We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT HOLIDAY HOUSE”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Spacious Garden
Stunning view of Black Combe near to Bank Springs
Garden Area.
Layriggs Beach, Kirksanton
Looking across The Duddon Estuary onto Black Combe
Ulpha  Bridge
Herdwick Sheep on the Local Duddon Valley Fells
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirksanton, Millom, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
taztortoi...
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT HOLIDAY HOUSE”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Bank Springs in August and had a great week. The house was very spacious and had everything you need, an added bonus was having a second living room where our 2 children aged 11 & 12 could go and watch alternative tv programmes or play on games etc, we also enjoyed the ping pong table. There are lots of great places to visit nearby...our favourite being South Lakes Animal park,,, Haverigg beach ( sandy and clean) was also a hit with us as it had loos, childrens play area and cafe, it was only a short distance away. There is a pub within walking distance ( be careful as there are no footpaths) that did lovely food and the steaks were amazing! Our son loved watching the tractor and our daughter wanted to adopt Rosie the resident donkey.... we had a great time and will definately go back as there was still plenty of places to visit in the area. Thank you to Lorraine & family x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Space to chill out!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAD63
somerset, uk
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“FAB holiday and amazing views from the cottage”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Spring Banks cottage for a weeks holiday end of September. The cottage is in a lovely setting with views of Black Combe from all the front windows. We hadn't realised when we booked the cottage how big it is and enjoyed exploring all the rooms on arrival.
2 double beds and 4 single beds. We opted to use the main bedroom with ensuite and fantastic views. As we weren't overlooked we kept the curtains open to enjoy the views when we woke up. So peaceful we slept like lambs.
The cottage also has two sitting rooms which was great for my husband to watch the sports whilst I relaxed in the other room with the open fire reading my book. Fantastic.
The kitchen/dining room is large and has everything you will need to prepare a meal. We opted to eat in for 3 nights of our holiday and ate our 4 nights trying out local pubs.
It was lovely have the small garden out front with table and chairs to enjoy in the morning whilst feeding the resident donkey Rosie who loved carrots and apples and often was waiting for us when we came out of the cottage or a call and she came running. The adjacent field is also full of sheep.
There is also a back yard area again with table and chairs and a sun trap in the afternoon. Which we were lucky with the weather to be able to sit outside after a day out enjoying a glass of wine topping up our tans.
The tower behind the cottage is lived in by the brother in law of the owners and on hand should you need him or to get hold of Lorraine.
The house is a little dated but well suited to the cottage and we found it very cosy and had a brilliant holiday.
Totally recommend climbing up Black Combe and enjoying the views, you will see the sea and also Spring Banks.
Lovely sunsets in the evening and we often went into the field adjoining the cottage and up the hill and took some amazing shots.
Highly recommend this cottage for both couples and families.
Lorraine was a pleasure to deal with from the moment we enquired about the cottage until we departed.
Lovely touch the wine/chocolates and flowers awaiting our arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic views from the cottage
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, relaxing place to stay.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our thanks to Lorraine for providing us with such a lovely base for our Lakeland holiday. The accommodation was more than we could have expected for the price. Situated in stunning countryside with commanding views of Black Combe, it is a joy just to sit in the spacious grounds and unwind. I would highly recommend Bank Spring's for anyone who needs to escape the rat race and relax. Middle of nowhere but within easy reach of all the attractions that the lakes have to offer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keakeedee
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous - will come back, for longer I hope!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this cottage, and it really made our stay! The cottage is very cosy and homely, with all you could need for a very comfortable stay, and plenty of space to explore, inside and out.

The communication from Lorraine was fantastic, and any problems were resolved quickly and easily. We were treat to a lovely, thoughtful welcome - giving our stay the perfect start.

The area is lovely - with plenty to explore, and pubs that are well worth a visit, and serve great food. You have fells on the doorstep, and are not too far from the bigger mountains of the Lakes too.

We will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaBr...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Could not recommend this place enough! There was a group of us that went for my Birthday and we are all still buzzing. Really good value for money and we will definitely be coming back, for longer next time! The location of the property is perfect a quiet weekend away and the views are simply stunning. Lorraine is such a pleasure to speak to and helped with any queries I had! Thank you again for such a lovely experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$195
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing