We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit ”

South Tynedale Railway
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Alston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come for a ride on the North of England’s double gold award winning narrow gauge railway winding from Alston into the South Tyne Valley in the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Our trains are hauled by steam, diesel or battery electric locos and all have a fascinating history. Both of our restored stations at Alston and Slaggyford house a café, ticket office and gift shop. At Alston you can explore our Discovery Centre and visit the viewing gallery above our engineering workshop. Most areas of the site are accessible and there are large car parks at Alston and Slaggyford.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Visited for the first time with my family and we had a lovely afternoon on the narrow gauge railway.Alston station is pristine with a lovely gift shop there's a cafe too where we had a lovely late lunch serving hot and cold meals tea coffee and homemade cakes. The station has good toilet facilities very clean and there is a really good disabled toilet. My mother commented on how good it was. The station at Alston has full disabled access with a disabled access coach you can get a chair on as they provide ramps. My mam didn't need to use that though as the train is level with the platform and she was able to walk on easily and we stored her wheelchair at the back of the open carriage .All staff which are volunteers are so nice and friendly nothing is any trouble and they will advise you well on where you want to go. The train carriage has wooden bench seats and there is plenty of leg room. The journey to Slaggyford is very scenic and on a red hot day like today it was lovely travelling slowly through the countryside taking in the scenery with a cool breeze coming in through the open carriage. On reaching slaggyford again this station is pristine it has water bowls for dogs and a buffet car transformed into a little cafe where you can get a drink and a snack. There's also good toilet facilities
There's a good path back to Alston so if you want to walk back or half way n pick up the train at another station then you can. We will definately return and will recommend the railway to others.

1  Thank kh1354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events Team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review. We're so pleased that you found everything clean and tidy and that your Mum was able to access everything easily. Do come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"alston station"
in 21 reviews
"narrow gauge"
in 7 reviews
"lovely trip"
in 6 reviews
"steam engine"
in 6 reviews
"waiting room"
in 3 reviews
"branch line"
in 3 reviews
"return journey"
in 4 reviews
"lovely scenery"
in 5 reviews
"tea and cake"
in 4 reviews
"ticket office"
in 6 reviews
"level walk"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"disabled access"
in 3 reviews
"lovely afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"buffet car"
in 8 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 4 reviews
"excellent cafe"
in 3 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We visited in June after the last time we was in Alston. The railway was closed in January, all the staff was very nice and the cafe was very good, we even took our dog on the train, for a small charge

Thank 946kierand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events Team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review. We love meeting all our doggy visitors as well as our human ones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful day’s adventure on this narrow gauge railway, a very well kept station at Alston easy to park and an excellent cafe for refreshments prior to the journey
Extremely friendly staff and the customer service was excellent
The journey was very relaxing and the stunning scenery made a perfect summers day outing
The new station at Slaggyford was impressive and very good use of lottery funding
Such a hot day the Diesel Locomotive gave up the ghost on the return journey and we were rescued by another locomotive making this even more of an adventure - bottles of water provided and complementary coffee back at the cafe
I would highly recommend this railway journey and big thank you to the staff and volunteers for a great day

Thank NeilZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events Team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you very much for leaving the review and for understanding about our poorly loco; as you say the heat was just too much for poor Naworth. So pleased you enjoyed your adventurous day with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Visited the south Tyneside railway for the first time.From the moment we stepped on the platform at Alston station we were made most welcome. The knowledgeable staff told us about the railway,and in particular the engine driver took time to describe the controls.Before setting off we endulged in a lovely cup of tea and an excellent bacon roll from platform cafe. A lovely journey through the valley with an opportunity to walk the 5 miles and catch the train back there were intermediate stations if you didn't want to walk all the way to slaggford. At slaggford there was a lovely buffet carriage with friendly staff and a nice cup of tea and some pineapple and ginger cake(lovely and moist).Then it's back to Alston station for an excellent lunch.Can recommend the steak and wine pie and also the chicken skewers with homemade mint dip.The cafe staff were friendly and happy with there singing. It may have been the odor from the gin and tonic cake.A great day made even better by great staff. Excellent toilet facilities at both ends of the journey.

Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events Team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thanks for writing this very entertaining review and as for the fumes from the gin and tonic cake ....we couldn't possibly comment!!! We hope you coem back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

First off, didn't actually ride the train....however......!!!

We arrived with the intention to. We were cycling the route that runs along side the track. The train will take bikes.

The station at Alston is beautifully presented and the train looks wonderful.

The route runs to Slaggyford and is easily ridden on a bike if you choose not to train.

Once at Slaggyford the fixed buffet car offers coffee and cake. We stopped for a brew and were very happy with this.

We hear there are plans to extend the railway which would be superb.

Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events Team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review and pleased you had a good cycle ride along the South Tyne Trail. Do come and see us again and maybe experience the train ride too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Tynedale Railway also viewed

 

Been to South Tynedale Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing