We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful & Fun!”
Pool and private beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and private beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Pool and private beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
13 Bedrooms, 17 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ryanworth...
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Beautiful & Fun!”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a nice place! Beautiful property, nice pool, private beach, and super friendly staff.
Roger and the cooking staff were outstanding. The rest of the staff were pleasant and trustworthy!
I would highly recommend this villa in Akumal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdlasser
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Beautiful home, however a staff that we could not trust.”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Beautiful home, except our stay was marred by the theft of a large sum of cash. When the police (very courteous) arrived to take our report, they insisted that the circumstances strongly pointed to the fact that the robbery was an inside job. Although the local help was sympathetic, the management/owners of the Villa showed no level of concern for our situation. Clearly our family will not return to this property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chainplat...
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good but not without some serious drawbacks”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family started to plan a reunion almost two years before it was to be scheduled to take place and my daughter took on the responsibility for doing the research. All of us were delighted with the location of Bellamar and the house looked wonderful. Everything was confirmed when we arrived - the location, the facilities, the staff and even the weather were all terrific. The grounds are impeccably kept and everything inside was in perfect working order. Granted, some of the furnishings are a bit 'industrial' (for lack of a better term) as the couches are made of concrete but have comfortable cushions and throw pillows. There are tasteful paintings and other decorations. The staff seemed to be very eager to be of assistance. The meals we all good to very good (sometimes they used 'Sterno' to heat the chafing dishes and sometimes they didn't) and no one went hungry. We had stopped at Costco in Cancun on our way to Bellamar and this was a good place to stock up on beverages and other specialities that we thought we'd want to have. The kitchen staff used what we brought creatively but they did the lion's share of provisioning themselves. They even baked a cake for my wife's birthday that occurred while we were there. It was a family reunion that we all knew we'd never forget.

Even though it was a fantastic place to stay for five days, we did encounter some problems that might have been avoided. Eight of the twenty-two people in our group came down with classic symptoms of food poisoning. It might be easy to brush these off as merely people who aren't used to traveling, however, that is not the case. My wife and I have spent the last six years traveling to some very remote parts of the world and our daughter came to Akumal after hiking in Peru and surfing in Costa Rica - all three of us got sick. Two little girls in our group got sick enough that we had to call a doctor. The kitchen staff certainly appeared to take cleanliness seriously enough and the food certainly seemed fresh. Regardless, this was the first family reunion we've had where people have gotten sick and it's not our first reunion in Mexico.

The other incident that could have been easily avoided occurred as we were leaving. According to the guide in the house, a US$100 gratuity should be paid to each staff member, which we did. However, one of the kitchen staff cornered one of our family members and said that they were unhappy with the amount they were given and were usually tipped anywhere from US$200 to US$300 as they're not paid as much as the rest of the staff. As all of us were heading back home, none of us had that much cash with us and besides, we were offended at being asked for a bigger tip. If we had been told that it was expected to tip the kitchen staff two to three times what the rest of the staff was given, then we could have planned accordingly.

It seems petty to mention that the Wi-Fi was exceedingly slow.

Regardless, our stay at Bellamar was grand.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iog65
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE MOST AMAZING , BEAUTIFUL,FANTASTIC PLACE EVER!”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We just returned from celebrating my 50th birhtday with 24 friends at Villa Bellamar. It could not have been more perfect. We had 12 couples, each had their own spacious room with a view to the ocean and pool.The beds were súper comfortable, TV, air conditioning ,safe in every room. The house was fantastic. It had a pool, jacuzzi, roof top that overlooked the ocean on all sides,its own beach, swim up bar at the pool and everything. The house comes with a chef who was fabulous. Every meal was delicious and he added his artistic special touch to make the presentation like a 5 star hotel. We hired a bartender and he was great too. The owner was abe to hook us up with a masseuse that came to the house when we wanted. It was like staying at the best 5 star hotel but BETTER! it would be a great place to go with families too. There was a ping pong table, and separate living áreas on every floor so you could go off and be alone or hang out with the gang. I cant wait to go back!!! Thank you Wilma, Manuelito, Jose and the rest of you for making this one of the best trips we have ever had!!!! See you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was a fantastic place to stay for a large group of people that travelled from around the world to be together for a week. It is a bit over an hour from Cancun Airport. The facilities and location were excellent. The Akumal Dive Shop was of great assistance in organising everything from airport transfers to diving and snorkelling trips. The Executive Chef and the local team took great care of us.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location was perfect and the facilities and accomodation exceptional.
Liked least: My only suggestion would be that the kayaks be replaced as they were damaged and took on water which made them difficult to paddle.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing