We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a week away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
monopodia
Kingston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a week away”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very sensibly renovated cottage with accommodation ideal for a couple who want to explore the very beautiful and unspoilt North Pennines AONB - well deserving of the acronym.

The cottage is situated in the middle of Alston, a small market town. The town is charming, could have been used for the Hovis ad, cobbled streets etc. Plenty of very good pubs serving excellent beer and pub grub (we liked "The Angel", a stone's throw from the cottage).

The accommodation comprises a large open plan sitting room and sensible galley kitchen on the ground floor, with a large double bedroom and a decent bathroom on the second floor.

All very clean,cosy and well equipped, can't fault it, would happily go back again.

The owner is happy for pets to stay (not in the bedroom), and we went with our dog (who also apparently much enjoyed the fresh air and day long walks).

Thank you Mrs Duncan, we enjoyed our stay very much.

A few words to the wise - there is good mobile coverage in Alston, but not in the surrounding area. Outside term time there are no local buses - we took a very nice 11 mile ramble to the Lamley viaduct up the Pennine Way, picnic etc en route, with the intention of calling a cab for the return trip - but then lobster potted with no signal for my mobile provider ("3"), so had to walk home again... Better for such prospective 1-way walks to get the cab out and to then walk home ... cab numbers are posted outside the town hall/tourist information centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Local countryside
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeessideA...
Teesside
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just back from a week's stay at King's Cottage in Alston. What a fantastic little spot. The cottage is ideal, in a fabulous location close to both the town and the country. It's dog friendly, so we could take our hound with us. King's Cottage has one bedroom, yet is quite spacious. The lounge area is big and has two good sized sofas. The kitchen is well equipped and made all the more welcoming with a homemade cake and tea tray waiting when we arrived, which was a lovely touch. There is plenty of local information available, including a book of local walks which are all on the doorstep. There's plenty to see in walking distance, including the waterfall just a few minutes down the lane. It's a lovely spot for a quiet getaway to recharge and escape the rat race.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like it was ours
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaygeeIre...
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here from 5th to 13th Sept 2014 and had a brilliant time. The cottage was excellent, there was everything you could need. It was just like being at home. Val, the owner was extremely helpful and had the place spotless. Her mum even made us a lovely tea cake. I can thoroughly recommend this place. Alston itself is a lovely market town with a good few shops in it. Be prepared to walk up some hills though as the streets are quite hilly. I can really say that this was one of the loveliest places we have stayed for a long time. The weather was great too so that made it all the better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mal b
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

very comfortable cottage in a quiet location but only two or three minutes walk to village centre and pubs.
fantastic countryside

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Reviewed 16 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing