We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4 483)
Filter reviews
4 483 results
Traveller rating
3 601
630
185
39
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 601
630
185
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreferred clubseaside grillmarket cafeel patiosea turtlespool conciergecoco cafepreferred roomtropical viewroom serviceunlimited vacation clubescargotmexican chocolatesecrets propertyentertainment staffsecret boxpool basketball
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 4 483 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Focused on romance yet has excellent activities. Rene, Pamela, David and the entertainment staff keep you engaged. Tomas and Alberto the sommeliers do tequila and wine tastings. Diego was excellent for CrossFit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laurenliz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear laurenliz06,

For us it is truly a pleasure to be able to read your fantastic comments and we greatly appreciate your choosing our resort to celebrate your anniversary.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that everything was to your satisfaction. It is always a big morale boost for our staff to know that their effort is appreciated and that their performance made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to having you back on your next romantic vacation in the Riviera Maya!

Warm Regards,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We stayed at Secrets Akumal for the first time from June 14-June 21st for 7 days. The first 4 days had tropical storms rolling through and we never saw the sun. We didn't care!! We were ready for vacation because we had been consumed by my re-election campaign in California and we were emotionally, mentally and physically exhausted. Even with the heavy rain, the resort did everything possible to keep us entertained and happy. From card games to guessing games to on-site entertainment the resort was on top of it. Just for the record, we have been visiting all-inclusive resorts on the Riviera Maya for about 15 years and we know what to expect and hope to receive. By far and away Secrets Akumal has been the very best. The variety of restaurants, the quality of the food and the portions they serve were amazing. No waiting in line and the service was exceptional and first rate. When the sun did finally show up for our last three days, the pool area was clean with an abundance of pool choices and no problem finding a lounge. The entertainment staff went out of their way to get and keep everyone involved and having fun. Something was going on all the time but they didn't go overboard to the point of interfering with your relaxation.
We both had massages and the spa was spotless, professional and the masseuse was excellant. Spent a little time in the gym and the equipment was in perfect condition.
We have to commend the reception staff for helping us with an early check-in and room upgrade. The check-in and check-out process was smooth and hassle free.
The only downside at all was the update we had to sit through because we had joined the Unlimited Vacation Club. We were assured it would only be 5 minutes but after 45 minutes and numerous times telling the agent we are not upgrading we finally got up and left. I understand their job but seriously, no means no!
Since our return, we have been praising the resort and are encouraging our friends to check it out. We are looking at another trip late this year or early next year with friends and Secrets Akumal is at the top of our list.
Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable and comfortable.

Room Tip: Trying to shave with the way the light fixtures are located cast a shadow on my face and made it difficult to see.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank miller_gvcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear miller_gvcc,

We would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya and we are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed every detail of our experience, from the kind and passionate service provided by our team to the culinary diversity offered at our restaurants, our excellent facilities and entertainment. Your comments has been shared to the team as a motivation to keep up our lovely work and also we appreciate your feedback and suggestion.

It has been a pleasure for us to read your review and we look forward to welcome you home in the near future.

Sincerely,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We really enjoyed our four night stay at Secrets. We had a great experience from start to finish and wouldn’t hesitate to return. Gabriella was our concierge and she didn’t miss a beat! I appreciate her attentiveness and prompt attention to our requests. Our swim out room was spotless and very comfortable although I wouldn’t recommend spending the extra money for an ocean front swim out. Sadly you can’t see the ocean at all because of the thick bushes. The seaweed was pretty bad but the hotel staff worked diligently to remove as much as possible. This is certainly not there fault and they did the best they could to leave a clean Beach. All staff was friendly and welcoming. The food was overall very good and the drinks as well.

Room Tip: Don’t pay extra for an oceanfront swimout. A regular swimout will be fine.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Cristin B,

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.

We are happy to learn that your stay was a very pleasant one from beginning to end, thanks to our efforts as a team, we make possible our excellent vacation experience. Also, we thank you for highligh our resort staff works diligently from the early morning hours each day to remove this extra seaweed in order to keep our beautiful beaches clean and accessible for guests to enjoy, thank you for your understanding!

We hope to have soon the pleasure of being your hosts again in your next vacation in the Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My wife and I returned yesterday from spending 15 days at Secrets Akumal.
We were also there last year for 15 days.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday.
My wife and I have stayed at other all inclusive resorts but we can unequivocally say that Secrets Akumal is the very best.
The beach, food, shows and service are fantastic.
Although every staff person was friendly and welcoming special mention to Diana our wake up operator who went above and beyond anything we ever expected in ensuring a great anniversary,Billie the head waiter, Allan and Jose our waiters at the Oceana Restaurant, Abraham, Francisco our beach waiters, Veronica the hotel photographer, Juaviar the resort manager, Ivan and Alajandro in guest services, Rene, Tonia,Guadalope,Jose and entire entertainment team,Lucy who made my morning shakes, the entire security team and life guards... Suzette, Maria and entire hostess staff at the Market Restaurant.
I have to say that even the restrooms near the pool are constantly cleaned and maintained
The grounds are kept immaculate. Everyone works very hard to keep everything beautiful.
We can't say enough to convey what a special resort and memorable experience we cherish having stayed twice at Secrets Akumal.
We felt safe, appreciated and everything was perfect.
We really can't say enough!!
We hope to return
Fred and Glenda Broder

Room Tip: we like Buildings 3 or 5 for location to beach
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FREDB1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear FREDB1946,

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this heartwarming review about your experience with us. It was a pleasure to be your hosts during your recent getaway to Secrets Akumal.

Thank you for referencing so many of our team members by name and for your very nice compliments, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our resort. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated.

We hope that on your next vacation you will again choose Secrets Akumal to live an unforgettable experience!

Kind Regards,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Late writing this review but i like to judge a good holiday by if i am still feeling the benefits a few weeks after return, and I am!
As we were part of a group (10 in total) we left the choice of location and hotel to the majority and our only stipulation was Adult only. They sure came up with the goods - hotel was fabulous and our room was perfect location (nearer the beach and above the swim-up rooms that our friends had). Note on swim-up: water was very cold as quite a sheltered location but hotel heated on request.
Staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great time, ensuring that we had beds on the beach altogether (thanks to Eddie/Hector/Cesar and Gabriel) down to sitting altogether at breakfast and in the Restaurants.
We would meet at the main bar and MICHELLE took great care of us, even giving us refills before we knew we needed one! And if she felt we were too slow drinking our drinks and therefore our drinks got too warm she simply changed them for a fresh one without any prompt!
Each block has their own Concierge and ours was ISMAEL LEONARDO VAZQUEZ. A fabulous young man who would even search us out on the beach to make sure everything was ok. Nothing was too much to sort for us.
Special mention to the entertainment. If you just want to chill at the main bar then the outside entertainment was good, especially El Divo. But you venture over to the Theatre, I thought the shows were superb especially "Beatles" night.
Would I return? Definately but would have to stay longer than 7 nights as the journey from the UK was exhuasting and we would definately have a private transfer from the airport as this was the last drop off, adding over 1 1/2hrs to our already long journey.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear MandyB59,

It is a pleasure to read such a detailed overview of your visit to Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya. We sincerely appreciate the time you invested in writing this review.

We are happy to learn that your stay was a very pleasant and we are very grateful for your compliments towards our team members, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and we promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing during your stay.

We certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews