We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15 141)
Filter reviews
15 141 results
Traveller rating
8 254
4 287
1 597
565
438
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8 254
4 287
1 597
565
438
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premier lobby cozumel buffet le gourmet a la cartes fish golden lobby snack bar playa del carmen quiet pool kids water park akumal beach michael jackson show main buffet show table other resorts great resort don pablo
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 15 141 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

We really wanted to like this place... we tried. I’m happy to read the positive reviews here but unfortunately that wasn’t our experience.
Both my kids and I got hand, foot & mouth disease. The doctor there said you can get that anywhere but there’s an awful lot of reviews mentioning getting it at this resort...
I asked the reception and customer relations staff what we should do since it is so highly contagious but they didn’t seem concerned about that. The resort doctor told us it was only contagious during the initial fever period so we got the green light from him to do and use everything. It was hard to feed my kids when they were sick in our room with fever and chills because you can’t take food from any of the restaurants or snack bars.
The cocktails all had a weird taste to them, like aspartame. Coke and Fanta were the only soft drinks that tasted normal. The beer was good :)
The swim up bar was very unorganized with a lot of people getting frustrated while waiting to order. It also had a funky smell coming from it.
The staff was hit and miss. The grounds were ok but not as clean or beautiful as some people say. Our room #31717 was horrible. It’s directly by the noisy freeway. Our view was cars, trucks and busses going by 24/7. I’m not exaggerating. There were tiles missing from the bathroom wall, it wasn’t the cleanest and the electrical outlets were questionable, with pieces broken off etc. The pillows smelled bad. After waiting for 3 days and lots of trips to the reception to politely ask to be moved we finally were moved to a much better room. It was essentially the same but everything (besides the toilet) was working properly and the pillows smelled fresh.
Had lots of big ants visiting us every day but they preferred to spend their time in the bathroom so I only had to go in and take care of them before one of us had to use the bathroom.
The shuttle to the beach ran regularly but going to the beach seemed a bit more of a hassle than we would have liked. The buffet was adequate with lots of options and a lot of stressed out workers pushing their carts through tons of super focused hungry guests. The wait staff was hit and miss.
The sales presentation was fine until after the tour, when ‘the closer’ came in. Ugh. Of course it was our choice to do it, but we felt bad walking past the guys trying so hard to reel us in every time we walked past them in the lobby. It felt quite awkward.
The highlight of our trip was snorkelling with the turtles in Akumal and Noemi, the waitress at the snack bar. She helped me go through 3 big garbage cans when we lots my son’s retainer (we found it after 2 hours of unwrapping used napkins). Thanks Noemi, you went above and beyond and I’m sorry you had to deal with that.

If you’re on a budget and just want sun, drinks and food this might be the place for you... just don’t go expecting anything to be 5 star.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Quest770857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationCob, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Guest:

First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We truly understand your review and appreciate the opinion that all of our present and future customers may have. We thank you for letting us know your observations and we sincerely regret for have not met some of your expectations, We appreciate the time that you disposed to share your valuable feedback with us.
In Bahia Principe we have an extreme caution in the management of hygiene or safety. Staff are trained regularly for routine checks are carried out and as for the sanitary control of the spaces and facility; weekly inspections conducted by the Quality department. Please be sure that we keep on working our methods and procedures to improve our services.

We appreciate you are letting us know your comments and observations, be sure all of them are forwarded to every department in charge in order to apply the proper measures that guarantee the satisfaction of our clients.
We hope you give us a second chance to restore your confidence in our resort; it would be wonderful to host you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.coba@bahia-principe.com for any assistance prior to your arrival.

Best Regards

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Our first trip to Mexico and certainly loved this holiday. The hotel lobby is grand and beautiful. Most staff are very accommodating and friendly. Lots of pools, restaurants. Beaches are nice. It is a very busy resort with three resorts included. But after walking around all 3 we were happy that we booked at Coba. Bed was king sized, firm mattress. Room had an odd door. Kind of like overworked A/C, and slight body sweat. But not terribly offensive, maybe a side effect of a constantly booked room, Heat, humidity etc. We were always out and about. Most of the food was delicious, After 2 weeks you look for something a little different. But if you go out on excursions youlll find other places to eat. Felt safe going to Talum, (historical sites), Akumel, (turtles) and even Playa del Carmen felt safe for shopping and strolling. Found my most favourite restaurant in the world. You have to try-La Buena Vida - near Akumel, Simple, authentic food right on the beach. You can sit on swings at the bar. We may have been quite hungry after a day out, however I would go back in a heartbeat. Loved that experience.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Desimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationCob, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing our little paradise for your first Mexican holidays!

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and the service that was provided during your stay. Your evaluation is of special importance and please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the rest of the team.

In our complex there is always the perfect place for every guest, and we always have the entire team at your disposal.

We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.coba@bahia-principe.com for any assistance prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards,

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

Just got home, let me answer some questions.
Staff were helpful and friendly... 90% of the time!
Rooms were clean and cool, yes there are safes and they are free. Shampoo, conditioner( bring you own) and even an umbrella in rooms.
Drinks were awesome ( not watered done at all) no they don't serve Guinness or lucky! Your in Mexico people!
Wifi is free for an hour a day in the lobby, folks just live without it, unplug and enjoy your surroundings.
The entertainment was awesome at night.
The hacienda is the place to be at night with live bands or karaoke with the disco for the younger set.
Excursions are best booked through your travel agency so if you have any issues you have someone to go back to.
There are so many beach chairs you don't need to put your towel on it in the morning with your stupid clips, then show up after lunch. So annoying.
Renting a car can be dangerous, and definitely do not take a cab at night.
Don't bother going to playa de carmen to shop, the hacienda and shops at coba are actually cheaper and have the same things. If you want to dine at a authentic Mexican restaurant then yes, go into town. But the the beach is over crowded and the vendors are obnoxious.
Coba guests can dine at tulum , but not ackumel or siankaan.
Yes there is seaweed, they do there best to clean it up and the beach at ackumel had none. You can take a shuttle to ackumel beach. Guests can go to any beach but you won't get drinks there.
I did not get one mosquito bite while there, keep your patio door closed at all times to keep them out!
We had 3 al la cartes, had no trouble booking the ones we wanted just do it immediately when you arrive. Long pants required for men in some.
The shuttles were so convenient to travel around the resort and we never waited more then 5 minutes.
Tip the staff they work very long hours 6 days a week. They will go the extra mile for you.
Special thank you to Julian and Mauricio you made our stay extra special.

This was our second time at this resort and we would not hesitate to go back again.

Room tip: Coba is not by the beach, there are no beach views, by the lobby is best
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank debbiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationCob, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Dear Guest:

We would like to express our gratitude for choosing our hotel once again for your vacations and for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.

We are grateful with your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your clean room, the drinks, the entertainment and the great service of our staff.

Our aim is to get the maximum satisfaction of all our guests, even more when it comes to our frequent ones. We take very seriously the satisfaction of our guests and it is our house motto to do all things "with pleasure" always one step ahead of any need or request of our guests.

We hope to have the honor and pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.coba@bahia-principe.com for any assistance prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards from Mexico,

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

This will be a review that may be a bit lengthy but an honest and insightful one. We stayed from Nov. 1 to the 8th and wished we could have stayed longer. It was absolutely FANTASTIC!!

From the moment we arrived at the airport we were all welcomed and made to feel at home. Yes there were a lot of sales personnel and tour operators trying to get you to buy their services through the airport, but it is a tourist area after all. Should be no surprise there. Air Canada Rep PINKY was easily noticeable and took us right to the hotel bus for boarding. Buses were fully air-conditioned and comfortable seating with washroom facilities. (Number one only as Pinky would say!!) Trip to hotel was a bit longer as we dropped of passengers from several hotels in our area, but I can't even explain how beautiful the scenery was. Lush trees and gardens were well maintained throughout Cancun to Riviera Maya and you could see the pride people had just by the surroundings. Made you feel happy just being there.

Check in at the hotel was quick and informative. We were given room keys, towel cards, safe locks and bracelets with our resort map. We made reservations for our 3 a la cartes and we were done. Our rooms weren't going to be ready for an hour or so when we arrived (we had an early arrival as our flight was at 6:15am) but we had access to all of the facilities, bars and restaurants while we were waiting. Little golf cart trains take you all over the resort as it is pretty big, but we never waited long for these. It was a fun way for the family to get to the different places and things the hotel had to offer. Wifi is available in all the lobbies but you have to purchase the wifi that will work all over the resort for $9.00US. Not a big deal and it worked pretty much everywhere and especially in our suite which was handy for our 9 year old to watch videos on youtube and play games with no issues. (Do not purchase premium internet, and ask staff to help you get to the $9 price in their app...it is a bit tricky to find) and also download the Bahia Principe app from google Play or Apple stores before you go. Much better if you do. Things are priced in US dollars on the resort with the exception at the Hacienda Doña Isabel where the shops are run by locals. Most things there are priced in Mexican Pesos (but they will usually convert it to US dollars) so I wouldn't take too much in Mexican Pesos. Convert as needed if you are going in to towns off the resort.

Rooms were awesome and had everything you could need (we booked a family suite closest to the main pool and kids water park Villa 19A Rm 31926) Gift bag for the kids with balloons and a welcome letter were left on the beds. We also had slippers and robes for the duration of our stay. Kids had little travel toiletry bags along with the standard adult additions of toiletries. Mini fridge was stocked daily with water, soft drinks and beer. Special additions like juice, milkshakes and chips for the kids were added as well. Beds were good and the rooms were spacious. I requested a high floor and got what I asked for. Bathrooms were REALLY clean and big with jacuzzi tubs and big counters for all your belongings. Safe was big enough even for a laptop and came with the room upon booking. Umbrella, iron/ironing board and hangers were in the spacious closets. Extra pillows were in there as well. We had a wonderful pool and waterpark view from RM 31926 in Villa 19A. Housekeeping and the mini fridge staff was wonderful the entire week!! They left exta things for my younger son or extra towles upon request. Really couldn't ask for anything more as they worked really hard.

Food at the Kukulcan Buffet was GREAT and plentiful. Service was even better (A quick shot out to my girl FLORA!! You are AWESOME and made our dining special every time!!) Some have called the buffet repetative and it can be. But when you have Mexican, Italian, Sushi, Canadian, Asian, meats, salads, breads, a "special kids buffet area" and all the desserts and choice of fruits you could possibly think of, you aren't lacking in options. Breakfast was awesome with a made to order omelette station, or with lunch and dinner having a pasta station doing the same. They even had a made to order crepe station. A La Cartes were Fantastic ( we had three per week but only made 2) The Portofino Italian and the Le Gourmet are a must!! EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FOOD at both!! There are two snack bars (one is even open 24 hours) with hamburgs, hotdogs, fries, nuggets, fruits and salads and they were both good for those munchie times. If you starve, you are simply to drunk to find something as there is plenty of GREAT options.

Bars are all over the resort and they had great drinks (some with heavy pours as they are free handed...lol) but by far the Margaritas were a favorite. They had self serve coffee and juice stations in all the lobbies as well.

The beach. Yes some days there was a lot of seaweed, but the last time I checked, the hotel can't control the ocean anymore then any of its guests could. The staff at the beach worked non stop to remove the seaweed and rake the rocks and things from the sand areas. It was breezy and beautiful no matter what. We even saw some fish swimming around and got to take some beautiful pics with our underwater camera. Parasailing and Seadoos are also available should you wish to do something a little more adventurous. Water activities are also available as part of your package weather permitting.

Pools were all great and had many lounge recliners for guests. We never had an issue finding one when we were there. We always saw mainenance cleaning the pools and areas first thing in the EARLY mornings, and the upkeep in and around the pools were always fantastic (cups and ciagrette butts, etc that people left around were cleaned up and never were there very long) We did have an issue with hand foot and mouth in our 9 year old but this was not caused by the hotel. It happens sometimes and is like any common virus. Spread through infected people to others (Just like its not the fault of a schools or daycares when something is passed around in them).

You couldn't ask for anything more from the entertainment staff. They worked tirelessly at the nightly shows in the theater, and our most favorite was the Michael Jackson show. The POOL STAFF were especially fantastic and kept guests happy and active. AN EXTRA SPECIAL SHOUT OUT to our new friend TOMMY as he worked extremely long hours and NEVER tired, nor made anyone feel anything but welcomed. He had everyone up and going no matter what time of day it was and we thank him for his generosity and guidance. They hired a good one when they got you!!

There is a place called Hacienda Doña Isabel you get too by short golf train ride where there is a disco, casino, and bar area. There is also a pharmacy and doctor on site should you need one. There are some wonderful little shops around the plaza should you want souvenirs or gifts to bring back with you. All are local businesses and you will find authentic items made by hand that are amazing. A must to visit for guests.

Adults did the ATV/Jungle Tour offered at poolside by Bahia Principe Hotel Tours and it was amazing. We also went for a day trip to Ventura Park in Cancun which was a bit farther then most, but totally worth the price for the waterpark and dolphin swim alone (get a great discount if you booked 3-5 days in advance and payed online at the website) They also had ziplining, bungee swing, virtual world, go karts and unlimited food a beverage that were all included with admission if you got the unlimited pass. A must do.

On a more persona level, I can't tell you enough how tirelessly the staff at the Bahia Principe Coba work. From the concierge staff, to the grounds staff, to the wait staff, to the bar staff, to the entertainment staff, to the driving staff, to the housekeeping staff, EVERYONE made this trip a most enjoyable and pleasant vacation. The staff are what made this a truly unforgettable vacation experience and I would ABSOLUTELY return to this resort. I HIGHLY recommend this resort to anyone.

We did tip ALL the staff generously (we happened to notice a lot who didn't tip and that's a personal choice) but they work so hard and they deserve every peso or dollar they earn and more!! If you visit, please find it in your hearts to tip what you can. They appreciate it so much!!

Much love and thanks to all the staff and personnel, from a family who couldn't be happier with the vacation and hospitality that the Grand Bahia Pricipe Coba Resort provided us!! We WILL be back again someday!! :)

Room tip: Family Villa 19A close to kids waterpark and main pool
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank lovinmexico17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationCob, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Coba and for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.

It was an honor for our entire team to provide you with excellent service as our philosophy is focused on our guests’ satisfaction. We are always striving to provide our guests with the highest quality service so that they could stay absolutely content with their vacations at our hotel.

Thank you for appreciating friendliness of our staff, the grounds, your room, the food at the buffet, the restaurants a la carte and for your observations about wifi.

Thank you for mentioning our staff that have made your vacation that much more enjoyable. Your comments are very motivational for our team and will be forwarded to the staff mentioned

We hope to have the honor and pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.coba@bahia-principe.com for any assistance prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards from Mexico,

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We stopped in coba back in September with another family. The best features are that you can explore the other hotels , Coba is the busier with swim up bar splash pool for kids , and the lagoon but also another big pool which is a little more quieter. Tulum pool is more of a party pool The main restaurant was really busy and some nights just for better service we would eat in the tulum buffet , this was much quieter ! Night time entertainment was ok , music on the terrace , the shows were good . Again you have to travel about karaoke and shows at the hassiender we’re better.
Don’t be afraid to travel out the resort ! Tulum ruins was great (take water) xcaret was by far our best day , the not so lazy river , the beach , dolphins and the history of Mexico show we’re out of this world. Take bubba cups for your drinks in the hotel , take your own inflatables. you get more and they don’t melt , book your restaurants straight away , the beach is a bit of a let down but if you walk a little further on there’s a private beach for akumel and we went their. If you run out of meds’ sun lotions , buckets and Spades avoid paying and go to the tui shop travellers leave loads there. Also the Mexico night is really fun lots of history and games . Enjoy your holiday a great complex that even in 2 weeks we didn’t explore it all in a patriotic country who knows how to show you a good time !!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Hannah2983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationCob, Online Reputation at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2018

Dear Guest:

On behalf of our team we thank you for taking the time to put together the details of your vacation experience at Grand Bahia Principe Coba.

Thank you for letting us know your observation regarding your experience with us, we always do our best to exceed our guests expectations. In our complex there is always the perfect place for every guest, and we always have the entire team at your disposal.

We hope you will visit us again and we will do our utmost to accommodate your needs and make your stay enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.coba@bahia-principe.com for any assistance prior to your arrival.

Kind Regards,

Antonio Endres
Online Reputation
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews