We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$305
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
US$282
US$208
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$337
US$258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$311
US$258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Camp Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akumal Natura Glamping(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$454
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
155
85
31
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
85
31
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstony jrbedroom condofull kitchenrooftop barbeach bar next doordive shopbikini barturtle seasonsound of the wavesrental carlaying eggsgreat breezeocean frontdaily maid servicefishshort driveliving area
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Great location right on the beach. AC in the bedrooms but not in main area but this was fine as we opened front and back doors and a lovely breeze came through. Kitchen had everything we needed including a blender for making fruit smoothies. Large apartment with lovely balcony. If you are looking for a quiet spot away from the all inclusive hotels then this is it. The rooms were cleaned every day and fresh towels, including beach towels are provided.

Great snorkeling from the beach right outside the apartment. Also 2 kayaks and body boards for the kids. There's a pool on site too. The upstairs rooms are not suitable for young children due to the balcony but have fabulous views. Downstairs rooms are ideal for kids and lead straight out to the beach.

Only the pool bar and bar next door with restaurants nearby (both pricey) but we stocked up at the large supermarket (San Fransciso, at the lights in Tulum). There's a rooftop bar but didn't see anyone using it.

Tulum ruins are 20 mins away at its worth going for 8am as it gets incredibly busy later.

And the turtles.... what can I say! Wasn't expecting so many to have laid their eggs directly in front of the apartment! Lucky enough to see 2 laying on our first night, then, when we got up to see the sunrise, there was one still laying eggs so we saw it in daylight....a huge Greenback! We missed eggs hatching but did see the last baby turtle heading for the sea.

You are not allowed to walk on the beach after dark in case you disturb the turtles but you can watch from one spot. No lights, torches unless the light is red. The peak time is July and August.

There are signs for each nest. The number on the front refers to the number of turtles to have laid eggs(over 1000 so far!). CM refers to the scientific name. The date is the date the eggs were laid. And then the zone ( 11) then the area of the beach i.e. A,B or C. The eggs hatch after 50-60 days.

I write all this because there is no explanation at the apartments which is a shame as I am sure many people would like more information. Perhaps management should provide laminated information sheets for July and August.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank hpminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

After weeks of searching we came across this hotel. We had been looking for the perfect place to have our destination wedding and finally found it.
We were able to rent out the entire hotel for our event which was absolutely perfect. We had about 38 people at the wedding and did have a few extra rooms.
While we were there Noel was there to help with absolutely everything, he was amazing! He helped with wedding related questions, travel and excursion planning as well as day to day things that came up.
My 90 year old grandma was able to make the trip down, on the first day she nearly fell in the shower. After speaking to Noel about this he went to the store and got her a non slip mat for the shower. You could tell how much he truly cares about his job!
We ordered food from the hotel multiple times and were never disappointed, it was delicious!
The rooftop bar had amazing views and makes for a perfect dance party location.
Our entire weekend was perfect and we wouldn't change a single thing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 457marissaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

From the moment we got there from the Super Shuttle from the airport, Noel, Tony, José Antonio, Carlos, Doly, Adolfo were just friendly and fabulous! Made our stay the best trip of our lives (so far!)! There's a mellow rooftop bar to see sunsets and beach ~ Adolfo makes fantastic drinks and is wonderful to talk to. Prices were reasonable and the drinks were yummy! We got room service, too. The food was delicious!! Catch of the day was the best dish we ate and the fruit bowl is huge! One bowl is enough for two! Every night turtles came to lay eggs right outside our window! We watched 2 moms lay at night! Bucket List item! We were in 303, It was huge, AC in bedroom, magical view of the sea (about ten steps to the water)! You can rent snorkel gear from Noel and see gorgeous fish right off shore! We saw a school of blue tangs and other fish I can't name. :-) There's coral EVERYWHERE!!!!! Internet was excellent and it is very quiet and safe there. To go out and explore, just ask Noel to call you a taxi. They come quick and take you where you need to go! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: 303! If you don't like going up stairs or If you have kids, lower floors are better. Coffee supplies there for you ~ no cream/milk.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We had the three bedroom condo on the second floor. Check in was quick and easy. The large bottled water was great! We were able to have plenty of water to refill our bottles for our day trips. The rooms are kept extremely clean. Housekeeping does an excellent and thorough job! The kitchen was well stocked. The A/C worked fantastic. The view is gorgeous, the beach well groomed and beautiful, the price fits the budget and the Beach Bikini Bar downstairs has AMAZING food. People came from the larger resorts just to eat there. Thank you Villas DeRosa!

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank mel6202016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony D, Owner at Villas DeRosa Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks for sharing your vacation with us at VillasDeRosa and have a great day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Just returned from a stay at Villas DeRosa Beach Resort. Our last visit to Akumal was 15 years ago and the area has changed immensely. On previous trips we stayed in condos surrounding Half moon Bay (through Akumal playa village) and we are glad we did not this time. The traffic getting in and out of Akumal playa is ridiculous. Access to Villas DeRosa is easy and convenient to all sites in the area. Staff is friendly and accommodating with maid service daily that leaves your room spotless and sand free. The food at the restaurant is good (seems pricey but then the bar next door is even more expensive). The beach is great even when hit by a huge seaweed bloom..most collected down by the Bahia resort. You can snorkel right out in the coral in front. The last day we saw a turtle and some mana rays. We attempted to relive the old days when you could discover hidden beaches along the coast...we found that is harder to do and would always return back to the hotel beach wondering why we left. We had a 5 year old and 8 year old with a second floor, ocean view, 2 bedroom. The balcony is a bit scary as there is not really a guard to prevent a small child from falling. We had to have a rule that kids couldn't be outside on the balcony without an adult. This hotel is a peaceful, intimate option amongst gorillas of resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank beaver234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews