We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely loved everything about our trip to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stacey R
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved everything about our trip to Akumal Breakers! We will return...”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Our joined families loved this vacation!! We had relaxing days on our own beautiful stretch of beach, fun in the pool, walks to Akumal and a few days of excursions! There were 8 of us so rather than renting a large van... we decided to use a driver with a big van for these trips and it worked out perfectly! Ask the owners for recommendations. We saw majestic sea turtles climb onto the beach and lay eggs, many exotic birds and many, many lizards! I think I have taken 5,000 pictures and 4,500 of them are keepers. The villa is supremely stocked and we overpacked because we weren't sure what to expect but there was nothing missing here! And the staff is AWESOME! They are even licensed massage therapists... Both of them! The observatory was great for star gazing and the perfect get away for quiet time away from the kids but still within ear shot. We have done several other VRBOs and this was the best! All I can say is.... 9 days was not enough.... We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views right from our own beach and rooms
Liked least: cant really say anything! maybe the one rainy day...so we stayed in the beautiful villa and played games with the kids.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DionisioA...
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We "found our beach" at Akumal Breakers!”
Reviewed 18 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Like the owner's picture, this is just like a Corona commercial except the villa and the beach are better than the pictures. Our four ExPat couples had a fantastic week at this cool and comfortable villa on the best stretch of South Akumal, Mexico. We enjoyed fishing right out of Akumal and we also explored one of the famous underground Cenotes at Dos Ojos. After our many daily adventures in the Riviera Maya, we were always excited to return to this private paradise each day, especially the heated pool. You must book your vacation when there is a full moon, WOW! The staff keeps the villa in perfect order and they cooked us an incredible Mexican dinner one night. You must also get their massages! Our only regret is that we did not have enough time to play at the new golf course across the road but we have already made plans to return. We love Akumal Breakers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is amazing
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drpack407
Lake Mary, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Spot on The Riveria Maya"”
Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
5
people found this review helpful

This villa is in a private gated enclave of beachfront homes on south Akumal Beach, within walking distance of Akumal, but comfortably removed. Your view is of your own private beach, complete with sugar-white sand and coconut palms overlooking the crystal clear water. The house has the feel of Old Mexico, but with all the modern conveniences, including spa-type bathrooms. Enjoy your own solar heated (rare in this area) pool. Lots of extras and conveniences other villas just don't have, like built-in barbecue grill, rooftop observation and sun deck, and outside shower with hot water. The staff lives on-site in an out-building, and they service only this home. They are very helpful, courteous, and will do most anything for you. This villa can easily accommodate two or more families. Great value.

Akumal's location on the Riviera Maya is ideal. It's in between Playa Del Carmen and Tulum and a short drive to either one. Far enough away from Cancun that it doesn't feel so tourista. Really nice Robert Trent Jones II golf course just across the highway at Bahia Principe. You can easily enjoy the ruins and eco sites of Tulum in the daytime and then Playa nightlife in the same day. Of course, you don't ever have to leave Akumal if you don't want to. There are enough nice restaurants and things to do right in Akumal if you prefer.

The owners really care about your comfort and enjoyment during your stay and that is evident from the time you step through the front door. Will definitely return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy
Liked least: No real complaints
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadian...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“AMAZING OPTION TO ALL INCLUSIVE.......”
Reviewed 27 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
4
people found this review helpful

……..4 couples rented this Villa at the beginning of Nov 2011 and had an incredible experience. If you are looking for something a little quieter and more private than a resort this is for you. When you consider the costs divided by 8 it’s quite reasonable. The Villa and grounds were immaculate; each couple had their own room. After having experienced in the passed looking at pictures of rentals on the net and then getting there and being disappointed, this was the opposite. The Villa was even better than the pictures showed. We were a little concerned before arriving knowing there were care takers on site and worried they would be in our space, not the case. They live in a small building in front of the Villa and clean the ground in the morning and do some household duties during the day. They were extremely friendly and not in our space. When we arrived they had prepared some snacks and had cold beer for us. Nice touch!! One night they prepared an amazing Mexico meal for all of us for a very reasonable fee. There are lots of places to buy groceries Akumel, Playa and Tulum close by, this was not a problem. We took turns cooking meals and played games at the large dinning room table at night.
This was a great time to go because one thing we did not expect was we pretty well had a ¼ mile of gorgeous beach to ourselves. There are approx 15 Villas on the beach in this gated community and only 2 were being used at this time. On average people walked by on the beach maybe twice a day. The Villa is situated in a bay protected by a coral reef you can swim / snorkel out for a 100 yards and still stand up. The water was warm.

We would come back here in a heart beat!! Everybody loved it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was even better than we anticipated!!
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Akumal Breakers and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your point about our villa being an amazing option to "All Inclusive" is so nice to hear and so true. Our staff anxiously awaits your return. Please be sure to check www.iloveakumal.com to book your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$900
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing