We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$360
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$467
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$425
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$196
US$191
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$379
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Que Onda(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
155
83
31
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
83
31
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstony jrbedroom condofull kitchenrooftop barbeach bar next doordive shopbikini barturtle seasonrental carsound of the waveslaying eggsgreat breezeocean frontdaily maid servicefishshort driveliving area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

What a wonderful 3 week stay we had. On the second floor for privacy but only a few yards away from the ocean and a view that allowed us to know what the snorkeling would be so we could decide to travel to Half Moon Bay or Caleta Tankah if it wasn't clear. The big hotels are far enough away that only on Friday night would the sound from their "Super Party" barely carry.

The Bikini Bar next door serves up the best Pico de Gallo in all of Akumal with cold beers and the ocean roar to shroud you in privacy so you can read a book. I was reading one that was "kind of heavy" (politics and economics) so it was so helpful to be able to look up and let the ocean help me understand just what it was I just read.

We loved the roof-top bar from which you can see Cozumel. Dinner could be served there and usually we were the only ones.

The staff was very professional and works hard to keep this place in good condition.

Best of all, Villas DeRosa is quite removed from all the business in Akumal.

We've been to Akumal many times, and stayed at several different resorts, but when we come back again, it will be to Villas DeRosa.

Room Tip: Be sure you check out the floor plan. Rooms overlooking the pool do not include the spacious living room and kitchen of the suites.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Great location right on the beach. AC in the bedrooms but not in main area but this was fine as we opened front and back doors and a lovely breeze came through. Kitchen had everything we needed including a blender for making fruit smoothies. Large apartment with lovely balcony. If you are looking for a quiet spot away from the all inclusive hotels then this is it. The rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels, including beach towels are provided.

Great snorkeling from the beach right outside the apartment. Also 2 kayaks and body boards for the kids. There's a pool on site too. The upstairs rooms are not suitable for young children due to the balcony but have fabulous views. Downstairs rooms are ideal for kids and lead straight out to the beach.

Only the pool bar and bar next door with restaurants nearby (both pricey) but we stocked up at the large supermarket (San Fransciso, at the lights in Tulum). There's a rooftop bar but didn't see anyone using it.

Tulum ruins are 20 mins away at its worth going for 8am as it gets incredibly busy later.

And the turtles.... what can I say! Wasn't expecting so many to have laid their eggs directly in front of the apartment! Lucky enough to see 2 laying on our first night, then, when we got up to see the sunrise, there was one still laying eggs so we saw it in daylight....a huge Greenback! We missed eggs hatching but did see the last baby turtle heading for the sea.

You are not allowed to walk on the beach after dark in case you disturb the turtles but you can watch from one spot. No lights, torches unless the light is red. The peak time is July and August.

There are signs for each nest. The number on the front refers to the number of turtles to have laid eggs(over 1000 so far!). CM refers to the scientific name. The date is the date the eggs were laid. And then the zone ( 11) then the area of the beach i.e. A,B or C. The eggs hatch after 50-60 days.

I write all this because there is no explanation at the apartments which is a shame as I am sure many people would like more information. Perhaps management should provide laminated information sheets for July and August.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank hpminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

After weeks of searching we came across this hotel. We had been looking for the perfect place to have our destination wedding and finally found it.
We were able to rent out the entire hotel for our event which was absolutely perfect. We had about 38 people at the wedding and did have a few extra rooms.
While we were there Noel was there to help with absolutely everything, he was amazing! He helped with wedding related questions, travel and excursion planning as well as day to day things that came up.
My 90 year old grandma was able to make the trip down, on the first day she nearly fell in the shower. After speaking to Noel about this he went to the store and got her a non slip mat for the shower. You could tell how much he truly cares about his job!
We ordered food from the hotel multiple times and were never disappointed, it was delicious!
The rooftop bar had amazing views and makes for a perfect dance party location.
Our entire weekend was perfect and we wouldn't change a single thing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 457marissaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

From the moment we got there from the Super Shuttle from the airport, Noel, Tony, José Antonio, Carlos, Doly, Adolfo were just friendly and fabulous! Made our stay the best trip of our lives (so far!)! There's a mellow rooftop bar to see sunsets and beach ~ Adolfo makes fantastic drinks and is wonderful to talk to. Prices were reasonable and the drinks were yummy! We got room service, too. The food was delicious!! Catch of the day was the best dish we ate and the fruit bowl is huge! One bowl is enough for two! Every night turtles came to lay eggs right outside our window! We watched 2 moms lay at night! Bucket List item! We were in 303, It was huge, AC in bedroom, magical view of the sea (about ten steps to the water)! You can rent snorkel gear from Noel and see gorgeous fish right off shore! We saw a school of blue tangs and other fish I can't name. :-) There's coral EVERYWHERE!!!!! Internet was excellent and it is very quiet and safe there. To go out and explore, just ask Noel to call you a taxi. They come quick and take you where you need to go! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: 303! If you don't like going up stairs or If you have kids, lower floors are better. Coffee supplies there for you ~ no cream/milk.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We had the three bedroom condo on the second floor. Check in was quick and easy. The large bottled water was great! We were able to have plenty of water to refill our bottles for our day trips. The rooms are kept extremely clean. Housekeeping does an excellent and thorough job! The kitchen was well stocked. The A/C worked fantastic. The view is gorgeous, the beach well groomed and beautiful, the price fits the budget and the Beach Bikini Bar downstairs has AMAZING food. People came from the larger resorts just to eat there. Thank you Villas DeRosa!

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank mel6202016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Villas DeRosa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks for sharing your vacation with us at VillasDeRosa and have a great day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews