We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot!”
Review of Sulumar

Sulumar
Ranked #14 of 87 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We had a very nice lunch, local food. Everything was freshly made, the portions were generous, and the price was great! Nice location right on the beach. Would definitely visit again!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KathyIzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Great restaurant on south end of Mahahual, gets freshest fish from the local fishermen’s cooperative. Off the beaten path for most cruise shippers, great for independent travelers and locals.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We walked down to this spot and it looks like where the locals hang out. It’s a nice walk down the beach front. You can save if you bring pesos and ask for the peso menu. We paid the US dollar prices, which were okay. We had fish tacos, and the best margaritas of our trip; frosty and served in a large chalice. Sulumar has tables right on the beach. Our waiter invited us to use lounge chairs after lunch, but we didn’t have time to stay longer. You could spend a whole afternoon here! Can’t beat the ocean views.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank firstmatekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Food at best was a 3 stars, ceviche was good, fish soup came out after1 hour wait and it was cold. They told me they didnt have any fried fish???
I was with locals and they seem to enjoy it.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Qba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

I've been at that restaurant a few days ago thanks to the recommendation of a nice guy working at the ADO terminal. I went there with 2 friends and we all had shrimp burritos which were pretty good. We saw some other dishes served like ceviche and it looked awesome.
But attention to the prices.. always ask for the menu in pesos.. which is basically half priced in comparison to the USD one..
We first got the us menu with tacos costing 10usd but we asked for the pesos menu since we always pay in pesos and the price was 100 pesos.. so 5usd
Don't get tricked.. that's the main problem in all restaurants in mahahual. But the pesos price was good.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 310patrickn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sulumar also viewed

 

Been to Sulumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing