We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhh... Don't tell anybody.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

What a wonderful 3 week stay we had. On the second floor for privacy but only a few yards away from the ocean and a view that allowed us to know what the snorkeling would be so we could decide to travel to Half Moon Bay or Caleta Tankah if it wasn't clear. The big hotels are far enough away that only on Friday night would the sound from their "Super Party" barely carry.

The Bikini Bar next door serves up the best Pico de Gallo in all of Akumal with cold beers and the ocean roar to shroud you in privacy so you can read a book. I was reading one that was "kind of heavy" (politics and economics) so it was so helpful to be able to look up and let the ocean help me understand just what it was I just read.

We loved the roof-top bar from which you can see Cozumel. Dinner could be served there and usually we were the only ones.

The staff was very professional and works hard to keep this place in good condition.

Best of all, Villas DeRosa is quite removed from all the business in Akumal.

We've been to Akumal many times, and stayed at several different resorts, but when we come back again, it will be to Villas DeRosa.

Room Tip: Be sure you check out the floor plan. Rooms overlooking the pool do not include the spacious living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Great location right on the beach. AC in the bedrooms but not in main area but this was fine as we opened front and back doors and a lovely breeze came through. Kitchen had everything we needed including a blender for making fruit smoothies. Large apartment with lovely balcony. If you are looking for a quiet spot away from the all inclusive hotels then this is it. The rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels, including beach towels are provided.

Great snorkeling from the beach right outside the apartment. Also 2 kayaks and body boards for the kids. There's a pool on site too. The upstairs rooms are not suitable for young children due to the balcony but have fabulous views. Downstairs rooms are ideal for kids and lead straight out to the beach.

Only the pool bar and bar next door with restaurants nearby (both pricey) but we stocked up at the large supermarket (San Fransciso, at the lights in Tulum). There's a rooftop bar but didn't see anyone using it.

Tulum ruins are 20 mins away at its worth going for 8am as it gets incredibly busy later.

And the turtles.... what can I say! Wasn't expecting so many to have laid their eggs directly in front of the apartment! Lucky enough to see 2 laying on our first night, then, when we got up to see the sunrise, there was one still laying eggs so we saw it in daylight....a huge Greenback! We missed eggs hatching but did see the last baby turtle heading for the sea.

You are not allowed to walk on the beach after dark in case you disturb the turtles but you can watch from one spot. No lights, torches unless the light is red. The peak time is July and August.

There are signs for each nest. The number on the front refers to the number of turtles to have laid eggs(over 1000 so far!). CM refers to the scientific name. The date is the date the eggs were laid. And then the zone ( 11) then the area of the beach i.e. A,B or C. The eggs hatch after 50-60 days.

I write all this because there is no explanation at the apartments which is a shame as I am sure many people would like more information. Perhaps management should provide laminated information sheets for July and August.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank hpminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

After weeks of searching we came across this hotel. We had been looking for the perfect place to have our destination wedding and finally found it.
We were able to rent out the entire hotel for our event which was absolutely perfect. We had about 38 people at the wedding and did have a few extra rooms.
While we were there Noel was there to help with absolutely everything, he was amazing! He helped with wedding related questions, travel and excursion planning as well as day to day things that came up.
My 90 year old grandma was able to make the trip down, on the first day she nearly fell in the shower. After speaking to Noel about this he went to the store and got her a non slip mat for the shower. You could tell how much he truly cares about his job!
We ordered food from the hotel multiple times and were never disappointed, it was delicious!
The rooftop bar had amazing views and makes for a perfect dance party location.
Our entire weekend was perfect and we wouldn't change a single thing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 457marissaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

From the moment we got there from the Super Shuttle from the airport, Noel, Tony, José Antonio, Carlos, Doly, Adolfo were just friendly and fabulous! Made our stay the best trip of our lives (so far!)! There's a mellow rooftop bar to see sunsets and beach ~ Adolfo makes fantastic drinks and is wonderful to talk to. Prices were reasonable and the drinks were yummy! We got room service, too. The food was delicious!! Catch of the day was the best dish we ate and the fruit bowl is huge! One bowl is enough for two! Every night turtles came to lay eggs right outside our window! We watched 2 moms lay at night! Bucket List item! We were in 303, It was huge, AC in bedroom, magical view of the sea (about ten steps to the water)! You can rent snorkel gear from Noel and see gorgeous fish right off shore! We saw a school of blue tangs and other fish I can't name. :-) There's coral EVERYWHERE!!!!! Internet was excellent and it is very quiet and safe there. To go out and explore, just ask Noel to call you a taxi. They come quick and take you where you need to go! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: 303! If you don't like going up stairs or If you have kids, lower floors are better. Coffee supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We had the three bedroom condo on the second floor. Check in was quick and easy. The large bottled water was great! We were able to have plenty of water to refill our bottles for our day trips. The rooms are kept extremely clean. Housekeeping does an excellent and thorough job! The kitchen was well stocked. The A/C worked fantastic. The view is gorgeous, the beach well groomed and beautiful, the price fits the budget and the Beach Bikini Bar downstairs has AMAZING food. People came from the larger resorts just to eat there. Thank you Villas DeRosa!

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank mel6202016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Villas DeRosa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks for sharing your vacation with us at VillasDeRosa and have a great day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1,7 km away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 22 in Akumal
344 reviews
2,9 km away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 22 in Akumal
451 reviews
4,2 km away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,7 km away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1,4 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0,4 km away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas DeRosa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas DeRosa Beach Resort

Address: Lot 36 Aventuras Akumal, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Price Range: R1 327 - R3 804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas DeRosa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas DeRosa is a small family owned resort offering 1,2 & 3 bedroom beachfront condos with hotel rooms facing the swimming pool. Each condo enjoys a private balcony, spacious living area with dining room and fully equipped kitchen. Local or international meals can be catered to your dining room or enjoyed at our beach bar or poolside cafe. Aquatech, our on-site PADI dive center, is available for reef diving, cenote diving and dive training. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas DeRosa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquatech Villas Derosa Hotel Akumal
Aquatech Hotel Derosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing