We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
246
170
59
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
170
59
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lol ha restaurant dive shop continental breakfast cannon house turtle bay bakery water cooler snack bar fish reserved for hotel guests sea turtles small fridge restaurants within walking distance hotel building small hotel yal ku lagoon nice pool la buena vida
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

We wanted to visit the Laguna Yal-ku on our own instead taking a tour. It’s a 4-5 km walk but you can rent a golf cart here. It will take you about 15 minutes to the lagoon.

It cost 10 usd per hour or 40 usd for the entire day until 6pm. In addition you pay 600 pesos/ 40 usd deposit.

The carts are not the latest model but they work and you get a nice drive along the coast (small hotels and large villas ... and the Buena Vida, which is a good place for lunch on the way back)

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hotfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

This is a cool little hotel on the beach where you can swim with sea turtles (more about that in a bit). The rooms are neat and clean with bath towels made into animals each day. The staff was eager to please and fixed a small problem with the air conditioner immediately. The restaurant staff were friendly and attended to our needs without hovering. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and the "lunch" menu was served through dinner. After 6:30 pm the restaurant served more upscale offerings like octpus tostada's and Mayan chicken.
About the turtles... unless you are a very good swimmer and comfortable snorkeling, rent a life jacket.. You will float comfortably as you snorkel looking for the turtles. Dont go past the white bouys into the center, it's a protected zone. We saw plenty of turtles outside. You will see people in the middle, but be cool and stay out.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel has the perfect location for snorkeling with sea turtles! Between sunrise and 9 am, you just swim approx.10-12 meters out - and then you see the turtles. The turtles come back at 5pm. There are also two great restaurants very nearby: the turtle bay cafe and Cuevas de pescadore (sorry for any misspelling... ;-)

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank MarlothDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Drinks on the beach with good friends and a great view. Service was exceptional! Daniel was very accommodating and made the visit fun! We would recommend this beachside stop for adult beverages. We will return!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Carson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Hotel Akumal Caribe is so simple, yet beautiful! The grounds were clean, rooms were clean, and view was great! Right on the beach with a great pool that seems to never get used. A few restaurants were within walking distance. We rented a golf cart for the day and drove down towards half moon bay and were able to see a lot of wild life. The only complaint I have, is that they not leave you more coffee in your room, even if you ask. The maid service was good but never left enough towels, there were two people and she would leave one wash clothe. Not into sharing those types of items. Over all nice stay with friendly staff. Lol- ha breakfast was nice, always used it as a credit to get what we really wanted.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MonroeJE1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews