We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6 499)
Filter reviews
6 499 results
Traveller rating
3 806
1 753
581
220
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 806
1 753
581
220
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs mayan suite beach bar el dorado a la carte restaurants fish the salt water pool main pool the white sands colonial lobby outdoor shower punta emilia adult pool junior suite tikal buffet white party hemingway bar
Filter
Updating list...
925 - 930 of 6 499 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We went to this beach resort as part of our grad-trip and it was amazing. The rooms and the villas were really nice. They had different restaurants from different countries and they were all really good. Also other restaurants with food and drinks open 24/7.
It's in playa del Carmen, not Cancun (Cancun about 1H30min away) and even if the beach and the swimming pool were really nice there wasn't much party. In playa del Carmen there are many nice clubs. Went there in January and the weather was amazing

Room Tip: Close to the sea
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Llueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Manager at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear Llueca,

thank you for your nice review

I am sure it will help some of our guest who wants to meet this area of the Mexican Carrebean

Warm regards,

Celia Benito
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Stayed jan2-9, weather was great, overcast only one day and one red flag day. Previous reviews are right about ground level rooms, dark and gloomy but otherwise room was great.
This is my fourth resort in the Mayan, and my most disappointing of the ocean as I prefer the beach over the pool. I had researched before choosing this resort, but did not expect the ocean to be this rocky! It was not enjoyable going in and out at all, so this trip unfortunately spent more time at the pool, which was a beautiful pool. The salt water pool was a nice idea and a nice walk down the beach. We went there one night to the fire show left early, either the cabanas were in the way of seeing, or people that should have been seated stood in front of you.
We really enjoyed the buffet for all three meals. Tried the steakhouse and Brazilian was nothing great to us, even the setting wasn't ala carte special, I no men can wear shorts now, but shirts too no collars? It was very informal, we felt like being at the buffet except you were served your meal. We did have reservations for the beach bbq but was cancelled from some prior rain, didn't no this until we got there at 730pm, the two ala cartes we went was a hour and half wait so we went to the buffet, you were never disappointed there.
The grounds are beautiful and yes lots of walking that we enjoy. They served Bacardi and Smirnoff at all the bars. We enjoyed Churchill and hemingways bars for a quiet drink before or after dinner, had a great piano player the one night. Lots of live bands day and night. The Colonial is where the action is at night, just a short walk next door. We were pleased with the staff especially Lorenzo the bartender.
We had a good time, but won't be coming back to the Mayan mainly because of the ocean, Cuba or Punta Cana is a safer bet for me.

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank lovinthesun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Manager at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear lovinthesun67,

thank you for let us know you had a great time even with the weather

we are happy to read that you enjoyed the pools, entertainment and bars

we hopw to see you again in Palladium

Warm regards,

Celia Benito
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Great time in Mexico Dec. 2015. Resort is beautiful people are so nice. Lots of "critters" flamingos, crocodiles (in cage), spider monkeys, birds etc. Big resort so you won't get bored easily. The only thing that needs improvement is the food i would give that a 3 out of 5 stars. The Mediterranean was by far the best. Lamb was good there also the paper steak. If you go you MUST do the aqua adventure's scuba Cozumel suba trip. it is 227$ a person and worth every penny. I have been snorkeling in Mexico before but suba takes it to a whole new level. It was my first time and they gave us a lesson the day before about 1.5 hrs. and it was by far the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emmack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Manager at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear Emmack1,

thank you for your review

We are happy to read you ahd a good time and you enjoyed your Mexican Vacation on the Carribean Sea

We will keep working to improve and surprise you again in your next visit

Warm regards,

Celia Benito
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We enjoyed our family holiday here mainly due to the staff. We want to thank the activity center staff - Ingrid, Louis, Giovanni, and Sam in particular; the serving staff - Estephania, Emmanuel Canti, Lenina, and Daniel; the bell staff - Gustavo Martinez, Rodger (Rodrigo), and Cecilio. This was my first experience in Mexico and at an all inclusive and it was very nice. The hotel offered a nice setting, pool, ocean, facilities, and activities. The service was not always great though and the food was just ok. There were lots of choices at the buffet and many a la cartes but the food was not very memorable and the waits long. The power saving methods meant our room fridge was never cold. The power went off when we left the room and thus no cold drinks in the evening. Bottled water was not delivered regularly. The housekeeping staff often missed needed items (toilet paper). Our arrival was poorly organized. Our party of 10 was not accommodated close to one another as requested but after a lengthy wait and room switching which amounted to a day wasted - waiting, packing again, and moving about - it was resolved to some satisfaction. We ended up with one smoking rooms which was unpleasant to staying in. The train service does not travel around the entire resort as the map indicated which was a disappointment as we were travelling with an elderly person. It would have been nice if the celebrations for New Years where at both entertainment venues as we found it too hard to travel to the other side of the resort to see the fireworks without easy transport. So I did feel left out and undervalued. We choose to have a good time, and did, and thank the kind people of Mexico.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank HChic2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Manager at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear HChic2016,

We are happy to read you have enjoyed your time in mexico and you brought many friends from the POP team that you have mention

Thank you for all your comments, all of them make us bigger day after day and they are our main daily basis to follow up

Best regards,

Celia Benito
Assitant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in January 2012 with 5 kids and 4 adults. The grounds are beautiful and go on forever. It was a wonderful way to work off all the food and drinks. The rooms were great, we didn't have a view of the Sea but it was still amazing. The restaurants were all really good, even the buffets were above average. The beach was absolutely gorgeous, you could walk to the left up the coastline. We did our own thing and took the collectivo on the highway right outside the resort gates. We went to Akumal and swam with the sea turtles, paid only a couple bucks American each way for the lot of us on the collectivo. We also went into Playa del Carmen to shop and had an amazing lunch of tacos and drinks on the beach, which was really inexpensive. You can't miss going to Coco Bongo! Pay extra for the VIP and you'll skip the line, have your own table and your own server, and watch the show that happens right in front of you. It's truly an amazing experience!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Manager at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear Kathy C,

we love to read how our guest had so much fun like you and experience every second of their lives and even more if is in this hotel from the Mexican Carebbean

We looking forward seing you again

Best regards,

Celia Benito
Assitant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews