We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6 096)
Filter reviews
6 096 results
Traveller rating
3 654
1 512
528
224
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 654
1 512
528
224
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ribs the white sands adult pool a la carte restaurants the salt water pool fish el dorado sports bar mayan suite main pool travel club punta emilia white party junior suite segway tour something for everyone outdoor shower
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 6 096 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We stayed at the Grand Palladium Colonial May 2016 (sorry for the late review) and it was amazing. Booked through First Choice - we couldn't have asked for a better location and resort to unwind. Made up of three resorts, we chose the Colonial due to its disabled friendly central location.

HOTEL
The decor was grand and the scenery beautiful. The resort is surrounded by protected rainforest full of wildlife. There is an alligator sanctuary, howler monkeys, and giant iguanas etc. The beach and sea was spotless and picturesque. Every day you could go exploring and discover something new. There are several pools that host a variety of activities incl. swim-up bars and jacuzzi's within the pools. The adult pool is hidden away, smaller and quieter than the others so there is literally a location for all. The venue is very wheelchair friendly. Make sure you experience the hammocks on the beach, swaying in the ocean breeze, and the 4-poster sun bed by the salt water pool.

FOOD & DRINK
With 13 different restaurants to choose from, you can eat a different cuisine every night and experience a range of cultures including: Spanish, Mexican, Italian, American, Japanese, Brazilian etc. All amazing, authentic and included in the all inclusive. Though only the Japanese restaurant is the only one that truly requires a booking, it is worth booking for all the others as well just to ensure you don't have to wait too long for a table. Can't be asked to get dressed up, the buffets have enough variety to fill you up. The beach bars also have themed stalls on various days including paella etc. The cocktails are plentiful and delicious made with fresh ingredients and not just syrupy substitutes. Check out the adult pool for the bar tenders famous Baileys Cocktail... very addictive.

SERVICE
We cannot fault any of the staff for their helpfulness, attitude and dedication. We recommend tipping well to ensure you are "looked after", especially at the main lobby bars which can get rather busy at night once the entertainment has died down. Make sure you learn how to drink tequila properly whilst here.

All in all, this was a truly amazing holiday and we are already looking into visiting one of their sister resorts in Jamaica or Brazil purely because of their work ethic, style and attitude to service. This resort truly has everything anyone could want from a holiday and considering the amount of families with babies and children, our holiday was still romantic and quiet.

My only advice is to make sure that you generously apply mosquito spray etc daily. The surrounding rainforest can leave you rather bitten.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank tinuvieltravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Tinuviel,

Thank you for thinking of us again after your visit to our resort in Playa del Carmen a long time ago.

We are humbled to have made such a deep and lasting impression on you and appreciate your kind words regarding the lovely and romantic experience you had visiting our resort paradise.

We are thrilled to know you want to continue visiting our resort chain and wish you the best on your trips to Palladium in Jamaica, Brazil or any of our exotic destinations.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review; we look forward to host you once more.

Kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

I have traveled to several all inclusive resorts including two in Cancún. This resort is by far the best. We are the buffet everyday for breakfast and lunch at both Colonial and White Sand. There are more options at colonial, but white sand is very good too. We ate at a Japanese Steakhouse twice and it was very good (Sushi and Hibachi) we ate at the steakhouse in colonial twice and that was incredible. (I recommend the cowboy steak, it’s juicy and every bit of 25 oz. the Brazilian steakhouse is pretty good too, but the service is definitely better at the steakhouse.

The service was incredible!!!!!! Two employees that stood out were Diego and David. Diego works the poolside service at white sand and makes sure that you always have what you need. Whether it’s a cold beer, an exotic shot, or a glass of ice water, he was always back to great us within 5 minutes. (We were never thirsty).

David, David, David; #Bell Boy #the man where #the legend... where do it start. We had an engagement proposal and David gave us a ride. He waited 30 minutes while we took photos. Every night (including that night), he made sure we had a ride to the suite and a ride to our restaurants.

Let’s be clear, because of those two (Diego and David), this was the best trip I’ve ever had. The food and atmosphere are incredible, just like Jamaica, punta cana, Bahamas, etc., the difference was the food, DIEGO, and DAVID. Because of these two, my next vacation will be here!!!

p.s. David had our room decorated with champagne and rose petals. I’m not that into this kind of thing but my wife thought it was the most romantic thing ever. #happywifehappylife

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Howard,

Thank you for trusting us your holidays in Riviera Maya and for writing this beautiful comment about your experience.

We feel so proud to know, that a frequent traveler such as yourself, enjoyed so much our delicious food and facilities, but above all, that took home a wonderful memory of the outstanding attentions of the People of Palladium.

Diego and David will be recognized for their incredible performance, and we will be sure to share your comment with all the team, so that they all know that the work we do, generates great satisfaction in our guests.

Rest assured that you are already considered part of the family and it is our hope, that over the years, you get to call Palladium your home away home.

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Arrived on 8th Sep for 2wks check in was quick and was given a cold drink on arrival was told all about our room free mini bar free safe then we were taken to our room by the bell boy.we were in block 7 room was nice and clean....pool was fab no problem with finding a sunbed and parasol,,, buffet restaurant for breakfast was very good so much to choose from only downside was the food could be a lot hotter OR have a microwave.The other restaurants we nice.. the first time we ate in the Italian I had to ask for my food to be reheated as it was not hot ...lovely cocktails also Antonio in the pool bar kept us topped up with shots ,and i big thank you to Jonathan the bell boy nothing was to much trouble for him if he seen us walk to the hotel from our room when he was driving the golf buggy it was always 'jump on' lol.Everyone was so friendly

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Heather,

Thank you for sharing such a nice review about your stay in Grand Palladium Colonial.

It is to wonderful to read that upon arrival you felt the characteristic welcoming service of our people, and we truly appreciate that you mention Antonio and Jonatahn, we will send them your comment so that they are equally satisfied with their incredible work.

We are also grateful for your valuable feedback regarding the food, we always maintain controls of temperature, however this information has been transmitted to our food and beverage department, so they can review it in detail and take action.

It will be an honor welcome you in your next visits to the beautiful beaches of the Riviera Maya and to offer you another memorable stay.

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my fiancé and 4 other couples at the start of September for 2 weeks, we had an amazing holiday and loved every minute of it.
The food here is really good, the buffet restaurants always have a lot of different choices to choose from, we ate here for breakfast and lunch, but for dinner we went to the al a carte restaurants which were really nice, brilliant service and excellent food, our favourite being the steak house.

Pools were all lovely we stayed around the colonial pool every day as this was were all the activities where, the pool is massive which was good as me and my friends had big pizza Lilos and loved floating around on them. The swim up bar was great we spent a lot of our days here drinking cocktails.

Entertainment here was AMAZING. The entertainment team made our holiday, they were all amazing!! Every day there was something going on by the pool or beach weather it be a beach party, pool party, foam party and many more including games etc. I loved aqua aerobics which was either in the pool or sea everyday. The evening entertainment was also really good with there being different shows ever night and them some nights would have different parties, the White party on the beach was one of my favourites, also the Mexican party was unreal, they also have peace and love party and 80's party. I have been to Mexico 4 times and this is the best entertainment team by far. A special thanks to the following for making our holiday the most amazing two weeks ever..... Axel, Yayo, Oscar, Felipe, Alejandro William, kin, ximana, Aldair, joss and the rest of the entertainment team you were all amazing!! We will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Katie,

Thank you very much for visiting us with your friends and sharing your kind comment, which inspires us to continue providing our valued guests like you, amazing vacation experiences in every sense!

Your fantastic words will be transmitted to all the entertainment team POP, these members of our staff are the most energetic and give their very best in each activity, performance and party, we are so proud to know of the outstanding impression they made on your overall holidays.

In short... thank you for your words and for your trust. It was lovely having you here and we hope that as a frequent traveler to Mexico, you consider making us your favorite Hotel in the Riviera Maya.

With kind regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Friends chose this hotel, which I thought may have been too big for my taste, I was wrong. We returned yesterday after a fantastic holiday.
The weather initially was very wet, which allowed us to become acquainted with some excellent bar staff, Alfredo Perez was magnificent. Aside from his bar skills he has a great sense of humour, was very entertaining and his English was superb. Go seek him out in White Sands. All staff work very hard to please guests.
We ate in most restaurants across the complex. Our only negative experience was in the Ribs and More and this was with the food, not with the staff, hence we did not return. We did however, love the El Dorado steak restaurant off the Colonnial lobby, and the Tappas restaurant at White Sands.
I think the people selling goods/crafts in the Colonnial lobby of an evening, would actually sell more if they allowed guests to browse their stalls rather than pester for a sale.

Room tip: Stayed in Villa 6 Colonnial near to quieter White Sands pool area during the day and an easy walk to Colonnial lobby in the evening.
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank kazwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017


Dear kazwillie,

Thank you so much for taking some time of your day to share the lovely vacation experience lived in Palladium.

We are so happy to know that we exceeded your expectations during this trip, making us a great destination selected by your kind friends!

It is always a great source of motivation to hear from our guests the incredible performance of our staff, and we could not be gladder to read that you got to meet Alfredo in our White Sand bar, he is a true gem and we will surely send him your sweet words.

We do not forget to take good note of your suggestions regarding the craft market approach and the food experience at the Ribs and mores restaurant, this will be review by our Management as we appreciate and value the good feedback!

We really hope that you return to visit us, we are to serve you and remember that in Palladium, you will always find your home in the Riviera Maya.

Warm regards,

Rosa Rivero
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews