We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing beautiful fabulous place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Broadmea Barn

Broadmea Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Broadmea Barn
Broadmea Barn and Stable Outdoor seating Broadmea Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Broadmea Barn
Broadmea Barn and Stable
Outdoor seating Broadmea Barn
Broadmea Barn
Kitchen and Dining
Broadmea Barn
Kitchen and Dining
Broadmea Barn
Kitchen/Dining
Broadmea Barn 
Seating for 12 to 16
Broadmea Barn
Broadmea Barn
Gallery 1
Broadmea Barn 
Gallery 1
Broadmea Barn 
View across to Gallery 2
Broadmea Barn 
Gallery 2
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 1
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 1
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 1
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 2
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 3
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 4 with en suite shower room.
Broadmea Barn
en suite shower room
Bedroom 4
Broadmea Barn
Bedroom 5
Broadmea Barn
Bathroom 4 with sauna
Broadmea Barn
Bathroom 3
Broadmea Barn
Quality white towels and fresh linens provided.
Broadmea Barn and Stable
Broadmea Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lindseyol...
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing beautiful fabulous place”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I cant say enough about this place, stayed here at the weekend with a group on ten ladies on a surprise 40th birthday. The barn itself is 5 star plus its equipped with every single thing you could possibly need (we made a three course meal for 10) and everything was there to do this. The place is amazing all the girls were blown away by how beautiful it is. Gorgeous little garden to sit in, amazing bedrooms with lovely bathrooms, lots of little snugs to sit in and enjoy a glass of wine. On the night of our party we had a disco with very loud music and disco lights we just kept the windows closed to keep the noise in and we had no problems at all. Trish who is the owner is a lovely American lady who is so friendly and so non intrusive she welcomed us when we arrived and we didn't see her until we checked out on the Monday although she is on site if you did need anything, Anyone looking to hold a large group weekend look no further you will not be disappointed it truly is a beautiful place xx

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: every single thing
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thank you very much, this is a glowing review. Your comments are lovely and I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you and I do hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake_MD
Perth
1 review
“Fantastic property and super location”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in the Barn with our large extended family and 2yr old. It is a beautiful barn conversion done to a 5* standard. It is extremely well kitted out, especially the kitchen and our stay was very comfortable. The split levels with upper maisonette and then upper lounge actually worked really well (even with a toddler on the stairs -stair gates provided if needed) meaning that those who wanted their own space at times could sneak away for a quiet moment but still feel part of the group due to the open plan layout. The lounge was huge with comfy sofas and armchairs. Lovely outdoor seating area with BBQ and big hallway fir all the coays and boots. Grandad enjoyed fishing on the privately owned stretcg of the river. Daddy went out on his bike lots (storage for bikes was arranged at the priperty) as many great cycle paths and walks right from the door which the dogs enjoyed. Lovely local pub with great food (kirkstyle inn). Hope to go back in the future and perhaps also hire the stables adjoining the barn as this has lower level lounge and disabled access suitable for great grandparents!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thanks for leaving such an excellent review of Broadmea Barn. Future guests will benefit from your description and lovely comments of not only the accommodation but also the many outdoor activities to enjoy as well.
Wonderful to hear that you would like to return and rent The Stable as well. It would be a pleasure to have you stay again. If I can help with dates do let me know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fisherrrr
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic accommodation.”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Hired both the barn and stable with 15 friends to celebrate a couple of birthdays this weekend. Upon arrival the owner was extremely helpful and welcoming. Both buildings are to an exceptional standard, we were blown away by the stunning condition and attention to detail. Very spacious, comfortable beds, brilliant kitchen and dining area, very nice bathrooms, plenty bedding and towels! Also quality living areas for chilling and having food and drinks. Unfortunately the weather was freezing so we couldn't take advantage of the outdoor seating area and bbq. The kitchen was a pleasure to cook in, quality cooker and hob, two fridges, dishwasher, freezer, wine cooler etc etc. Really good sound system we hope we didn't take too much advantage of later on in the day (haha). Will definitely be coming back, all 15 of us had a memorable weekend, will recommend to anyone. Thanks very much, see you again Trish.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you! Really kind of you to leave such a glowing review. I'm pleased you had a great weekend and everyone enjoyed their stay. Do come back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris O
1 review
“Most excellent”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our extended family of 12 have just returned from a weeks stay at Broadmea Barn, a beautiful holiday home which was a pleasure to stay in. Our hosts Trish and Paul gave us all a warm welcome. The rooms are cosy and spacious, the beds are warm and very comfortable. There is lots to see and do in the area, we visited Hadriens Wall, Carlisle Castle, Walby farm park (for the kids) and Beamish museum, there are lots of walks close by and the scenery this time of year was most beautiful. The restaurant The Kirkstyle Inn is a must, delicious food beside a roaring fire was very welcoming. We would highly recommend Broadmea barn and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and open planning.
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Very kind of you to leave such a lovely review. Future guests will appreciate the information you have shared. It was our pleasure having you to stay and we hope you will return again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
52Annab5
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular accommodation and location”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stay in the Barn and attached accommodating that sleeps an extra 6. Mixed group including children, young people in their 20s and the rest of us around 50. Very high standard of accommodation with excellent facillities. Fantastic for groups as large communal dinning with a variety of seating areas on three levels. Allowing groups to be together or engage in differtent activities in different areas. Of real value to a large group. Tv lounge right at the top with ample seating. Sauna an enjoyable feature for the group. Wi fi available but not consistent (the location) mobile signals hit and miss as you would expect. Very good cooking, diswashing, storage, and laundry facilities. Fridges and a freezer and a wine fridge! Everything to a high specification. Not suitable to wheelchair users as on several levels but if you can mobilise out of your chair and cope with some stairs you will be ok as I was. Alston the town 5 miles away is gorgeous. Beautiful shops and places to eat Food in Angel Inn very good. Be warned though for those with mobility issues very hilly with cobbled roads. Not at all wheelchair friendly. A must visit if you are staying in Broardmea though we went a number of times as we liked it so much. Steam rail ride worth a go too. Owners at Broadmea very nice and helpful. We want to go again we loved it!

Overall condition of the property Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High spec of accommodation
Liked least: Some mattresses ready for replacing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing