We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subatomic portions of food disguised.”
Review of The Pomeroy Inn

The Pomeroy Inn
Ranked #41 of 73 Restaurants in Amersham
Price range: US$11 - US$31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Your friendly 4 gold star country pub with rooms, we’re here to give you a true taste of the great British outdoors. Serving real ales, locally-sourced seafood and seasonal game in our 2 AA rosette awarded restaurant, whether you’re catching up with friends in our bar, settling down for a traditional Sunday lunch or enjoying a delicious country escape – come and soak up some country life with us.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quantum mechanics (QM) is the part of physics that tells how the things that make up atoms work. Quantum mechanics helps make sense of the smallest things in nature like protons, neutrons and electrons which behave very strangely at these Sunni corn levels.

The layman can experience the beauty and mystery of QM at the Pomeroy for £5.95 when you order the Apple and Blackberry Crumble. Yes, we all know what a crumble looks like so be prepared for the Pomeroy Crumble... It arrived on a fancy board and consisted of two novelty saucepans. These aesthetics are designed to distract you from the microscopic nature of the crumble and the accompanying custard. Localisation of this subatomic dessert as predicted by QM proved to be almost impossible even using even the finest electron or x-Ray microscopy. Determination of its probable location in space and time was best achieved by interacting with it using suitable apparatus - a fork. Please see figure above. Insertion of the fork onto the quantum crumble allowed us to measure the depth which we estimated to be 2-3mm +/- 1mm. The probable volume = πr2h at 30mls +/- 5mls. Quantum tunnelling of the crumble through the walls of saucepan made more precise measurements impossible due to uncertainty principle. Remember, this is a not a limitation of our apparatus but there is only so much we can ultimately know about the size and location of such small entities in the universe. Like all quantum particles it was not around for long and average time to evacuate the saucepan in the final course was about 10 nanoseconds.

Jokes aside, order the fish finger sandwich costing £8.95 and underneath the two catering supplied artificial tasting baps and you're presented with what look like rather generous fish finger but on cutting into it there are small slithers of cod, a fraction of what you'd find in a supermarket fish finger, encased in a bloated air-filled batter.

The young waitresses couldn't be more miserable if they tried especially the tall one and the one with reddish hair. Apathy, disinterest and no matter how polite and smiley one could be, there was zero chance of drawing so much as flicker from the flat facial affect. It felt like they were doing you a favour when you asked to move a table a few inches. If you don't want to be there and are irritated by customers then it's time to look for a new job.

A young male waiter was very helpful and demonstrated the attitude and warmth required and cherished. A breath of fresh air and will go far with that solid work ethic.

The tactics of presenting minuscule paediatric amounts of food in fancy containers or disguised as looking more generous than it really is both shameful and a disgusting in this day and age. This is far from Michelin star food using the finest ingredients but they steal and misuse the technique to flog and disguise pitiful portions of mediocre cooking.


.

Thank a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Pomeroy. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We went there for Sunday evening meal on Mothers Day as lunchtime was fully booked. Food was not very warm, my soup was barely edible because it was not far off cold. But we had waited so long for our table and then for our order to be taken (despite booking and there were empty tables!) we put up with it. Either they were grossly understaffed or something is wrong here. We won't be returning until these reviews get a whole load better.

Thank garySI2146VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

We regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 01494 766845 to speak to our manager directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

We had a nice evening food was ok 7 out of 10 we decided
The lamb koftas were very nice but the pizza was average. The highlight was the mini apple and blackberry crumble and custard with coffee, very yummy.
What let it down was the very badly lit car park and the overflowing ash trays and bins just outside the front door! Someone needs to tidy up the entrance, 1st impressions and all that!!!

Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at The Pomeroy, but will take this opportunity to improve. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01494 766845 to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Having reviewed the Pomeroy twice before, first having noticed the standards were dropping then after a refurbishment and new staff it had greatly improved. Over recent visits we had noticed once again the general service was dropping yet again.
On dinining with friends last night, we were initially surprised at how few people were there especially as it was a Friday night.

I first noticed that the chair I was sitting on had food stains all over the seat pad, and then became quite concerned about the regidity, and discovered all four legs on the chair were loose.

We all gave in our orders for our meal. When the dishes finally arrived we discovered the soup of the day was nothing like the description on the menu, The main courses that my wife and I had were small helpings and the Chicken, Leek and Creme Fraiche Pie with Ham Hock Crumb on the top had very little chicken content and the Crumb was just like grit sprinkled on the top, and the Mash and Beans were cold. When the deserts arrived one was served with cold custard that that had to be reheated, which seemed to take for ever to be returned and the British Cheese Board was served with stale biscuits.

Throughout our diner, not once did the staff enquiry if every thing was OK, we also had to prompt passing waiting staff to clear the table, it also too for ever to receive our drink orders. Staff were not attentive at all.

The staff seemed as though they didn’t really care and the Manager seemed to be very inexperienced, and totally out of he’s depth. Needless to say we were not impressed at all for the money that it cost, and consequently we will not be returning to the Pomeroy of recommending to others which we have in the past.

Thank TjeJee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Tjejee, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to get more details about this; please reach out to us at your earliest convenience at 01494 766845.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Slow and poor service, drinks served without glasses, wrong food served.
Cheese burger was very poor, very small not much cheese and the tomato was a the top
piece with the stork- most restaurants wouldn't use that part of the tomato or even a cafe Brûlée was custard flavoured creme brulee in a tea cup half full, no caramel top
and a thick stodgy consistency, sent it back. Great shame 1-2 years ago I couldn't imagine writing this review here. Lots more tables now all crammed in, difficult to get in and out of your table without interrupting the adjacent table.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mikeedwards2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Pomeroy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Mikeedwards2016, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pomeroy Inn also viewed

Amersham, Buckinghamshire
Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
 
Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Pomeroy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing