We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent stay”

Review of Casa de Paloma

Alex Beck Pics (10)resize
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alex Beck Pics (10)resize
Casa Paloma from the Beach Upstairs Living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Alex Beck Pics (10)resize
Casa Paloma from the Beach
Upstairs Living
Upstairs kitchen and bar
Upstairs Dining
Casita and Pergola
164.JPG
151.JPG
Sea Beans
Fresh orange juice every morning
Biking along the Costa Maya
Soft Sunrise
184.JPG
204.JPG
1000082_016.JPG
1000187_121.JPG
GEDC0209-1.JPG
GEDC0211-1.JPG
Alex Beck Pics (26).JPG
Alex Beck Pics (23).JPG
Alex Beck Pics (24).JPG
246.JPG
Capt. Victor and tarpon
Alex Beck Pics (27).JPG
Caretakers Rosa and Cecilio, co-owners Tom and Chris with the Dove!
222.JPG
264.JPG
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Xcalak, Costa Maya, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
whalesh70
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa de Paloma certainly deserves de 5 star rating. It is a very nice house. Plenty of space, and has everything you need for your stay. It is wonderfully located, not near the beach but really on top of it. An enhanting place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Caretaker - Rosa; Tom Easy to Rent from; Mattresses - Great Sleep
Liked least: Amount of Large Furniture in the House
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
flyfishmt
bighorn river montana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic!”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We've been going to Xcalak for many years. This was simply my favorite place to stay. It's in a GREAT location, not far from town and close to restaurants. The house has everything you need. The house is quiet and beautiful. We stayed both upstairs and downstairs. Upstairs was great as we have four people. Lots of space. We then moved downstairs as it was just my husband and myself. We LOVED the downstairs. Smaller, but loved the ground level. We bought lobster from the locals next door for around $2.50 per tail and grilled them. What a treat! I would highly recommend and can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: I can't think of anyting I didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleBit...
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

About the Home: What a fabulous home away from home. We wanted a true getaway vacation and we got it. There is no AC but because the house is right on the bay, you get a fabulous ocean breeze throughout the day and all the the night.

About the kitchen: We were able to eat as many meals at home as we wanted because the kitchen has everything! We also loved going out to eat - the fish tacos at Coasta de Cocos was my favorite.

Favorite Benefit: A lovely housekeeper (Rosa) does the dishes and cleans the house daily - what a lovely treat!

How I Spent our Days: In the hammock reading; surfing the net on the porch; in the water snorkeling; doing puzzles; watching DVDs - great selection.

How My Husband Spent his Days: scuba diving; fishing (and then grilling up his catches); hacking up coconuts and serving me coconut water and pina coladas. : )

Note for an August Stay: Note that for a stay in August, there were mosquitoes, so we used OFF! bug spray. You can pick it up in Cancun on your way down! I've stayed in November as well and there weren't mosquitoes; I think its a summer thing.

Note on WiFi - I loved having WiFi access - but note that it can go in and out of service throughout the day. I found that it often went out of service around 6 PM - this happens all over Xcalak and is not specific to Case De Paloma - and then came back on by 9 PM. Do not plan on having access every minute of every day, but you can expect to have it the majority of the time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hammocks, the ocean breeze
Liked least: The WiFi knocked out as I was trying to send something off to work - but my own fault to be working on vacation I suppose!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmini
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed 25 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We recently spent a week at this beautiful home and I can't quit thinking about it. The house was wonderful . . . homey and comfortable, and had everything we needed. The private beach was gorgeous. We spent most of our time either reading outside on the back porch or snorkeling off the end of the (neighbor's) dock. The snorkeling was amazing, and right out the back door! We were worried about the heat, but the constant breeze from the ocean kept it comfortable. We met some dog friends who lived close by and they visited daily. The caretakers were great . . . . helpful, but unobtrusive. If you want a vacation that is totally relaxing, this is the place. Unplug, relax, let go . . .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing