at the top of the Eskdale Valley
Lingcove Bridge in the Upper Esk Valley
Cycle along the Eskdale Trail
Walking boots airing on our pink granite dry stone walls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JOGANY
New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Wrynose cottage for 2 nights in July 2017.
Pros: Great get away. They were very kind to send shirts that I left behind by mail. Great communication. Wonderful hiking from the house. Charming village (or old houses) with 2 traditional British restaurants just minutes away. A quick drive will get you to breathtaking lakes nearby. Nice backyard to have lunch outside.
Cons: Very tiny living room, small kitchen and and a cramped bedroom upstairs. Hardly a place to move around with the suitcases. Became a little claustrophobic. They said there was wifi but the signal was so weak we had to walk outside 20 yards away to the washing machine room where the wifi router was. The other occupants of the adjacent cottages were also doing the same. Rather expensive for what you get. Unlikely to return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Thank you for your honesty. Coming from America I imagine you found it hard to get used to a charming quaint grade 2 Listed historic English cottage. Historic cottages require a lot of upkeep and maintenance and are therefore often more expensive to rent than a newly built property. Since your visit the kitchen has been renewed with more space saving ideas and better lighting both natural and electric. The living room has all new honey oak Karndean flooring and a brand new sumptuous Italian leather sofa and this gives the sense of more space. We are rearranging some of the bedroom furniture to make more space but yours is the first comment that we have had about size and like we said above, I imagine you have enormous bedrooms in America. The wi fi in Boot has been a challenge as we are in the mountains and there is no fibre optic cable. Occasionally the service is intermittent or there are engineers working on the lines at the weekend. This might have happened the weekend you were there. We have spent a huge amount of time and money finding and implementing a solution as we recognise how important wi fi is for guests. We now have three lines providing the highest available band width internet for our guests and with 3 lines, if there is a fault or intermittent supply on one, there are still two additional hubs that can be used by our guests. We pride ourselves in our customer care and that extends to sending the shirts left behind back to you in America. Kind regards, from the Select Cottages team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a weekend break at Wrynose Cottage. The cottage was spotlessly clean, warm and inviting. With great walks on the doorstep we didn't move the car until the day we left. The Boot Inn and Brook House Hotel are within an easy walk and both offer great food, beers and hospitality. The wifi at the cottage was a great bonus as mobile reception is non-existent. All dealings with Select Cottages have been very prompt and helpful. We also met the couple who look after the cottages on site and they were really great. Would highly recommend and would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the cottage, the great walks and friendly pubs. How wonderful you didn't move the car till the day you left. We suggest to guests to park up and not move the car and explore the area on foot or using the steam train. This so often is an added bonus for our guests. Simply not having to get in the car to drive to attractions, walks, pubs etc is part of the relaxation. It's all there in Boot and the glorious Eskdale Valley. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes from the team at Select Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0111690
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage was amazing as were the views, just what I was looking for, will defintaly be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
We are delighted you liked the cottage and views and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards from the Select Cottages team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart29
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great little place located in a terrace that includes the other cottages let by the same owner. Lovely setting, only 50yards from the Boot Inn and another pub only two mins further.

The cottage is very well equipped with a lovely stand-alone bath and separate shower, small but we'll set out kitchen and a nice room upstairs.

Parking at the cottages is tight, but no problem.

The owner is very helpful - an item we left was posted to us as soon as we asked them to have a look for it.

We used the cottage as a base for a birthday weekend away and to cycle the Wrynose and Hardknott passes, for which it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Dear Stuart,

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed the birthday celebrations and your time with us. We are most impressed you managed to cycle up (and down!) Wrynose and Hardknott passes, you certainly took on a tough, but no doubt rewarding challenge there, it's definitely not for the fainthearted!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo P
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage in an amazing location”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage last summer to explore the Lake District. Boot is a great location and we were able to walk direct from the cottage on a number of walks in different directions. The pub (which is literally 'two doors down' the road) serves good food and is a lovely local pub to grab a drink at the end of your walk. There is also plenty to see around Boot with Eskdale Mill next door, St Catherine's Church, Stanley Ghyll Force and Hard Knot Pass / Fort not too far. The Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway is great - we spent the day in Ravenglass. Scafell Pike is also very close.
The cottage itself was lovely - fine for 2 people. Cosy living room with table for dining - and kitchen with everything you need. Parking was tight (luckily I have a small car!) but enough spaces for all the cottages. There is a garden behind the cottages with BBQ facilities and a stream running down the bottom, with great views of the hills above you.
Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2018
Thank you for your lovely review and for highly recommending us. The location is indeed amazing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing