We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“charming cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“charming cosy cottage”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The cottage is just off the main street in Alston and just a few steps away from a spar shop & one of the four pubs.the view from the rear of the cottage if beautiful with the hills & a river running near by & a large playing field .we stayed for Christmas which was lovely especially with the log fires burning.would certainly stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay in Granville House and we would love to welcome you and your family to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val O
Formby
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky cottage”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were a party of 8 who stayed over August bank holiday weekend. Loved the cottage and the village. Perfect position with fantastic views. The cottage was plenty big enough for all of us. Very clean on arrival and there was everything you could need for a 4 night stay. Beds were very comfy and the basement gamesroom was a real bonus. The aga was a bit of a challenge to start with but we soon got used to it. Alston is a gorgeous place and is well placed to get to Hexham, the lakes, Penrith etc etc. Would definitely definitely stay again. Just a lovely place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
Thank you for your review Val, we're glad that you and your family had a lovely time in Alston. We hope to see you back in the North East soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aoc1973
Cleadon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Lovely comfortable stay!”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed with husband and 2 children,
Facilities very good, great shower, comfy beds & wonderful fire!
Everything we needed was within walking distance and couldn't fault a thing!
Many thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flora M
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It had a sauna. . .”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

It's lovely, clean, and easy to get to.
The views are amazing.
I enjoyed our stay however I would have liked it to be less cluttered however this is just personal prefrence. There's just too much stuff. It could also do with a lick of paint in the lounge and a chimney sweep, there is smoke damage on the right hand side of the chimney and the agar is not very hot. I must say there is a small oven provided on the side.

The bath towels could be bigger to.

The house is warm which was the biggest bonus and the shower in the main bedroom is beautiful, I so wanted to take it home with me. There is a sauna randomly. I hope they could get a hot tub outside that would be a bonus.

The spa and coop are in walking distance. Please bring board games for adults and there is a basement with a pool table for kids or adults. The boys loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: upstairs shower and sauna
Liked least: towels. i am a size10 and couldnt wrap towel around me
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Lovely half term break”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

great cellar room with dart board and pool table the bar is very good down there. Lovely comfy beds great fire in lounge great view of mountains from dining room and kitchen great location with the spar and co op near by really enjoyed my stay 8 people in total went and every one of us said we will go there again and we will

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cellar with pool table and dart board
Liked least: toilet in cellar was dirty and damp
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing